Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, 19 July 2012
By 
C. J. Tyler "cjtbrocco" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven (Paperback)
A good, wide-ranging discussion of a very difficult subject. There's plenty here for group discussion, but you will have to prepare your own materials. I did and this worked pretty well.
The writing is very clear, the argument convincing and all surprisingly entertaining. I felt it was especially strong on how heaven is already here and how we can feel it now.
Even though I am happier with a more traditional understanding of heaven I was never upset by the author's different views. Perhaps this is at times frustratingly Anglican - trying to remain within the Catholic tradition while being exploratory and contemporary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Introduction, 21 Mar 2012
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven (Paperback)
Like most Christians I suspect I have a fairly simple understandiong of what Heaven means (until now). Mainly as Heaven comes after death and death is not a thing we like to talk about is it ?

Dr Gooder does not spent that much time on the subject of death after all it is something we pass through on the way to heaven.

This book introduces the reader to the Jewish idea of heaven and how the Christian world has changed this vison. I have read this book twice and gained so much.

Really Really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scholarly and accessible, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven (Paperback)
Paula Gooder has written an outstanding summary and reflection on the subject of heaven. She undergirds her writing with what the bible says of heaven, including sections on heavenly creatures such as cherubim and seraphim. This is all considered in light of understanding that has evolved with tradition over the centuries.
The book is well researched and is based on sound scholarship yet is written in a very accessible style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven and all you need to know about it., 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: Heaven (Paperback)
This is a very good scholarly book which is most helpful in understanding the scriptural background to a belief in heaven and any theological understandings about what heaven might actually be like. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heaven as we don't see, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven (Kindle Edition)
This book made very interesting reading and I agree that heaven is about the here and now. I am glad she included some history but there was too much about tradition and not what the Scripture said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent study of an intriguing subject, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven (Kindle Edition)
This really made me think about what I think about heaven. Paula is so good at putting things across clearly. This is an excellent study of the biblical evidence and a vital and timely offering to a world longing for something better. Would make a very good course eg for Advent. Thanks Paula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven Where is it?, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven (Paperback)
Paula Gooder puts her points clearly, then lets you make up your own mind on this very difficult subject. A good and thought provoking read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book to really make you think!, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven (Paperback)
This book is easy to read although it deals with a very difficult subject. As for the buying experience - that was good. It wqas a good price and was posted very promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looking good, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven (Kindle Edition)
Reading 'heaven' was easy and satisfying. Not a dull religious book but a lively well-constructed read which was compelling and informative. Each chapter covered a topic with expertise that was both enlightening and enjoyable. A book to make you think. It manages to link biblical scholarship with modern thinking and knowledge. Two pictures came out well on my kindle as part of the text. Good to dip into - I expect to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent publication, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven (Paperback)
Excellent and very readable. Paula Gooder is obviously a very capable theologian, and I find the book most interesting and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7cac558)

This product

Heaven
Heaven by Paula Gooder (Paperback - 19 Aug 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews