Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful treasury
One of my little pleasures in life is to heave home from the local library an art book far too expensive and heavy to buy and admire its shiny pages. The best sort of all are those which `open up' the world of great art to an amateur like me - pointing out the techniques and images employed by the artist. Sister Wendy Beckett will be known to many from her previous books...
Published on 20 Jun. 2012 by R. Littledale

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money
The title of this book is "Sister Wendy's Bible Treasury - stories and wisdom through the eyes of great painters".

I am really uneducated about how to "read" paintings, so I was hoping that this book would give me insight into the subtleties of the art. But I am very disappointed.

Most of the book is simply an abridgement of the King James Bible...
Published on 26 April 2012 by AMTS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful treasury, 20 Jun. 2012
By 
R. Littledale (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sister Wendy's Bible Treasury: Stories and wisdom through the eyes of great painters (Paperback)
One of my little pleasures in life is to heave home from the local library an art book far too expensive and heavy to buy and admire its shiny pages. The best sort of all are those which `open up' the world of great art to an amateur like me - pointing out the techniques and images employed by the artist. Sister Wendy Beckett will be known to many from her previous books of this type.She has a proven ability to describe what is `happening' in a painting in a way which draws the reader in.

The Bible Treasury, however, is a little different.This is neither a paintings book nor a Bible book - but a combination of the two.If you are looking for the kind of minute analysis of paintings you have found in other books by Sister Wendy, you won't find it here. Equally, if you are looking for an in depth analysis of the Bible this is not the place to look. The clue, as they say, is in the name - treasury.

This is the kind of book you will want to dip into. In its two hundred or so pages, you will find introductions to all different kinds of Biblical literature. There are also portions of Biblical text, some paintings simply by way of illustration and others receiving Sister Wendy's more usual critical treatment.The book would make a perfect gift for a person with a only a little knowledge of the Bible, a passing interest in great art - or both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sister Wendy, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
R. Steele - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautiful and inspiring book. Sister Wendy is a true original with a deep knowledge of her subject. I bought it on Kindle but it is probably a book that should be held in the hand and browsed over. I shall be reading more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sister Art, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
C. J. Tyler "cjtbrocco" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sister Wendy's art programmes on TV were unforgettable. Something of that has rubbed off onto this book. It's great to have some great art on the Kindle. Her commentary is witty and informative too. A lovely way to introduce youngsters to great art and what the artists were interested in. They might even pick up some understanding of Christian faith. Sister Wendy does a good job of persuading people that God can accept eccentrics and that not all nuns are boring or miserable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part of our cultural heritage, 4 April 2013
By 
T. J. Andrews (York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Wendy's Bible Treasury: Stories and wisdom through the eyes of great painters (Paperback)
I bought this book for my wife after seeing a documentary about Sister Wendy. She loves it. It brings bible stories to life with the art of the great masters. This is a fantastic book for all with an interest in art and how this has been shaped by Christianity. This book is great whether you believe or not. It is part of our cultural heritage and will be of interest to anyone who wants to understand more about the bible and art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars facinating, clear, informative, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Wendy's Bible Treasury: Stories and wisdom through the eyes of great painters (Paperback)
Excellent book written by a schollar who has the common touch. Sister Wendy has lovely seemingly simple stories behhind the great masters depictions of famous biblical representations. They are facinating and appear straightforward once read, but no doubt much serious thought has gone into each description beforehand. It was a joy to read and has greatly enhanced my understanding.

john rowe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good quality reproduction of masterpieces, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Wendy's Bible Treasury: Stories and wisdom through the eyes of great painters (Paperback)
I found some of the articles good and useful.
But I would have like more detail and perhaps a little more religious input because anyone purchasing such a book is searching for meaning in life and using such pictures can give us insight into our lives and our faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good gift, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Wendy's Bible Treasury: Stories and wisdom through the eyes of great painters (Paperback)
This would make an excellent gift. I chose it because Sister Wendy's insights into paintings are fascinating. She reveals some of the hidden depths of the art. I would have liked more of Sister Wendy's commentary on each picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, 26 April 2012
By 
AMTS (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Wendy's Bible Treasury: Stories and wisdom through the eyes of great painters (Paperback)
The title of this book is "Sister Wendy's Bible Treasury - stories and wisdom through the eyes of great painters".

I am really uneducated about how to "read" paintings, so I was hoping that this book would give me insight into the subtleties of the art. But I am very disappointed.

Most of the book is simply an abridgement of the King James Bible (1611) by Philip Law - which is fine, if that is what you want. There are 54 illustrations, of which 35 have a brief commentary by Sr Wendy. Most of these commentaries have been limited to just 200 words or so, which means that not a lot that can be said in any depth.

I was not expecting to be buying a copy of the 1611 King James Bible, which I already have. What I did expect was a guide to understanding the imagery and symbolism of religious paintings from someone who is at home in both worlds.

Basically it was a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book purchase, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Wendy's Bible Treasury: Stories and wisdom through the eyes of great painters (Paperback)
Yes it was just what I was looking for. Thank you. And it was in such good condition when it reached me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A treasure to have as a bedside book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sister Wendy's Bible Treasury: Stories and wisdom through the eyes of great painters
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews