Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New William Barclay
For many years I have used the William Barclay Daily Study Bible. This book, and the others in the "For Everyone" series, is an excellent new thought provoking approach to the same subjects. I found that many passages were dealt with quite differently to Barclay's work and challenged me with new thoughts. I therefore intend to build up a collection of the whole series...
Published on 7 Jun 2012 by Mr. K. J. Alexander

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many anecdotes
I bought this for Lent, but haven't got very far with it - I find all the 'anecdotes' which are meant to make it relevant to today just a constant distraction from the line of thought. I reverted to reading William Temple's 'Readings in St John's Gospel' instead - I may return to Tom Wright later.
Published 18 months ago by Mrs Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Makes Bible study easy, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book & others by this author make Bible study easier & more fruitful, it is easy to read & his explanations make the understanding of John's Gospel more complete, it may be the first that I have bought but it most certainly won't be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars study book, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 1 Chapters 1-10: Chapters 1-10 Pt. 1 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
Half way through, so accessible not too scholarly, easy to understand, and eye opening, thought provoking and absorbing, is literally for everyone, new believer or long standing Christian would be able to gain from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent commentary in everyday English, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is part if the excellent Tom Wright series of simple commentaries which have a huge depth of scholarship wrapped up in easy to read text. I will eventually get all of these commentaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too many anecdotes, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for Lent, but haven't got very far with it - I find all the 'anecdotes' which are meant to make it relevant to today just a constant distraction from the line of thought. I reverted to reading William Temple's 'Readings in St John's Gospel' instead - I may return to Tom Wright later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vital for lay students learning, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 1 Chapters 1-10: Chapters 1-10 Pt. 1 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
As with all Tom Wright's commentaries this is full of helpful academic thoughts which are In Accessible language for the lay person
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Wright - excellent writer, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 1 Chapters 1-10: Chapters 1-10 Pt. 1 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
Tom Wright's series of commentaries on the gospels and other NT books are excellent value, informative, provoke thought and inspire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent practical commentary, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting and scholarly with practical application for ordinary Christians. Gives the text followed by a short commentary which is of great relevance to daily living and contains interesting ideas for further thought and prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic insight into the scriptures from NT Wright. Written with a storyteller's mind. Illuminating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional value for money., 6 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John for Everyone - Part 1 Chapters 1-10: Chapters 1-10 Pt. 1 (New Testament for Everyone) (Paperback)
I was very pleased with the speed with which I received this book and impressed with the condition and content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews