Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readers Digest Book of Brittish Birds
A brillient book for beginners & seasoned bird watchers, excelent discriptive plates, and
all the information required from migration, identification, to nesting and migration, and as usual excelent value for money from Amazon.

John.
Published on 28 Jan 2010 by J A Sutton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars RATHER DISAPPOINTED.
BOOK ARRIVED EXTREMELY PROMPTLY. HOWEVER I WAS RATHER DISAPPOINTED AS THE BOOK CASING WAS DENTED, THE SHRINK WRAP WAS RIPPED AND THERE WAS A RATHER PROMINANT NOTE STUCK TO THE FRONT OF THE BOOK CASING SAYING "USED" WHEN I HAD ORDERED A NEW COPY. IT WAS ALSO ADVERTISED AS NEW ON THE WEB SITE AND INDEED THE GENTLEMAN I SPOKE TO AT THE COMPANY CONFIRMED THIS...
Published 11 months ago by C F.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readers Digest Book of Brittish Birds, 28 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition) (Hardcover)
A brillient book for beginners & seasoned bird watchers, excelent discriptive plates, and
all the information required from migration, identification, to nesting and migration, and as usual excelent value for money from Amazon.

John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best reference book about", 5 Feb 2010
By 
B. Milburn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition) (Hardcover)
Absolutely best reference book to date!!! Easy to follow but enough detail for more advanced reader excellant photos and diagrams. Not sure why its the narrow size it is but doesn't detract from the format inside. Superior finish makes ideal present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reader's Digest Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition), 30 July 2010
By 
Trevor Carr (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition) (Hardcover)
We bought this for our 5 years old grandson. He was delighted with it as were we. It is clear, concise and easy to use. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars RATHER DISAPPOINTED., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition) (Hardcover)
BOOK ARRIVED EXTREMELY PROMPTLY. HOWEVER I WAS RATHER DISAPPOINTED AS THE BOOK CASING WAS DENTED, THE SHRINK WRAP WAS RIPPED AND THERE WAS A RATHER PROMINANT NOTE STUCK TO THE FRONT OF THE BOOK CASING SAYING "USED" WHEN I HAD ORDERED A NEW COPY. IT WAS ALSO ADVERTISED AS NEW ON THE WEB SITE AND INDEED THE GENTLEMAN I SPOKE TO AT THE COMPANY CONFIRMED THIS!

WHILST SPEAKING TO DONALD AT THE COMPANY HE STATED THAT AS THEY HAD NO OTHER COPIES OF THE BOOK IN STOCK I WAS MORE THAN WELCOME TO KEEP IT AND WAS GIVEN A £2 DISCOUNT. THIS I ACCEPTED HOWEVER I REMAIN RATHER DISAPPOINTED AS THE BOOK WAS INTENDED AS A GIFT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. J. W. Langford (Pettinain,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition) (Hardcover)
bought this book as we have a lot of birds in our gardens and needed to know about the different species, Would recommend this book, tells you everything you need to know about British birds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I would love this product if only Amazon would deliver it!!!, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Peter C (Sevenoaks UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition) (Hardcover)
I have reminded Amazon that this order has been unfulfilled for about four months! My complaint was replied with a load of waffle and an undertaking that it would be dispatched by 31 July (it is now 8 August). What goes on Amazon, do you care about customer service??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition) (Hardcover)
It looks like a coffee table book, and its drawings are lovely (it is a reprint of an older book and there are almost no photographs, despite the cover), but actually the book is a very fine read, with fascinating chapters about why different birds are the shape and colour they are, and about their behaviour and habitat, which replaces mere bird-spotting with real understanding of which birds are likely to be in a location, and why, and what they will be doing. Highly recommended..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition) (Hardcover)
Usual Amazon speedy delivery, book came in a hard case that was dented (not due to delivery).
Quality of content is very disappointing & wish I'd paid more attention to the other 1 star reviews. The artwork overall is poor and for a number of birds doesn't show variations in plumage for male/female and seasonal changes in plumage, so if you were considering it as a reference book for bird identification you are out of luck. I also purchased the RSPB Pocket Guide to British Birds (2nd edition) from Amazon excellent buy for under a fiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A glossy cover, 22 Feb 2012
By 
J. Scott (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition) (Hardcover)
I am disappointed with the 'look inside' feature on this book review. Yes, the cover has a stunning photo (and the book is a lovely glossy hardback in a presentation box) and yes, there are some more beautiful photographs shown in the 'look inside' feature. But that is it. The book actually contains artwork (good, but not fine, quality) which is reused from the Readers Digest Book of British Birds from nearly thirty years ago - my husband has that book! It is such a disappointment to be misled into thinking the book may contain more stunning modern photography. The section on egg identification is also a bit scant, too. I think my parents' Readers Digest Field Guide to the birds of Britain (more than thirty years old) contains better material. A great book if you are looking for a reprint of old material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars continued excellence, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. Gf Fraser (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition) (Hardcover)
I had this book years ago and used it with my daughter when she was tiny. Now she has a baby boy and I wanted her to have the same pleasure that I had.The pictures are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition)
"Reader's Digest" Book of British Birds (Deluxe Edition) by Phyllis Barclay-Smith (Hardcover - 30 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £9.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews