Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another success from Bp Stephen
The Things He Carried
An excellent book for Holy Week.The atmosphere created by/in these meditative chapters is quite amazing (imagine how it must have come over in St Paul's).
I had intended to use it as the basis of a Lent course for my house group but have decided to use it for personal reflection during Holy Week. It does not lend itself too readily for...
Published on 25 Feb. 2009 by glasswise

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtfully written
This thoughtful series of meditations guides the reader to appreciate more fully the significance of the things that Jesus carried to his cross. Each chapter is best read at a measured pace and with time after to sit and think over the content and to note one's own process. It is an aid to prayer and meditation. My one caveat is that perhaps too much attention is paid in...
Published 2 months ago by Allen R Morton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another success from Bp Stephen, 25 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Things He Carried: A Journey to the Cross: Meditations for Lent and Holy Week (Paperback)
The Things He Carried
An excellent book for Holy Week.The atmosphere created by/in these meditative chapters is quite amazing (imagine how it must have come over in St Paul's).
I had intended to use it as the basis of a Lent course for my house group but have decided to use it for personal reflection during Holy Week. It does not lend itself too readily for weekly use throughout Lent.
Bp Stephen Cottrell certainly succeeded with this 'big preach'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The things He carried, 28 Mar. 2011
By 
P. E. Colhoun - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Things He Carried: A Journey to the Cross: Meditations for Lent and Holy Week (Paperback)
This book is thoughtfully and beautifully written by someone who really knows his subject. I so enjoyed reading each chapter and they all were meaningful for me. I have purchased several copies for friends. I can't give any higher recommendation than that. Five stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for Lent / Holy Week devotions, 26 May 2011
By 
Rev'd Richard Allen (Colchester, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Things He Carried: A Journey to the Cross: Meditations for Lent and Holy Week (Paperback)
Our Rector planned to use this book for the basis of the 3-hour devotional on Good Friday this year (2011), and I purchased it (as I was assisting at the service). It is well-written (as are all of Stephen Cottrell's books) with a wealth of approachable imagery and yet a finesse and economy of style that makes the thought provoking topics approachable. Not that the subject matter is anything near "easy" - but the author makes it more understandable. A well worthwhile small volume, which can be used either by individuals or groups, or within a wider worship/devotional format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The things He carried, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
C. Meunier "Caz" (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Things He Carried: A Journey to the Cross: Meditations for Lent and Holy Week (Paperback)
Such an excellent book - Stephen Cottrell (Bishop of Reading) writes with passion and understanding of Jesus' pain and suffering for us as God's children. I urge you to read it cos your life will change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspired, 7 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Things He Carried: A Journey to the Cross: Meditations for Lent and Holy Week (Paperback)
This is a book with a different take on the crucifixion. It makes you think and is suitable for using in a study group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtfully written, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This thoughtful series of meditations guides the reader to appreciate more fully the significance of the things that Jesus carried to his cross. Each chapter is best read at a measured pace and with time after to sit and think over the content and to note one's own process. It is an aid to prayer and meditation. My one caveat is that perhaps too much attention is paid in the first chapter to the mechanics of crucifixion, albeit Bishop Stephen does not sensationalise. The suggested exercises could be improved upon. Stephen Cottrell's aim is that the reader get under the cross in order to understand. I found my imagination stirred to engage with other Biblical texts alluded to in his theme - surely he has carried our sorrows - Isaiah's Servant Song poems - and the Agnus Dei of the Eucharist - the Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world. Thank you, Bishop Stephen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Descriptive and hard hitting, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Things He Carried: A Journey to the Cross: Meditations for Lent and Holy Week (Paperback)
Brilliant It's a hard hitting and thought provoking book taking one out of their comfort zone by it's descriptive brutality. My house group are finding it challenging and keen for the next section (difficult to say we are 'enjoying' it but it is a very valid piece of writing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful but not heavy going, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Things He Carried: A Journey to the Cross: Meditations for Lent and Holy Week (Paperback)
A really useful book for group or personal meditations in Lent and other times. I've found the sessions/chapters are strong enought to stand on their own, also you can pick just a few if you are limited for time and it still works well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really powerful, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
D. Kutar (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Read during lent. Really thought provoking. Highly recommended. Covers the obvious and the not so obvious e.g. the cross and the disciples disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Thought Provoking, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used this book as my personal companion when I made an Easter retreat at Downside Abbey . I have never read anything by Stephen Cottrell before but would certainly buy and use his work again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Things He Carried: A Journey to the Cross: Meditations for Lent and Holy Week
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews