Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gospel Revolution, 23 Jun 2009
By 
Adam "Say something about yourself!" (Dunton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Matthew for Everyone: Part 2 (New Testament Guides for Everyone): Pt. 2 (Paperback)
In Part 2 of his study of Matthew, Tom Wright again gives us a fresh and vivid translation which is accessible without being dumb or patronising, catching the excitement and immediacy of the message.
In short commentaries that draw fom his own life and learning, Wright helps get to the hidden treasures of this Gospel. He is good at framing the Gospel events in the worldviews of Jesus and His contemporaries, helping us to crack the code. And so we understand the imporatance of the recurring theme in this Gospel of the fulfilment of the Law and the Prophets, so that, for example, we understand the significance of key passages like Daniel 7 to the theme of Jesus as Messiah and 'Son of Man.' We are shown how Jesus took the traditional Jewish understanding of these concepts and transformed them to a fulfilment that was truly revolutionary. Jesus's contempoararies would have known how Moses led the nation of Israel through the Red Sea to freedom, overcoming the armies of the enemy. They could not have dreamed how Jesus's death on the cross leads us all through the sea of sin and death, to the promises of Grace and salvation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Approachable and illuminating, 22 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Matthew for Everyone: Part 2 (New Testament Guides for Everyone): Pt. 2 (Paperback)
This is another in the series of "Guides for Everyone" where Tom Wright attempts to update William Barclay's Daily Bible reading commentaries.
It is a volume small enough to fit into a coat pocket, divided into entries with a short passage of scripture (Wright's own, occasionally idiosyncratic, translation) followed by a couple of pages of reflections on the passage. Typically, these will include both an anecdote from the author's experience or an observation from life today as well as exposition about the context of the times, or description of relevant passages from the rest of the scriptures.
Wright's writing has been aptly described as "smooth as chocolate" and these reflections are immensely readable. They could be good for private bible reading though we have used them successfully in a parish reading group: people of all levels of Christian knowledge (people exploring the Bible for the first time, as well as those who've been reading the scriptures for eight decades) found it worthwhile.
There are occasionally passages where Wright is simply brilliant - illuminating even when the text is murky or complex e.g on aspects of the apocalyptic parts of Matthew - and at other places, he's inspirational. Equally, in my view, there are times when his interpretation is plainly wrong: but then, he's an evangelical and I'm not, so that's to be expected. And who wants to agree with what they read all the time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 9 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matthew for Everyone: Part 2 (New Testament Guides for Everyone): Pt. 2 (Paperback)
A good commentary that can be used as a general reference or daily personal study resource. Is easily readable without being dummed down. Can be used with For Everyone Bible Study Guides: Matthew to promote thoughtfull meditation or discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book really is "for everyone". Whether you have ..., 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really is "for everyone". Whether you have been a Christian for years and want to go deeper, or whether you are just a curious "onlooker" wondering what the Bible REALLY says, this book will get you thinking! As a Christian, I am familiar with the subject matter of these books, but I have found Tom Wright's insights and background information have helped me understand things in greater depth and taught me interesting facts I did not know. Tom Wright has a readable and understandable style and these books can be used as a daily study guide or as a straight forward book, as they contain both the Bible passages [translated by him] and his exposition. I have downloaded my copy onto my Kindle which makes it even easier to dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good commentary, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matthew for Everyone: Part 2 (New Testament Guides for Everyone): Pt. 2 (Paperback)
Tom Weight always has excellent commentaries and this was as expected. I read it to prepare for an address at church.Recommended for anyone who wants a thoughtful,easy to follow commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compact knowledge of the Gospel., 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matthew for Everyone: Part 2 (New Testament Guides for Everyone): Pt. 2 (Paperback)
I'm doing a Christian Studies course and this series has allowed me to take on board what the tutors have said and then go home and read further into it at my own pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matthew for Everyone: Part 2 (New Testament Guides for Everyone): Pt. 2 (Paperback)
Bought as a present and the recipient was extremely pleased, having others in the series not disappointed with this one. Delivery was quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matthew for Everyone: Part 2 (New Testament Guides for Everyone): Pt. 2 (Paperback)
so glad it appeared in two volumes so content commentary was not sparse. An asset to any preacher or student's bookshelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot recommend this series of books highly enough. I feel educated, challenged and inspired by everyone of them, whatever your persuasion these are well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second time I've read this book, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading and re-reading Tom Wright's series is a perfect bible reading plan. Highly recommended for those who like a straightforward commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Matthew for Everyone: Part 2 (New Testament Guides for Everyone): Pt. 2
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews