Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lenten Feast, 27 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter (Paperback)
A few weeks ago I began looking around for a book that might help me walk my Lenten journey this year. I stumbled on JANET MORLEY'S "the heart's time - a poem a day for Lent and Easter".
I love poetry. As children we learned poems by heart and right through life I have found comfort, consolation, in poetic works, as Mary Oliver says poems provide the ability not just to look but to SEE, really SEE. Yes, poetry gives voice to an all embracing spirituality, gives voice to my search for belonging, gives voice to my deepest desires.
This text has a poem for each day. This text has a wide variety of voices; Chesterton, Hopkins, U.A. Fanthorpe, Donne and I have to exercise restraitn and stay with a poem a day.
And this is not just a text for the Lenten Season. It is a book for all seasons for those searching for a better balance between the Outer World with its daily demands and the Inner World where I find meaning for my True Self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alternative approach to individual Lenten studies, 18 April 2012
By 
J. M. Gagan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter (Paperback)
This book from respected Methodist writer, Janet Morley, contains an interesting selection of poems from both religious and non-religious poets, and a thoughtful and stimulating commentary with a Lenten interpretation. As an alternative to 'giving something up' for Lent, acquiring this book (and using it for daily personal study) is to be recommended. I should have liked to have more biographical information about the poets, some of whom were unknown to me. Michael Gagan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Lent book, 5 Mar 2012
By 
Mrs. T. A. Hills (Chichester, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter (Paperback)
Sometimes when you get to Advent or Lent, you get that same-old same-old feeling about the books. Not with this one though. It is the most amazing book I have had for several years. It is a joy to read each day, as every poem is different, and so is the feeling that you take away. A couple in particular have caught my attention and gripped me, thinking of "The Call" especially. Even if you don't like a specific poem, you still gain such a lot from the reading and the authors explanation or insight. As a Lent book it is terrific because it really stops you in your tracks and makes you think, and think properly. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart's time, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter (Paperback)
The book arrived in excellent time and well packaged. It promises to be an excellent book for Lent.
BUT....the pages of the book are separating from each other and the whole set from the binding. I will
end up with a loose leaf folder.
The book binder needs to look at this weakness in production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heart's Time: A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter., 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter (Paperback)
This author never fails to open doors for the reader. This book of poems offers the reader an opportunity not only to consider in depth the meaning of each poem, one per day, but invites them to enter into the spirit at the heart of the poem and reflect on its meaning to them personally.For the Lent season it is a particular treasure. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to explore., 8 July 2014
This review is from: The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter (Paperback)
Just what I need for my retreat with Janet Morley. So pleased with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can be used as retreat material, 20 Jun 2014
By 
I. Tarrant (Woodford, London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter (Paperback)
I bought this too close to Easter to use as intended. But I took it with me on a personal retreat after Easter, and worked throught the latter part, at a rate of three chapters a day, to nurture my reflections and prayers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Daily poetry for lent., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter (Paperback)
So far I have only dipped into this book, but have been entranced by the poetry chosen and the very relevant commentary, to each poem. I look forward to using the book next year in lent, reading one poem each day. Meanwhile I shall continue to dip into the book from time to time as seems relevant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously excellent, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter (Paperback)
Finding this a very helpful resource through Lent. Janet Morley's choice of poems has introduced me to new ideas and her comments are very illuminating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daily reading book, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter (Paperback)
Excellent purchase, been using this year for lent and Easter period, very good daily read. Advices to any one to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter
The Heart's Time - A Poem a Day for Lent and Easter by Janet Morley (Paperback - 18 Nov 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews