Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and helpful ...
This book has become my daily companion of late. Written by David Adam, former vicar of Holy Island (once visited never forgotten) it is a beautiful collection of prayers and readings in the tradition of Celtic spirituality.

The daily themes are helpful and Saturday includes a special section for Advent
(timely at the moment) The additional prayers at the...
Published on 15 Dec 2009 by A. B. Taylor

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why no longer available in kindle?
I am impressed by the reviews of this book and particularly by the reviewer who used the kindle edition but I notice that it is no longer available in kindle. Why is this?
Published 15 months ago by Ed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and helpful ..., 15 Dec 2009
By 
A. B. Taylor "Allie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition (Paperback)
This book has become my daily companion of late. Written by David Adam, former vicar of Holy Island (once visited never forgotten) it is a beautiful collection of prayers and readings in the tradition of Celtic spirituality.

The daily themes are helpful and Saturday includes a special section for Advent
(timely at the moment) The additional prayers at the back are also useful and complement the rest of the text.

As a recent convert to liturgy, I never fail to find this book uplifting, comforting and truly inspiring.

Warmly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition, 18 July 2012
By 
Margaret (Bideford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition (Paperback)
I was introduced to this book by my husband and find it vey useful, As I can no longer read ordinary books due to failing sight, I got the Kindle edition because you can enlarge the print. Unfortunately only certain elements will enlarge - the bible readings and other prose. Where there are prayers with responses the print remains very small and there are gaps which I am unable to read, I wonder whether Amazon and/or the author could look into this problem. There must be many others like me, Sorry if this is not the right place to air this, but it is such a precious book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine prayers, but updated, very contemporary illustrations!, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition (Paperback)
I first downloaded this book on Kindle last year and inside were some gorgeous, medievil celtic illustrations, which perfectly helped to convey the timeless and ancient theme of 'The rhythm of life.' Well matched to the daily meditations and prayers for each day. A simple book to use, far easier to follow than the complicated Common Book of Prayer and Worship - and i loved it so much i decided to buy the 'in the flesh' paperback version to carry with me and to get the feel of the prayers on paper... for there's nothing quite like holding and feeling the pages of a spiritual book, somehow it makes it all the more special and personal. However, to my horror, the lovely illustrations had been 'updated' (although why the publishers felt the need to update a book of classic and timeless celtic prayers, i'll never know?) and replaced them with a new, ultra-modern, sketchy set of drawings that i feel are too modern! I shall try and ignore those rather insipid, vulgar lino-prints, which look like they belong more in a retro-edition of 'Vogue magazine' than in an ancient Book of Prayers; simply for the sake of the Author, David Adam, who has excellently set out a rhythm of meditation and worship in the time-honoured tradition of Morning, Midday, Evening and Night Prayer. At least these, praise God, have not been modernised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful Book, 19 July 2011
By 
W. A. Jones (Llandudno, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition (Paperback)
I have just come through a very difficult time with the help of this lovely little book. My curate introduced me to it and I wonder sometimes how I ever lived without it.

If anyone needs to be reminded that they are not alone or need a little extra prayer and comfort, then I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential when travelling, 27 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition (Paperback)
All in one small book, so a valuble travel aid.
Excellent, concise little book; which has it all !!
Valuble to use when stranded in airports
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Use this daily, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition (Paperback)
This really suits me. It is written from a mainly Anglican and Celtic viewpoint. It has offices for every day of the week; and for four times a day. It is really good to start and end the day with the appropriate office. The prayers are very down to earth, but the Almighty is at the centre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for daily prayer, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone wanting to try something different. The weekly cycle provides a great model. The book is well written and easy to follow. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes some structure to their prayer life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition (Paperback)
A useful and thoughtful prayer book which you can dip into at any time of the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition (Paperback)
I could not manage to pray without this book. It is so helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition (Paperback)
Fantastic little book has helped me enormously with my prayers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition
The Rhythm of Life - Celtic Daily Prayer, New Edition by David Adam (Paperback - 22 Feb 2008)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews