Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little book
As a life long fan of Stanley Spencer I was really pleased to pick up this book of short reflections based on a series of his paintings that I especially loved. The book is perfect for exploring the paintings and the spiritual messages they convey. I love the way it is written, in a simple but exploratory way by someone who clearly loves the pictures and wants to share...
Published 17 months ago by Islander

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful
I was grateful to have the images so readily available, but found the commentary rather disappointingly superficial, lacking artistic information and theological depth.
Published 11 months ago by T. P. Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little book, 7 April 2013
This review is from: Christ in the Wilderness: Reflecting on the Paintings of Stanley Spencer (Paperback)
As a life long fan of Stanley Spencer I was really pleased to pick up this book of short reflections based on a series of his paintings that I especially loved. The book is perfect for exploring the paintings and the spiritual messages they convey. I love the way it is written, in a simple but exploratory way by someone who clearly loves the pictures and wants to share his insight with the reader and yet guide them toward their own response to each of them. You can absorb each picture, reflect on its composition and meaning, then read the authors interpretation and personal response. The result for me was that I took something away from each picture that I will come back to time and again. If you want a beautifully written guide to these wonderful paintings, or something to use for personal reflection, or both, I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An inspiring read that makes you want more. The illustrations are brilliant in Kindle-better than in the printed page. You can enlarge them and see all the detail that the author writes about. The chapter about The Scorpion was such an insight into Christ's wilderness time, a deep and awesome insight into God and prayer. I loved the newness, the freshness of this theological reflection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christ in the Wilderness: Reflecting on the Paintings of Stanley Spencer, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christ in the Wilderness: Reflecting on the Paintings of Stanley Spencer (Paperback)
I found the way the details of the paintings were explored and scripture reflected upon very inspiring and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spiritual food, 6 May 2013
By 
T. A. Coleman (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christ in the Wilderness: Reflecting on the Paintings of Stanley Spencer (Paperback)
I found this a wonderful book for meditating. very helpful. He points out things that are not immediately obvious and brings the images into a new focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christ in the WIlderness, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christ in the Wilderness: Reflecting on the Paintings of Stanley Spencer (Paperback)
I found it very thought provoking and enlightening as one who knew very little about Stanley Spencer or his paintings before. I and other Sisters from CSMV Wantage found it a richly meditative book and are very grateful to Bishop Stephen who has been our Warden for 12 years. His preaching is always challenging and incisive but this was a different light on his reflective insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine reflection, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christ in the Wilderness: Reflecting on the Paintings of Stanley Spencer (Paperback)
I am using this as my Lent book, and feel as if I am being led by the hand through a small but select gallery by a wise and sensitive guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New insights!, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the treatment through the paintings of Scripture passages very inspirational and enriching for my own spiritual journey and an aid to deeper prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an excellent book for Lent. The pictures are clear on Kindle fire and my laptop. It is necessary to see the pictures to appreciate the commentry on them. An uplifting read. Well done Bishop Stephen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christ in the Wilderness, 9 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christ in the Wilderness: Reflecting on the Paintings of Stanley Spencer (Paperback)
This is a well-written book meant to help us a deeper relationship with Jesus, through the paintings of Christ in the Wilderness. We used this book for our Lenten discipline and found the pictures took us to deeper reflection and we appreciated Bishop Cottrell's comments.
Susan Williams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christ in the Wilderness, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christ in the Wilderness: Reflecting on the Paintings of Stanley Spencer (Paperback)
Christ in the Wilderness, the commentary by Stephen Cottrell were thought provoking, stimulating, an excellent book, which allowed the reader, to gaze on the pictures, and imagine Stanley Spencer painting them and gave an insight into his thoughts and beliefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christ in the Wilderness: Reflecting on the Paintings of Stanley Spencer
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews