Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A theology textbook as it should be!, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Mark T (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Old Testament: The Prophets Volume 4 (Paperback)
As a theology student and ex-teacher this is the most helpful Old Testament textbook that I have yet found. It provides a helpful overview of the historical background, theological ideas and history of scholarship for each of the "Prophets" which enabled me to quickly understand the points of debate and to read other scholars in a far more informed and fruitful way.

As a Christian believer, I also found the "Going Deeper" sections helped me to avoid a merely academic approach to my studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good reference, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Old Testament: The Prophets Volume 4 (Paperback)
This book is a useful tool and gives a helpful overview of each of the prophetic books. You have to watch the comments though as there is a clear Calvinistic bias which means that you have to sift through each comment with care. McConville is a helpful academic if you can push past his obvious bias, as much as I wouldn't take every word as 'gospel', I am pleased to have this in my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exploring the old testament: prophets v 4, 12 Oct 2011
By 
Terry TAGGART (HORNCASTLE, LINCOLNSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exploring the Old Testament: The Prophets Volume 4 (Paperback)
The book arrived after a few days in pristine condition, the packaging was secure and fully appropriate for the book. No problems whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Old Testament: The Prophets Volume 4 (Paperback)
Another great book in the series- well set out, referenced and accessible whilst being stimulating enough for degree level work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. David Giles "David Giles" (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Old Testament: The Prophets Volume 4 (Paperback)
A good starting point and some useful insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Old Testament: The Prophets Volume 4 (Paperback)
An excellent study book, full of information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Old Testament: The Prophets Volume 4 (Paperback)
Excellent condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Old Testament: The Prophets Volume 4 (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exploring the Old Testament: The Prophets Volume 4
Exploring the Old Testament: The Prophets Volume 4 by Gordon McConville (Paperback - 18 Oct 2002)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews