Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a Tom fan, 12 July 2009
By 
Peter Nickholds "cycle rider" (Middle England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acts for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 13-28: Chapters 13-28 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
This is the fourth book within Tom's 'for Everyone' series. My wife and I try to read one commentary on a bible passage a day and this takes about 15 minutes. We like to stay with one book from the Bible at a time from start to finish and the 'Everyone' series enables us to do this. Tom is a well reputed scholar and a joy to read though the chunks we read are enough to take in at one reading. We have purchased from high-street retailers before but this 'used' copy was just as good as them. Very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acts - well worth it, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acts for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 13-28: Chapters 13-28 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
Having used Acts for Everyone Part 1 very effectively in Group Discussion I am sure from first looking at it that Part 2 will be equally useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perceptive commentary as always!, 31 Aug 2011
By 
David Williams "David Williams" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wright's Bible for Everyone commentaries are phenomenal - and this is no different! A great fresh new translation & perceptive commentaryon apassage of text ideal for daily reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh insights very helpful, 5 Jun 2014
By 
L. Ireland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acts for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 13-28: Chapters 13-28 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
A good, readable, devotional commentary which has been very helpful when preparing sermons. Plenty of fresh insights to inspire my own spiritual life too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tom Wright has a way of drawing attention to issues behind the descriptions and explaining the background to the whole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acts for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 13-28: Chapters 13-28 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
I am working my way through the new testament and what better way than to be led by an expert. If you wish to read and fully understand the new testament then this is the way to do it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars new light on a complex book, 17 Jan 2014
By 
J.C.Killick (Bangor, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tom Wright is a gifted commentator who brings clarity and interest to the book of Acts which is not an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars COMPLETES THE SET, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acts for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 13-28: Chapters 13-28 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
This book completes my set of Tom Wright and the Gospels. Exceptional commentaries, right up to date. Book received as new and delivery very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acts for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 13-28: Chapters 13-28 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
My husband and I have enjoyed reading this book together. It was great and is good for just about anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Mar 2013
By 
J. Neale (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This certainly lives up to the title of 'for everyone'. This is a very accessible and easy to understand treatment of Acts 13-28. Anyone who has read Acts 1-12 Pt 1 by this author will not be disappointed. Tom Wright writes in a way that brings his subject to life with relevant illustrations and a comprehensive background to the material. First century AD Rome and its Empire comes alive as we follow the journey of the apostle Paul on his missionary journeys around the eastenr Mediterranean. We gain a deeper understanding of the man Paul himself. His life and teaching is put in the context of the times and society inn which he lived. Altogther a worthy follow-up to Acts For Everyone Pt 1 and well worth reading by both theologians and lay persons alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews