Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vast and Important
This is the book in the series we have been waiting for and Wright does not disappoint. Of course, people will disagree with some points. Of course, those who have nailed their colours to the traditional understanding of 'justification by faith' will be up in arms. Yet this book cannot be ignored.

Wright always wears his learning lightly. There are some dense...
Published 14 months ago by Andy (andwalsh@lineone.net)

versus
6 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great book - terrible packaging by Amazon - twice!!
Don't get me wrong: this is a barnstormer of a book (actually it consists of two volumes). I already have the three preceding volumes in the series, and this is a worthy successor . No: the poor star rating is due to Amazon's surprisingly careless approach to packaging these two, very heavy volumes. The publication of these books was unexpectedly delayed (not Amazon's...
Published 15 months ago by mike stewart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vast and Important, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul and the Faithfulness of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God) (Paperback)
This is the book in the series we have been waiting for and Wright does not disappoint. Of course, people will disagree with some points. Of course, those who have nailed their colours to the traditional understanding of 'justification by faith' will be up in arms. Yet this book cannot be ignored.

Wright always wears his learning lightly. There are some dense patches where a second or third reading will be required. In the main, however, the points come across clearly.

Just the sheer scale of the approach, the breadth of references and the realisation that this is the result of a life's work, should leave the reader taking what he say seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long, but worth the effort, 14 Dec. 2013
By 
Maxelon (Romford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul and the Faithfulness of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God) (Paperback)
I have to agree with some of the other reviewers that this book feels too long, and would have benefited from some more radical pruning. That said, pruning a book this size would, I would have thought, take some time, and given the choice between what we have, and what we perhaps could have had in a years time, I would still go with what we have. Warts and all, it is certainly good enough.

I liked the overall structure of the book, and it is mercifully well written. Perhaps too `chatty' in places, but that is a very minor quibble.

The broad sweep of his argument I found utterly compellingly. I didn't hear any new themes from his other writings, but this book did bring them together for me in a way they had not been before.

Some of his more detailed exegesis I struggled with. I kept wondering if someone in the first century would really have seen things that way. It just felt a little too convoluted at times. That said, NT Wright is fighting a lot of preconceived notions about what words and passages mean, so I was never sure whether the difficulty is with my preconceptions, or NT Wright's impositions.

Overall, this is a good book, with lots of insights - big and small. It feels like a major step forward, but I doubt if it will be the last word on the subject. I could probably do with a simpler version (by his alter ego Tom Wright), but I managed well enough and I certainly plan to read this again - although probably not for another year or so, to allow me to recover from this reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mind of Paul, 18 Nov. 2014
By 
Michael Horton (Wellington, Shropshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul and the Faithfulness of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God) (Paperback)
‘Something understood.’ With this seemingly modest phrase quoted from George Herbert’s poem ‘Prayer’, Tom Wright ends his immense, scholarly exploration of Pauline theology. It is not one book, but rather four in one, a symphony in four movements. This is not the book for those who want a succinct overview of the subject (he ably provided that some years ago with his excellent ‘What St Paul really said’). Rather, it aims to give us a highly detailed account of Paul, who is primarily to be understood in the context of the first century Eastern Mediterranean world from which he, a formerly zealous Pharisee emerged as the principal representative to the gentile world of the early Christian movement.

What is so impressive is the ‘scientific’ way in which Wright has examined (through precise exegetical analysis, with a panoramic awareness of critics and counter arguments) all the available Pauline phenomena and presented them in an economic, elegant and convincing way, which avoids dogmatism and the anachronistic narrowness of later (especially Reformation) readings. He doesn’t allow Paul to be shoe-horned into any ill-fitting theological schemes, but shows the breadth and beauty of Paul’s understanding of Jesus as Messiah and how that fits with the grand narrative of creation and covenant in the Jewish scriptures. Concepts deemed to be central (e.g. the righteousness of God) are reinterpreted and others (e.g. new creation) emerge with a greater force. We see Paul developing as the greatest Christian theologian, not only as we understand better the results (the letters), but also by being inducted into the process (the thinking and theologizing behind them) of his creative endeavour.

Another striking feature of Wright’s book is that something this monumental is never dry or tedious. His recipe includes judicious use of humour and poetry and framing mechanisms which keep the mixture lively and engaging, and exemplifies his aesthetic, as well as his theological appreciation of Paul’s achievement. Unsurprisingly, there is something eminently Pauline (symphonic) in the weaving and exposition of so many thematic elements, and in the cumulative sense of richness, depth and clarity of the resulting work.

Newsweek magazine once dubbed Tom Wright the world’s greatest living New Testament scholar and here is the proof. As Paul claims with staggering boldness in 1 Corinthians 2.16 ‘we have the mind of Christ’, so we now have in this book probably the best claim yet to have the mind of Paul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever wanted to know about Paul but were frightened to ask!, 7 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul and the Faithfulness of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God) (Paperback)
Stunningly comprehensive
Brilliant analogies and illustrations
Amazing insights
A mind and spirit opening and expanding experience
Certainly worth the effort to read the whole two volumes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really essential but consider other formats such as accordance., 30 Dec. 2014
By 
F. Sims (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul and the Faithfulness of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God) (Paperback)
I have the previous volumes in paperback and have found them very worthwhile, thought i need to read them carefully and tend to find that much values from a second reading. These are now acailable in accordance and i have got this particular volume from them as the text is hyperlinked and the weight and ease of reading on an ipad i find preferable to a book ( though the advantage of a book still means you can share it with others when you are not reading it).

As with the other volumes, this is very well thought out and very readable, though slow work as i often ned to re read sections so a mug of coffee is a good aid.

This whole set is a must have for those who want to study the word of God, and modern tools such as accordance make it much easier to dig in depth, and i reccomend considering this version compared to either the paperback or the kindle version.

http://www.accordancebible.com/store/details/?&pid=NTW-Paul+%26amp%3B+Faithfulness

Ps, this e version also includes page numbers and also available on ios devices as well as mac and windows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For those who love Paul!, 4 Mar. 2015
By 
Epiphania (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul and the Faithfulness of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God) (Paperback)
Am still working through this, but what an eye-opener! As someone who's already studied the scriptures a fair bit, I still found myself reading with sheer delight and surprise as the author builds the world of Pauline Christianity and draws you into Paul's world. Wright uses a social-scientific approach as his entry point to Paul's world from which he also builds his theology. As someone who's found philosophical anthropology and the social sciences fascinating as part of my theological study, this was a joy to read. I only wish Wright had seen it worthwhile adding a 'summary' section or something to that effect at the end of each chapter; it's easy to get lost in the detail of the new world you're being invited into. It's huge, but well worth it and all the puzzles seem to fall well into place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough but too long, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another very thorough piece of work by NT Wright in the 'Question of God' series. He clearly reads very widely and adds his own thoughts including his exploration of the 'world view' of his subject (Paul). I just wish he could be more succinct!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle quibbles, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book and having it in Kindle form is so much lighter on the pocket in so many ways. The diagrams just about work and being able to highlight the text is wonderful. But one problem is that the publisher has not added page numbers to correspond with the print version. This is a major oversight for an academic book such as this, It makes quoting from the Kindle version pretty much impossible. Any chance that a new version of the file could be generated with the page numbers added?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited volume does not disappoint., 24 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. N. D. C. Cox "Norman Cox" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul and the Faithfulness of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God) (Paperback)
This long awaited addition to N. T. Wright's series on Christian Origins and the Question of God does not disappoint. Another outstanding tour de force by this thought provoking Christian writer and speaker. All four volumes in this series are essential reading for anyone who takes the Bible seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul and the Faithfulness of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God) (Paperback)
N. T. Wright is an outstanding scholar - always worth reading and listening to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul and the Faithfulness of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God)
£38.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews