Customer Reviews


12 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written by Chaplains for Chaplains, both lay and ordained, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Being a Chaplain (Spck Library of Ministry) (Paperback)
This is a wonderfully informative book which collects together reflections on a wide variety of chaplaincy roles by the those currently or recently working in chaplaincy posts. There are major chapters on the Armed Forces, education, hospital chaplaincy, the prison service and 'other sectors', which includes experiences of Community Arts and Football Chaplaincy. As a chaplain myself I find this book an invaluable reference guide which illuminates some of the many 'grey areas' I experience in my work. Many of the contributors highlight the occasional tensions between parochial ministry and chaplaincy, as well as indicating many opportunities for theological synthesis between these two models of ministry.

In the chapter describing her work as Chaplain for the Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust, Revd Joan Ashton sums up the privilege of chaplaincy as being a role which gives you permission to 'be with' rather than 'do to' the patient, the staff member, the student etc. This has certainly been my experience of working as an Honorary Chaplain with Northumbrian Industrial Mission in the North East of England, where each chaplain becomes a kind of `minister without portfolio' in order to serve both the management and the people on the shop floor. Perhaps this is what one translator of John's Gospel meant when he wrote `And the Word was made flesh and came down to street level.'

Where the book really comes into its own is with the final chapters which consider a the theological implications of chaplaincy. The editors both contribute useful articles here, making this a gem of a book which will help chaplains everywhere to reflect upon and discuss the unique aspects of their work. This book is a also a must for those considering chaplaincy, and those training for ordained ministry who are looking for a comprehensive study of the subject. Who knows, perhaps like me you'll find yourselves being strangely drawn towards a vocation in chaplaincy.

Every ordinand should have this on their reading list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 22 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Being a Chaplain (Spck Library of Ministry) (Paperback)
I just wanted to write and tell you how much I'm enjoying your book, it is so inspiring and so full of love that it's actually a very emotional read. The transcending feeling is that each and every chaplain is embedded in "real life" rather than parish life and therefore really reach out to the disaffected, non-religious or whatever with the same level of love, motivated by their overriding belief in the idea of the love of God and being that representative in the world they inhabit and work in.
That's it really, it's just truly affected me and I'm loving reading it.
Well done, I think books that have this level of message are a joy to read to anyone with an open and enquiring mind about spirituality.Being a Chaplain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being a Chaplain (Spck Library of Ministry) (Paperback)
This is one of those books that one can just keep reading, fortunately the chapters are short, creating opportunities to put the book down and pick it up again.

The articles are all written clearly, succinctly and with passion by participants in the ministry of chaplaincy in a variety of contexts. The summary articles, reflecting on some of the issues that arise in chaplaincy are useful and valuable.

This is a very good book, the best I have read so far on Chaplaincy and I was left wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chaplaincy, 10 Nov. 2012
By 
R Stoner "stob" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being a Chaplain (Spck Library of Ministry) (Paperback)
I purchased this book as I wanted (still want to) to go into chaplaincy. This book does give some excellent diverse views of chaplaincy from the perspectives of school, prison, hospital and the military. Within the area of education it does mention the problems that may be discovered within private schools, 6th form colleges and universities. A good book to get to grips with how others feel about being a (lay) chaplain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars being a chaplain, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being a Chaplain (Spck Library of Ministry) (Paperback)
I choose this on a recommendation from a friend.

At present am only 50% through the book, but its good for the type of work I do.

if you are a chaplain working outside the church , you may find this a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book., 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a useful book for the course I am doing. It was very quick to read and had some interesting case studies. I found some useful information for the essay I had to write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book for Chaplains, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being a Chaplain (Spck Library of Ministry) (Paperback)
I like this book as it gives a good number of stories from serving Chaplains. Useful for one starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for someone new to Chaplaincy, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being a Chaplain (Spck Library of Ministry) (Paperback)
Arrived before due date which was good. Really helpful book for someone who is new to Chaplaincy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How many kinds of Chaplain??, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
M. Carr "mags" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Being a Chaplain (Spck Library of Ministry) (Paperback)
Interesting and informative book giving accounts of various chaplaincy roles. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being a Chaplain (Spck Library of Ministry) (Paperback)
Good basic coverage of subject - a bit C of E biased but that goes with the territory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Being a Chaplain (Spck Library of Ministry)
Being a Chaplain (Spck Library of Ministry) by Mark Newitt (Paperback - 17 Jun. 2011)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews