Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Work Demystifying John's Vision
I have many commentaries about Revelation. Many of these are big books and quite difficult to read. I have read many more thoughts on line. I have also listened to sermons and series of sermons on the book. Often the various options presented can seem more confusing than the actual text or alternatively the presenter of the commentary explains only the easier imagery,...
Published on 28 Sep 2011 by Mr. G. M. Mackley

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Postal good content interesting.
This well known and respected author will appeal more to the average reader than to those who look more deeply into the subject
Published 6 months ago by Mr Kenneth Mc Auley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Work Demystifying John's Vision, 28 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. G. M. Mackley "Gordon" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelation for Everyone (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
I have many commentaries about Revelation. Many of these are big books and quite difficult to read. I have read many more thoughts on line. I have also listened to sermons and series of sermons on the book. Often the various options presented can seem more confusing than the actual text or alternatively the presenter of the commentary explains only the easier imagery, symbolism and illusions whilst leaving significant gaps, which are often the bits you most would most like to understand! You can end up more frustrated regarding what the book is about after the commentary than you were before!

None of this with Tom Wright's version, which is concise and easy to read (and very cheap too!).

He continues the 'for Everyone' format with this book, using his own translation of the original Greek of a set of verses at at time, followed by commentary including relevant items in his own experience.

Tom Wright goes through each chapter with his usual simple 'no nonsense' approach to what it must have meant to the original readers and what lessons should be taken on board by those of us coming now much later in history, although he does not shy away from stating where passages are difficult to interpret. Throughout, Tom Wright's great scholarship in theology and biblical history shines through the explanations.

This is very refreshing after the many wild flights of fantasy which are quite inappropriate (and often just simply factually wrong!) which purport to explain this first century Middle Eastern book and which seem to fill so much space on the web.

Having bought the book, I had got as far as chapter 17 in Revelation in less than one day, so easy is it to read and understand.

For everyone who has had difficulty with working out the meaning of the Book of Revelation through the imagery and symbolism, I cannot recommend this book of Tom Wright's too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A helpful introduction to one of the hardest books of the bible, 15 Mar 2012
By 
S. Meadows (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelation for Everyone (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
Revelation is one of the hardest books of the bible to read if you are trying to make sure you get the right end of the stick. What Wright does (as in the rest of the series) is to provide his own modern translation broken up into small sections and then he provides a commentary on each section.

One of the great benefits of having this as a study book is that it effectively forces you to read the whole thing from start to finish, which is very difficult to do in a church or housegroup. Personally, I think this is a very good approach in general, but it is especially useful with Revelation, given how any sections taken out of context could be very easily misunderstood.

The early part of the book with the letters to the seven churches is generally OK for most people, but once the book gets into the more esoteric aspects of the vision then it gets a lot harder to try and get a handle on it.

What Wright doesn't attempt to do is to say to the reader: "Look at this particular metaphor; it means x,y,z." While there is some context provided, particularly with regard to what John's original readers would have understood by some of the references, Wright constantly tries to being attention to the big picture.

Since this is "for everyone" this could never be a complete exegesis of the book. As such, there are still a lot of things that I felt Wright skipped over, which may have been quite tricky to discuss, though this is openly acknowledged.

Though Revelation contains some very unsettling imagery, this shouldn't be a reason to avoid it. This guide is one that I would recommend to anyone who's struggled with it and wants to try and get the first glimpses of an understanding of John's Revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An accessible starter commentary on Revelation for everyone., 28 Sep 2011
By 
rossuk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation for Everyone (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
I have two of N T Wright's more academic books and this book is the first I bought in the `Everyone' series. I have a large number of commentaries on Revelation and I wrote a commentary on Revelation myself (in the 1990's), so I was eager to see what Tom Wright had to say on the book.

He has divided Revelation into 46 passages; each passage starts off with his own translation of the Greek, followed by his discussion. The discussion begins with an anecdote. Having gone through the book he has written a very sound commentary, as I expected, that would suite his target audience. It would suit those who have not studied Revelation before, e.g. young Christians; it could be used for daily reading, one passage a day or for group study.

The book includes a glossary of terms at the back. He also includes some fascinating facts, especially on the seven churches, but I was a bit frustrated that he does not list his sources. I have to say that I was sufficiently intrigued by this book that I will probably buy another in the series to see what he has to say. I commend this book to you, and Christian leaders

NB. Wright, is quite correct when he says "it's Revelation, singular, not 'Revelations', plural!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelation, 1 Dec 2012
By 
B. Ennis (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must for anyone who hasn't the faintest understanding of how to make sense of the book of revelation. I cannot recommend it highly enough for it's common sense and readable approach, packed with insight and 'Oh that's what it means!' moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: Revelation for Everyone (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
I really rate Tom Wright's "For Everyone" series. I've probably read about seven so far in the series and this one is as brilliant as the others - highly readable, thought-provoking and with a superb use of illustrations and examples that really help you engage with the Bible text. Wright makes the very difficult book of Revelation highly accessible and gives some very good principles for how to understand it.

I strongly recommend this (and indeed the entire series) to anyone wanting to think about the New Testament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful book from Tom wright, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation for Everyone (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
Easy reading accessible style. Definitely for everyone. Makes the bible passages really clear, with excellent explanations and illustrations. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. K. C. Goff "katherine Goff" (Maiden Newton Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation for Everyone (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
wonderful book for anyone wanting to understand the book revelataion.
it grings the book alive. I am very pleased with it. The delivery service was excellent
and the quaility of the book first class would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and readable, 17 Nov 2011
By 
S. PURBRICK (Hemel Hempstead, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelation for Everyone (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
Tom Wright has the rare gift of being very intelligent, but able to communicate his knowledge in a way ordinary people can understand.
I am reading his commentary on the book of Revelation and finding it very helpful.
Revelation is a strange book, full of dramatic symbolism and Tom Wright's commentary tries to throw some light on the subject. It's well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great aide to understanding Revelation, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation for Everyone (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
It explains Revelation in a clear way without getting bogged down by distractions of interpretation. I am currently leading a group study on Revelation and bought this book to help me get my own head round all the themes and issues. I have learnt so much, and can't recommend it highly enough. It really is for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value and speedy delivery, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation for Everyone (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
A superb book for anyone who wants to preach on revelation and address the bits that you think no one could possibly understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa54f74e0)

This product

Revelation for Everyone (New Testament for Everyone)
Revelation for Everyone (New Testament for Everyone) by Tom Wright (Paperback - 23 Sep 2011)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews