Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really useful series, 5 Oct 2006
By 
S. Tuck "bozibo" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 11-21: Chapters 11-21 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
all the books in this series are really useful when trying to unravel the meaning of the Gospels/letters. If trying to find ideas for a sermon for a particular reading then look no further - Tom Wright provides several ideas to get you started. An invaluable collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 11-21: Chapters 11-21 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
This really made the Gospel of John feel so alive and relevant, I have really had my eyes opened by this highly recommended book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy reference, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 11-21: Chapters 11-21 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
I am part of our Ministry Team and on being asked to read and/or preach, these handy books are an excellent resource if stuck with some of the Gospel readings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars completes the set, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 11-21: Chapters 11-21 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
Along with part one this book completes the set for John's Gospel, Anyone wanting to do a study of The Bible should be looking at this author as part of their library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars study book, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 11-21: Chapters 11-21 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
Not read yet, but if the first part is anything to go by will definitely be a book to be savoured and pored over for a very long time,, Tom Wright has a lovely light touch whilst being very clear and theological not too frightening for anyone not scholarly like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John for everyone, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used this book for personal study and for preparation for a small-group study at my church. The book is extremely readable but scholarly. The format of a translation of the passage, followed by an interesting anecdote and the commentary helps and the application to life is always present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 20 Jun 2013
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 11-21: Chapters 11-21 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
I am working my way through Tom Wright's "For Everyone" series of New Testament commentaries at a rapid pace.I am finding them very interesting and fascinating and they have helped me make more sense out of the Bible as I was finding it contradictory and confusing. These books are well written and the commentaries on the biblical text are absorbing. I feel drawn to reading these books and I put this down to the Holy Spirit being at work in some way to strengthen my faith and provide guidance.I believe that by reading the Bible the Holy Spirit interacts with the believing reader to bring him or her closer to Jesus. This is a book to read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John for Everyone, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 11-21: Chapters 11-21 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
It is an excellent resource for studying the book of John in the Bible. A useful addition to other commentaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful in opening up the Biblical text, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 11-21: Chapters 11-21 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
I use Tom Wright's commentaries a lot in my sermon research. It helps that he not only explains the Biblical text in terms of its own time but also includes something up-to-date to show it is relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it always has been, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 2 Chapters 11-21: Chapters 11-21 Pt. 2 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
This continues to be one of the most useful series of commentaries for today"s world. Must buy to complete first volume
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews