Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good book for studying
Enjoyed this book just reading it on my own. Stimulating things to think about at the end of each chapter and can see it as a good book to use with a study group.
Published 15 months ago by CAM

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars church housegroup material
useful for myhousegroup very prompt service .book is very readable and makes a welcome change to have something recommended which is written in British English for a change.
Published 10 months ago by robert yeowart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good book for studying, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life (Paperback)
Enjoyed this book just reading it on my own. Stimulating things to think about at the end of each chapter and can see it as a good book to use with a study group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written - engaging style., 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life (Paperback)
This book is clearly set-out and well written in an engaging style that aims to bring the life and teaching of Jesus Christ into the everyday situations of our lives. It offers insights into how we think and what we do, and it challenges us to live our lives differently and do things better.

Each chapter includes a humorous anecdote (which helps to keep the book light and interesting) as well as short, memorable quotes from celebrities such as: Martin Luther King, Mother Teresa, Carl Jung, HG Wells and even Woody Allen. I'm going to recommend this book for study in my church's home groups
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for group study, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life (Paperback)
Bishop John Prichard is a prolific writer. This book is a good and thought provoking series of short chapters on christian living. We used it/are using it for a group study course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and helpful, 5 Nov 2013
By 
Carolyn Lobley (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life (Paperback)
This is a really good book - so useful for study groups, but equally inspiring for personal study.

It's divided into chapters - Facing God, facing myself, facing the world, facing others,facing the rest of the world; with sub sections, and guides you to consideration of major themes in our daily lives as Christians e,g. money, sex, the planet, being political, sharing faith. There are Bible passages to read, think and discuss, quotes and extracts by a surprising range of people, questions to ponder and prayers too.

It's written in a very accessible way, not at all pontificating, or admonishing nor directional

It makes you think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars church housegroup material, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life (Paperback)
useful for myhousegroup very prompt service .book is very readable and makes a welcome change to have something recommended which is written in British English for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How do we share our faith?, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life (Paperback)
This is a very thought provoking book for all church based Christians -Just how do we get outside our churches and take the message to the great unchurched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life (Paperback)
This is an excellent book which I am working through slowly as I find that the best way with this sort of book. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to check up on the way they take their Christian faith into everyday life. Mossy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whole life discipleship, explored, 22 Jun 2013
By 
J. DOUGLAS "Johnny Douglas" (Nr London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life (Paperback)
The absence of whole-life discipleship remains one of the vulnerabilities of the church in western Europe today. Sunday, Monday and the rest of our lives need to join up. We are more than rota possibilities, warm fellowship and good for monetary contributions.

Practicalities, theology, bible, narrative, prayer and quotations all fill this title with an energy and faithfulness to challenge all readers. This would be particularly helpful for a young Christian as it offers so much breadth, insight and wisdom. Bishop John is brilliantly practical and faithful in his trademark writing style.

God is re-centred as the purpose, glory and Lord of all in this. Pritchard stitches together the big invitation of God,alongside life's failings, hopes, truth and tragedy.
The early section on living gracefully is a particular favourite for me: inviting that we 'stay close to the grace-giver.' The resources that are at the close of each chapter are roomy, provocative and add so much to each theme. Bishop John makes a compelling case for closing the gap between the sacred and the secular. This is a moving multi-dimensional approach to following Jesus with greater commitment, grit and grace. This is a great SPCK production in the design detail, format and completed product.

This is earthed, real and yet full of godly wisdom. It's easy reading but all about challenging living!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Does what it says on the tin", 6 Jun 2014
By 
Ms. J. Jacobs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life (Paperback)
Having read Pritchard's excellent book "God Lost and Found" I was looking forward to this and although it is a very different book, I wasn't at all disappointed. This really is a book which tackles how you can bring your faith into your day-to-day life and also how faith helps you tackle not just the big issues but the smaller issues which we face on a daily basis too,

Each chapter follows a similar format; first the issue (for example, money, sex, politics, shopping, justice, marriage, friendship, life on a finite planet, death) is defined, the problem pinpointed; then there's a section asking, how could we think about this, bringing in facts, references, quotes; then a section on what we could do differently; a few apt quotations from a vast variety of sources; an "anchor passage" from the Bible; then discussion questions (the book would make a great study course for group work, and is clearly written with that in mind, but is equally fine to tackle by yourself) and finally a directional prayer. Each chapter is quite short and an easy read; there's no padding whatsoever, the text is punchy, pithy and full of meat and muscle.

For anyone who wants to live their faith but isn't sure how to do so, for anyone who wonders how faith can be relevant in a modern world, for anyone who, having been sent out on a Sunday starts floundering on a Monday, this book is a very welcome and useful manual. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical Christianity, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read this book through superficially once and intend to go back through it again, to look up and consider the Scriptures given and see how they apply to the areas in my life. I found it easy to read and thought provoking. It dealt with how I know God and how this should work out in areas of my life. The format makes it suitable for a group or to do individually. I would certainly recommend it to those who would value an MOT of their Christian life and attitudes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life
Living Faithfully: Following Christ in Everyday Life by John Pritchard (Paperback - 1 April 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews