Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect advent reading
A fascinating collection of poems that can be used as an Advent calendar for grown up people: Janet Morley,s comments are sensitive and thought provoking. We plan to promote this book in our church and meet to discuss the poems we found most helpful.
Published 18 months ago by D. E. Wroe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
slightly overrated but alright.
Published 18 days ago by susan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect advent reading, 8 Nov. 2013
By 
D. E. Wroe "DebW" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany (Paperback)
A fascinating collection of poems that can be used as an Advent calendar for grown up people: Janet Morley,s comments are sensitive and thought provoking. We plan to promote this book in our church and meet to discuss the poems we found most helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 27 Sept. 2014
By 
R. Bourne (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany (Paperback)
I'm not a real poetry fan, but this book is stunning. Even down to the extraordinary tactile material which the front cover is made from it is a wonder. The poem on Dec 6th will stay with me for many years. This is a bit of a 'left of centre' choice for Advent, but I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously good, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany (Paperback)
I am only on day 13 of this book but would highly recommend.

The poems are selected with skill and the commentaries have been unfailingly helpful. You don't need to be an expert in poetry, just interested and willing to give the poems some time which is a helpful discipline in itself in Advent. This is no smultzy collection. They are mostly hard hitting and brain-stretching. Highly commend to anyone who wants to think more deeply about the great themes of this time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant preparation for Christmas, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany (Paperback)
Introduced to a wide variety of poems I did not know, with just the right amount of comment / interpretation. Brilliant choice, would be enjoyed by many, not just those with a Christian faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finely selected poems, with stimulating comment, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
Christopher Brown (Staffordshire, Engalnd) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany (Paperback)
This book brings the inherent power of good poetry to good use in showing the wonder and glory of God's intervention in space and time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was hoping for!, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany (Paperback)
A wonderful book for Advent. Full of beautiful poetry. Wonderful insights from Janet Morley, thought provoking and helping me to a deeper understanding of the poems. I would recommend it unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God in all things, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
Sheila (YORK, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany (Paperback)
thank you for a rich fare in advent and through to the Epiphany.. clear and inspiring. It made Christmas more meaningful .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to a poetic journey through Advent and Christmas., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany (Paperback)
A book which I am sure will be greatly appreciated as I come to the reflective time of Advent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful collection of poems, 8 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany (Paperback)
This will be going on next year’s advent list: a wonderful collection of classic poems, some Christian, some not, to lead you through the season of Advent through to Epiphany, with a literary commentary on the poem, and a short question to encourage you to think about how it affects you. This is literary and academic, but short, and gently spiritual. It is a wonderful collection of poems, and I really appreciated her guided tour – a great way of doing Advent for poetry-lovers. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Christians, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
M. K. Briggs (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany (Paperback)
A lovely and unusual twist on the Advent Calendar theme ... one poem a day through the season of Advent, with notes and thoughts by Janet Morley on each poem, and the poet as well. Never didactic, she merely explains and guides, leaving you to find your own meanings. Nor do you have to be a Christian to enjoy this book and find it useful ... I'm an atheist, but I both enjoyed it and learned a lot from it, which surprised me. Highly recommended for everyone with an interest in poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany
Haphazard by Starlight: A Poem a Day from Advent to Epiphany by Janet Morley (Paperback - 15 Aug. 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews