Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Private Story
I didn't set out to read this book, I only bought and, subsequently read it having read "From a clear blue sky" by Timothy Knatchbull,as Mountbatten's grandson, he survived the horrific assassination bomb in 1979. Having then had some insight into the life and achievements of Mountbatten, I wanted to then to give myself the full understanding of the character and...
Published on 14 Oct. 2009 by K. Thompson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learn about a well known character.
For older people this Lord was well known and ubiquitous. But if you don't
know much about him this book is full of detail. That is it's problem. So much
detail is repeated and for me was not woven into a cohesive life story. However,
I did enjoy it for the biographical interest, just had to put it down and have a rest
every now and then!
Published 13 months ago by C. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Private Story, 14 Oct. 2009
By 
K. Thompson "Tonk" (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I didn't set out to read this book, I only bought and, subsequently read it having read "From a clear blue sky" by Timothy Knatchbull,as Mountbatten's grandson, he survived the horrific assassination bomb in 1979. Having then had some insight into the life and achievements of Mountbatten, I wanted to then to give myself the full understanding of the character and complexity of the man.
Brian Hoey writes in clear and informative manner, using information gained from family members and close friends, he builds up a full detailed no frills and no holds bared account of the man, his policies and his family. It's a fascinating read which I personally found quite absorbing. If you have any interest at all in modern history, you must put this book on your "to read" list. At no point does Hoey allow himself to become a sycophant, and Mountbatten doesn't always come out on top, but you have to admire the unprecedented achievement of the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man behind the history, 27 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Mountbatten: The Private Story (Hardcover)
I rather think this does what it says on the tin. In the introduction Hoey says he is not setting out to write a blow by blow account of every event in Mountbatten's life, but rather to show what sort of person he was and his relationships with others. So it was never intended to be a complete biography of everything he did, but uses various events as the backdrop in front of which Mountbatten shows his character. He was seeking to write something complementary to the big biographies, and I think he succeeded. I found it interesting and readable.

I have one of the long biographies, by Ziegler, and I havn't finished reading it despite obtaining it first. I probably shall, but this demonstrates one of the benefits of a much shorter and less dense book, that you stand a much better chance of getting to the end. it doesnt seek to be complete, but it does seek to paint a picture of the man, and in passing mentions some of the achievements for which he became famous. You are left with a picture of someone who set out to be one of the makers and shakers of the world, and succeded. Unusually in our times he did this by exploiting the traditional power and authority of the aristocrat to govern. Many a crowned head has failed because inherited position or influence by itself is not enough, but Mountbatten combined it with drive and ability, and perhaps a touch of luck. I think he would have said the best sort of luck is that you make for yourself, and that is just what he did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and revealing, 28 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountbatten (Kindle Edition)
This is a well researched biography of Lord Mountbatten. The life of extreme wealth and privilege enjoyed by him and his wealthy wife did not always bring them happiness and Mountbatten obviously had many different facets to his personality. My only disappointment was (on the Kindle version anyway) there were no illustrations or photographs of the many famous properties and people being discussed. Nevertheless, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learn about a well known character., 17 Feb. 2014
By 
C. Davies "Carol Davies-Lee" (Lichfield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountbatten (Kindle Edition)
For older people this Lord was well known and ubiquitous. But if you don't
know much about him this book is full of detail. That is it's problem. So much
detail is repeated and for me was not woven into a cohesive life story. However,
I did enjoy it for the biographical interest, just had to put it down and have a rest
every now and then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With all the wrinkles, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountbatten (Kindle Edition)
Almost necessary reading for students of the history of Great Britain and its transition from master to partner.

This superb work of honesty and consideration to all, is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking substance, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountbatten (Kindle Edition)
The book was written in quite a shallow way, somehow not engaging the reader. I was interested in the subject, but not the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountbatten (Kindle Edition)
Love this book I have read loads of books about Lord Mountbatten ,this is one of the best well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mountbatten, 21 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Eleanor M. Robson "E.M. Robson" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountbatten (Kindle Edition)
Having read the story of Edwina Ashley, I thought it would be good to read Mountbatten's story. I found it most interesting - he was a very complex character, who I think was often misjudged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountbatten (Kindle Edition)
I felt he was too full of himself and was over promoted. However he did not deserve to die the way he did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountbatten (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read. Gripping from start to finish. Found out things about Mountbatten that I never knew. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mountbatten: The Private Story
Mountbatten: The Private Story by Brian Hoey (Hardcover - 22 July 1994)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews