Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing stuff
I picked up The Elephant Whisperer on a whim before heading off on safari.. and promptly spent a whole day after a game drive bursting into tears by the lodge pool. The minute I finished I downloaded The Last Rhinos and kinda sobbed through most of that too - the situation with poaching is desperately sad and yet so inspiring that Lawrence Anthony never stopped trying to...
Published on 12 May 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed
After having read 'the Elephant Whisperer' I had high hopes for this book. A lot of the time there is a completely different story going on, not much about he actual rhinos. Still very interesting though.
Published 15 months ago by CK


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing stuff, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rhinos (Kindle Edition)
I picked up The Elephant Whisperer on a whim before heading off on safari.. and promptly spent a whole day after a game drive bursting into tears by the lodge pool. The minute I finished I downloaded The Last Rhinos and kinda sobbed through most of that too - the situation with poaching is desperately sad and yet so inspiring that Lawrence Anthony never stopped trying to find some new solution to make a difference. And what an effort he makes in this - tireless running around between reluctant governments and conservation organisations and, truly bizarrely, one of the world's most notorious 'warlords', Joseph Kony. And all on the faint hope that a few White Northern Rhinos still survived in remote DRC, and there was a possibility of finding them before the poachers did.

The incredible thing was that Lawrence was uniquely placed to instigate projects like these (due to contacts and specialist knowledge), and the story starts off as unlikely and gets more and more incredible as the Lord's Resistance Army gets involved. Although the events in this book took place a few years ago (2006 I believe), they seem oddly very relevant with the recent publicity surrounding Kony and, of course, the news that Lawrence himself passed away just a couple of months ago in March. Reading that in the epilogue hit me like a ton of bricks, I had no idea at all and it was a desperately sad finale after reading everything he had been through. This is such an inspiring and moving book - definitely read The Elephant Whisperer first but kudos to Graham Spence for crafting the true story into such readable and moving stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly inspiring, 26 April 2012
This review is from: The Last Rhinos (Kindle Edition)
i had the great fortune to go to thula thula in december. i urge anyone who can to go it brings to life these books. lawrence an immensely pasionate and brave man will be sorely missed . this book changes your perception of conservation and makes you realise how difficult it is and how dedicated anyone who is involved is. a brilliant book which i could not put down . praise for graham spence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spell-bound, 24 April 2012
This review is from: The Last Rhinos: The Powerful Story of One Man's Battle to Save a Species (Hardcover)
I got this for my kindle as soon as I finished The Elephant Whisperer, his previous book, and was immediately hooked again.

It's an amazing series of books about an incredible man and while this does talk about the last rhinos it also talks about elephants (quite a lot) and the Lords Resistance Army. I was Very please to read about the elephants but think its a bit misleading from the title of he book. That's the only negative comment I will make.

What this makes you want to do is go out to Thula Thula today and see it up and close, it also makes you aware of the issues in modern conservation. It also made me much more educated about the Lords Resistance Army in general and after reading the book I have done quite a lot of research on them. Lawrence tells of his experience with the LRA openly and it is an incredible insight. Furthermore if one reads articles and opinions from people living in hat region they more or less say that hunting Kony is not the way forward.

Anyway, I recommend reading The Elephant Whisperer first and then this. Lastly, RIP Mr Anthony - your words and actions have profoundly moved me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rhinos: The Powerful Story of One Man's Battle to Save a Species (Hardcover)
I simply couldn't put this book down. I have read Lawrence Anthony's previous books and knew this would be exciting - I just never knew how much! This brave man did what no other person would do, go into the jungle in DRC to talk and negotiate with some of the most wanted men on the planet to try and save a species. I can't think of a more selfless act.

RIP Lawrence Anthony - he is an inspiration to many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very compelling story, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Noel (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rhinos: The Powerful Story of One Man's Battle to Save a Species (Hardcover)
This is another very compelling story by Lawrence Anthony (with Graham Spence). His first book, 'The Elephant Whisperer' was an amazing account of how he acquired Thula Thula his private reserve in Kwa Zulu Natal and helped a herd of rogue elephants recover from their traumas. The Elephant Whisperer: Learning About Life, Loyalty and Freedom From a Remarkable Herd of Elephants

African rhinos are the victims of mass murder by ever more sophisticated and well financed poachers who gain untold wealth from the new rich in east Asia fuelled by the superstitious nonsense they espouse about the magical effect of rhino horn.

In 'The Last Rhinos' Lawrence Anthony has periods of recuperation in the restorative environment of Thula Thula but the main storyline of the book is worked out in North East Congo and Juba, the capital of Southern Sudan. That's because the last rhinos of the story are the final remnant of the northern white rhino species which are isolated and waiting a poacher's bullet in a nominal reserve in Northern Congo. That reserve happens to be home to other 'wildlife' in the form of the military command and foot soldiers of the Lord's Resistance Army who have been engaged in a savage war with the Ugandan army for 20 years or more.

In his effort to rescue the last remaining rhinos, Lawrence Anthony is drawn into the role of 'Godfather of Peace' for the LRA in the efforts to bring about a peace settlement between them and the Ugandan government. It is a remarkable account of how he became a trusted intermediary between the LRA and the outside world and is tasked by them to get the message across that they really want peace and to return home in peace to Uganda. First he meets their political leaders forming the delegation attending peace talks in Juba. He gains their confidence and support for protection of the rhinos in the region they occupy. That leads to a difficult and dangerous journey to meet with the military leaders in the jungle of northern Congo.

It seems incredible that any conservationist should find himself in this role, meeting alone with a group remowned for their barbaric warmongering. It would be wrong to say that he paints a sympathetic picture of the people he meets but he does believe that they are war weary and want it to end, though on the basis of African justice.

In the end the forces of militarism on both sides win out over the attempt at peace. You will find out what happens to the isolated population of rhinos when you read the book. It ends with a happy picture of two orphaned baby rhinos introduced into Thula Thula and some little hope for tomorrow.

Sadly, before this book was published, Lawrence Anthony died in March 2012 following a heart attack. His voice for conservation of the rhino and elephant is now silent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rhinos (Kindle Edition)
After having read 'the Elephant Whisperer' I had high hopes for this book. A lot of the time there is a completely different story going on, not much about he actual rhinos. Still very interesting though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real insight into the struggle to save wildlife in Africa, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Sean M. Kelly (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rhinos: The Powerful Story of One Man's Battle to Save a Species (Hardcover)
One of the best written books on the Conservation struggle I have read. It provides a very good insight to the struggle we face in trying to protect wildlife in Africa for future generations. The apathy and lack of political vision motivated by greed and power are potentially creating a barren wildlife wasteland such as now exists in many other countries. Lawrence Anthony Graham Spence collaborate very well together and make for a compelling read. A book all politicians and adolescent school goers should read. Sean Kelly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ... hoping for a book about rhinos you will be disappointed. Page after page of African politics, 2 Aug 2014
By 
J. Charlton (Vevey Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Rhinos (Paperback)
If you are hoping for a book about rhinos you will be disappointed. Page after page of African politics, travel details, negotiations between terrorists and governments. A few snippets about Nana and the herd...what a disappointment after his other books.
I started off reading every page then went to speed reading then just glanced at each page looking for the word rhino..and finally gave up. Waste of money as I had been hoping for details of finding the last northern whites, darting, capturing, re location
Right at the end of the book two young rhinos are adopted. That's it. The Epilogue tells the reader that Lawrence Anthony has since passed away. No doubt he did great things bringing the plight of the last rhinos to world attention and developed a wonderful ranch and elephant herd...but for a book on physical contact with rhinos....no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book is in excellent condition and delivery, 25 July 2014
This review is from: The Last Rhinos (Paperback)
Having already read this I ordered it for my 87 yr old mum. She is thoroughly enjoying it. Anyone interested in animals and conservation will find the facts & figures given in a way that makes riveting reading. The book is in excellent condition and delivery, although a little slow, enquiries were dealt with in a prompt and efficient manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have ever read!, 28 July 2014
This review is from: The Last Rhinos (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book and I would encourage everyone to read it. You get a different perspective on conservation and conflict in Africa, while that topic sounds like it could be quite heavy this book is written in a wonderful way that engages the reader. Easily one of the best books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Rhinos: The Powerful Story of One Man's Battle to Save a Species
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews