Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide for the apprentice preacher, 12 Aug. 2001
This review is from: A Preaching Workbook (Hardcover)
If you're starting out on the road of preaching, and want to get your message across whilst keeping the content interesting, the tips in this small book will prove invaluable. If you've been travelling that road for some time already, and find your congregation have a tendency to stare blankly when you're speaking, perhaps it would be useful for you too ! It's written in a very informal, relaxed and humorous style, designed to explode the myth that sermons are always boring,pompous and irrelevant, by making sure that yours aren't ! A must-have for every preacher's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good practical book, 28 July 2010
This review is from: A Preaching Workbook (Paperback)
This book gives loads of gentle advise. It is easy to read and the 'stories' are really helpful. You don't need to do the exercises,you can still learn loads by just reading it as a book. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in taking services in churches or assemblies in schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Preaching for today, 8 Feb. 2011
By 
Diane (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Preaching Workbook (Paperback)
I was captivated by what others had said and was not disappointed, this book deals with it's subject matter in a fair and open way. It speaks of traditional styles of worship but has a fresh feel to it. For those just setting out on the journey as a preacher and for those who have been journeying longer, I think this book has a lot to commend it, which will enhance and inform your preaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great starter for my preparation for preaching, 1 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. D. Bradwell "davidbradwell" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Preaching Workbook (Paperback)
This book gives lots of very interesting insights and suggestions. David also expresses this in a very accessible manner. I really enjoy reading this book and expect that I will re-read it often!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars resources for the novice preacher, 18 Mar. 2012
By 
Adam Frankenberg "Kol adam" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Preaching Workbook (Paperback)
I have just reached the stage in my carrier where I have started to give sermons and although I am working within the Jewish community and this book is written from the Christian perspective I have found it both useful and entreating.

This is a good general introduction, or aid, to preaching. Basically its core argument is that sermons should be explorations of Scripture. Although the author does take an admittedly broad view of what constitutes an exploration. The other core idea of this book is that the preacher should actually be preaching 'the word of God' and that God has something to say though a particular person and at a particular time.

In addition this book includes more general advice and tips for both the novice preacher and to the more experienced minister who is more used to delivering sermons. An interesting element of this book is a section where Day explores what can be learnt from politicians, stand-up comics, and T.V., many of the practical examples are drawn from the Gospels and from the Book of Acts and deal with the life of Jesus. Nevertheless I found it very useful, additionally this is a workbook and as such it has exercises placed though out more will be drawn out of this text if at least some of these exercises are actually attempted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise the Lord!, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Preaching Workbook (Paperback)
This title recommended to me by a Minister as I undertake a course of study that only the Lord knows where it will take me. Great course, great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 21st century manual, 23 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Preaching Workbook (Paperback)
This is an up to date, easy to read manual for anyone involved in preaching or public speaking. It is crammed full of good ideas and sensible suggestions. Well worth purchasing and keeping on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 5 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Preaching Workbook (Paperback)
Whether you are just starting out or have been preaching for sometime, read this book. It is based on a collection of the seminars given by David Day who was formally Principal of St John's College and Cranmer Hall, Durham and as the title suggests is intended as a workbook. This format allows him to ask the reader some probing questions or introduce points of reflection. It offers a wealth of ideas on how to improve your sermons, not for the special events but the regular Sunday by Sunday sermons that are preached. He uses examples from some 50 sermons provided as background research by colleagues in the Diocese of Durham from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Preaching Workbook, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Preaching Workbook (Paperback)
Very comprehensive for such a small book and I have found it very useful when preparing for the Services that I conduct
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... this book from a friend and it was so useful I had to buy a copy of my own, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Preaching Workbook (Hardcover)
I borrowed this book from a friend and it was so useful I had to buy a copy of my own. It is what it says - a workbook, with activities that are intended to help the new preacher and it did just that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Preaching Workbook
A Preaching Workbook by David Day (Paperback - 22 Oct. 2004)
£9.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews