Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected!, 22 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Four Gospels, One Jesus? (Paperback)
I bought this book purely because it was on the list for a course I am attending. I thought, "this will be boring", but I was wrong.

The introduction to the book had me interested from the word go, describing our famous and renowned leader Sir Winston Churchill from four different perspectives. This gets the reader thinking about Jesus. All the gospels vary slightly in the way they talk about Jesus, His life, His miracles etc., and many say that they are contradictory. This book helps to show that four different people can talk about the same person, Jesus Christ, in four different ways, and yet they are talking about the same person.

It is a good book for beginners in the study of the Four Gospels, easy to read yet mind-stretching and offering challenges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great introduction to the gospels, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good introduction to the gospels. The emphasis is on interpreting the gospels in their own terms as literary and theological works. Historical issues are dealt with in a constructive manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Gospels, One Jesus? (Paperback)
Very good book. Helped me during Christian studies course and I'm sure I will go back to it. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four gospels, one Jesus, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting interpretation of symbolism and the gospels which has answered a number of questions. Also how the gospels come together to provide a coherent picture of the ;life and teaching of Christ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Getting the message, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Gospels, One Jesus? (Paperback)
This is a book that can help the curious, the unsure, the seekers, to find reassuraqnce in (Western) religion.
Inspirational? Sure, if your mind is open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Gospels, One Jesus? (Paperback)
Written in very accessible language by a leading biblical scholar, this account of the intentions and strategies of the gospel writers marries analysis of the text with the church's traditional symbolism of the authors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
Miss Dorothy Walters (Wallingford, Oxfordshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent reading and very inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book for studying the 4 Gospels, 9 May 2010
This review is from: Four Gospels, One Jesus? (Paperback)
This book has a separate chapter on each of the 4 Gospels, in the order in which they are thought to have been written. It relates each to the traditional symbol used for the writer, linking it to the content and style he uses very helpfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Gospels One jesus, 2 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Gospels, One Jesus? (Paperback)
A very interesting book. Well-written ideas and comparators for the four gospels. Required reading for CCS course. Excellent.Four Gospels, One Jesus?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Four Gospels, One Jesus?
Four Gospels, One Jesus? by Richard A. Burridge (Paperback - 17 Jun. 2005)
Used & New from: £6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews