Customer Reviews


224 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (101)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read McGrath's two books to get the whole picture
I recommend The Dawkins Delusion but it needs to be read in conjunction with McGrath's earlier book: Dawkins' God: Genes, Memes, and the Meaning of Life, just as The God Delusion needs to be read with the earlier works of Dawkins.

I have read both of McGrath's books (and Dawkins') and watched their video debates. While The Dawkins Delusion is too short and...
Published on 4 Jan. 2008 by Frank Fennelly

versus
73 of 82 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Rough Draft of Ideas - where's the rest of the book?
To Alistar McGrath's credit he got me thinking a bit about some counter-arguments to Richard Dawkin's book 'The God Delusion'. He is a very good intellectual writer and puts forth a few good ideas such as - some beliefs may not be proven but justifiable (especially considering that half the world believe in some God), the relevance of a world view, and how evolution is...
Published on 18 Nov. 2007 by B. Burnett


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achieving Balance, 3 Jan. 2008
This review is from: The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine (Paperback)
I rate both the book by Dawkins and the rebuttal attempt by Alister McGrath and Joanna McGrath very highly.

Perhaps the demarcation line is drawn by these books between people who see the possibility, probability, or certainty of other intelligence generating dimensions crossing over into our universe.

The challenge as I see it is that as Einstein expressed there is a lot of subtlety within our universe. Einstein never really comes to terms with the full implications of general or special relativity. We are never quite sure whether our universe is finite or infinite, intruded upon by other dimensions or easily undersood in terms of certainty physics. I am never sure whether Dawkins is educated in physics as well as biology, but I suspect he should go back to school. I believe in continuing education for everyone, and these books help pinpoint some potential areas in one if one thinks, has the capacity to think more deeply over time, laterally and curvilinearly.

It matters little whether you are a scientist or not, if you have an experience that does not make any sense at all and you cannot communicate your experience to anyone else, you will have had an uncertain experience. These experiences probably do not mean you are insane, but they are a wake up call. All I know is that occasionally you will be puzzled by what you see or experience and this may be a wake up call. But what is one supposed to wake up to? I don't know! That is the great puzzle. None of us really knows. Its wonderful to speculate, but its also good to see a discussion of the various very human experiences of these wake up calls, whatever they are.

A problem we all have is that of mixing up cause and effect. I am not sure in either author what is cause and what is effect. Maybe there is such a universe where cause and effect don't apply. Some scientists believe in such a universe, where the things of matter don't matter.

I love the history of Jesus and his humble teaching because it is a challenge. Christianity is something that requires a commitment of intellect to accept. What Dawkins seems to miss is what the McGraths succeed in capturing and that is the wonder of it all.

Clearly any idiot can see how stupid, utterly stupid, some of the really strange ideas of Dawkins are, and it is a shame that such nonsense is spoken out by such a rewarded individual. You must therefore read Dawkins and see this phenomenon for yourself. You will be amazed how a brilliant mind can come up with such foolishness!

What is interesting is how people can bridge the mental schism required in the modern age to have a connection to an early faith that is over 2,000 years old. That is amazing when you think about it. It is truly wonderful that the principles of such an early period, can and do have continuing relevance. They are such a joy to people who absorb them and realize their full potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Astounded, 9 July 2007
By 
H. Bray "Open Minded" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine (Paperback)
'You've harassed, lied, tortured and murdered your way across the planet for two thousand years. It's time to face up to the fact that you are no longer wanted or welcome. Take your quaint little superstitions and go'. Quote M Worley.

Amazon, I'm astounded that you allow the narrow minded and bigotted comments of the obviously uneducated M Worley to appear on your pages. The contradictions and rhetoric evident in this person's rantings (to use his own terms) are so obviously out of sinc with the views he tries to impress on us, that he sounds like he hasn't read the book at all. Worley, Christians haven't had the monopoly in harrassing, lieing, torturing and mudering across the planet in the last two thousand years. Fair play, they've had their moments no denying that but they have not dominated or outperformed any other religious group. Do your homework mate and use less aggressive language and tone, otherwise people might start to think that you have aspirations to harrass, torture, lie and murder your way across the planet......God forbid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 152 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Factual not fashionable, 27 Mar. 2007
This review is from: The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine (Paperback)
McGrath's work offers a sliver of sanity amid the coffee table sensation that Dawkins' polemic has become. In the same way that Stephen Hawking's "A Brief History of Time" turned us all into armchair cosmologists, Richard Dawkins makes atheism fashionable for the masses. Middle class mothers will complain, over tea and biscuits, about the horror of God being taught in schools, corrupting children's minds with such evil religious notions as "You shall not kill", "You shall not steal" and even "Honour your father and mother".

Fashions fade as quickly as they come, however, leaving us with abandoned skateboard parks, worn out Rubik's Cubes and bulging shelves in charity bookshops. Unfortunately, Dawkins' supporters may have lost a lot more than the price of a broken Furby. Granted, McGrath's book is a much needed rebuttal in the face of fleeting public fancy, but his overall reasoning will endure for much longer. Read it, everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - Read with an open mind, 25 Aug. 2007
By 
D. W. MacInnes "duncan1859" (Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine (Paperback)
It's a pity there's not a sixth star to give McGrath's excellent book.

Essential reading - alongside David Robertson's superb book 'The Dawkins Letters' - for anyone who has an open mind (even athiests with an open mind!) wanting to engage with the current athiesm debate.

It's saddening (and somewhat breathtaking) that there are still people out there that swallow Dawkins half baked distortions and even lies. And even sadder that he gets the media air time. Lots of scientists (some athiest scientists included) are very embarassed about the 'God Delusion'. If Dawkins still claims to be a scientist, why does he depart from scientific testing (the basis of sceince), and resort to athiestic dogmatism and half baked distortions?

If some want to encourage McGrath's book to be thrown in the trash, a landfill site would be too good for the 'God Delusion'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for Christians, 26 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine (Paperback)
Required reading for Christians who wish to assert their faith in the face of relentlessly atheistic attacks, especially those of Richard Dawkins. I have referred to it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 88 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless, 13 July 2007
By 
This review is from: The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine (Paperback)
I dont think the question "does god exist?" can ever be answered by anyone, educated or not. Athiests do not have the right to tell thiests that god doesnt exist and vice versa, simply because there is no way of knowing if god does or doesnt exist untill they die. I think the real delusion is paying 20 quid on a book that try's to answer an unanswerable question, you will be no more enlightened after reading it, the only thing that will be is your wallet. The best policy to adopt is just to live life the best way you can, and come to your own conclusions through your own life experiences rather then trust the words of others. If god exists then all well and good, if he doesnt, then i expect death will be much like trying to remember the time before you were born, or a blank dream. Ultimatly, the questions vastly outweigh the answers, and arent even relevant to our everyday lives, so it's best not to worry, just enjoy life and dont plague yourself with the pointless, unanswerable questions that this book (and the God delusion) tries to answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Athiest Agnostic Believer ?, 20 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. G. Ford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine (Paperback)
This book is beautifully written and in my opinion completely does away with Dawkin's "The God Delusion"

G.C. Ford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lay aside the prejudice - listen to your conscience, 18 Dec. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine (Paperback)
I dont want to add to the many words shared in this forum; and for this, you may think this unhelpful. However, i would like to say one thing loud and clear - McGrath shares many convincing arguments that totally refute the sandcastles of Dawkins. It's no wonder that God teaches us in His word, "the fool says in his heart there is no God!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emperor Dawkins' new clothes., 26 Jun. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine (Paperback)
Dawkins uses logic, argument and the tools of modern philosophy to prove.. nothing. A case of the emperor's new clothes. And McGrath does a good job playing the role of the boy who points out the lack of substance in Dawkins' arguments. Somebody had to. But apparently it still doesn't stop some people from thinking they are intelligent simply by saying they believe whatever Emperor Dawkins believes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erudite and very well written. This is NOT a mere 'hatchet' job on Dawkins, 16 Mar. 2010
By 
bee2 "lynnehill3" (West Country, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine (Paperback)
I was pleased to find that the McGraths didn't descend into the same puerile narrative style adopted by Dawkins in his manic refusal to allow even for the possibility of Divine Creation.

This book is a balanced, adult reply to the fundamentalist atheism so prevalent in (especially western) society today.

Well worth buying and reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine
The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine by Joanna Collicutt McGrath (Paperback - 16 Feb. 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews