Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book on what the New Testament says about Prayer, 29 Oct 2012
By 
J. Scott "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Testament Prayer: For Everyone (Paperback)
The first thing to note is that if you've collected Tom Wright's wonderful series of 'For Everyone' commentaries, you'll already have everything that's in this smaller volume.

What this book does is to collect the various passages relating to prayer into one handy volume. As someone who already has almost everything else Tom Write has published, I'm still very happy to have this convenient prayer 're-mix'.

Here's a brief breakdown of the contents:

PART 1: NEW TESTAMENT TEACHING ON PRAYER
1 - The Teaching of Jesus
2 - The Teaching of Paul
3 - Other Early Christian Teaching

PART 2: PRAYERS OF THE NEW TESTAMENT
4 - Prayers of Jesus
5 - Prayers of Paul
6 - Other Early Christian Prayers

The book concludes with four pages of questions for group discussion or personal reflection.

There are many, many books on prayer, but I highly recommend this slim, uncomplicated, and highly-readable volume which takes you to the words of the New Testament itself - what better starting place could there be?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Biblically Balanced Way To Pray, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. C. Bleakney "Colin Bleakney" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This new book on Prayer by Tom Wright compiles extracts from hi.s "For Everyone," series. The reader will find wise and proven guidance on the true meaning and practice of Biblical prayer.

There are many books about prayer, but this is the first by Tom Wright to cover all the key teachings and examples to be found in the New Testament.
A very good resource book on prayer and all the more meaningful when applied in the place of prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, well written - extracts from For Everyone commentaries, 1 Oct 2012
By 
R T "RT of Keighley" (Keighley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New Testament Prayer: For Everyone (Paperback)
I very much like this book. Well written and a good summary of key New Testament teaching on prayer (part 1) and prayers of the New Testament (part 2).Each part includes chapters on Jesus, Paul and others.

Only point I would make is that if you have all the New Testament For Everyone commentaries, then all this material apart from the introduction, is already contained in those volumes. This was not totally clear from the description which says "drawing on his complete 'For Everyone' series" .

The back page does refer to "a distillation .. from his popular For Everyone series."

For those who do not have the whole series then this will be useful, but if like me you do have them then it is a little superfluous. However because I think it a good book I still give it five stars but with this note of caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Readable Insight, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this book because a group I am in are studying prayer. I was not hopeful of it and thought it would be dull and difficult. I was wrong! It is one of the most readable books that i have come across - full of valuable insights and practical help. I shall look out for more of Tom Wright's books.
I would reccommend it to anyone who wants to know more about being a Christian, whether they be beginners like me or established theologians.
Thank you Tom Wright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love work by Tom Wright, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Testament Prayer: For Everyone (Paperback)
I just really enjoy all Tom Wright's work and this is no exception. I will certainly read it, use it, and study it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful workbook, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tom Wright's own style makes this the next "must have" for those of us still struggling to understand what we do every Sunday as we stand up to lead worship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prayer for Everyone, 25 Dec 2012
By 
Keith Hawton "Rev K" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Testament Prayer: For Everyone (Paperback)
Tom Wright's book "New Testament Prayer for Everyone" draws together the author's insights and down to earth exposition of scripture. A worthwhile addition to anyone's library of Bible commentaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Testament Prayer: For Everyone (Paperback)
A jewel of a book on the subject and just a big enough daily bit to pre,pt reflection. As expected from Tom Wright certainly not disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Testament Prayer: For Everyone
New Testament Prayer: For Everyone by Tom Wright (Paperback - 20 Sep 2012)
7.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews