Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful and comprehensive
If, like me, you love water and find yourself in an area wondering what there might be to do to fill in a an evening's walk, this gazetteer is invaluable. Time and again it identifies the local gems, from sea caves to tea shops, ruined churches to secret bays.

If you want to plan a trip then the most spectacular places are highlighted with full page picture...
Published on 5 July 2008 by dprs

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much information!
This book has a sister publication 'The most amazing places to visit in Britain' Now that book is a gem. You can plan a great trip around the suggestions in that book and few are as predictable as you might imagine.

I bought this book with the same expectation, yet sad to say it has failed to come up to the same high standard. It is too comprehensive, covering...
Published on 2 July 2008 by Cheerio


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful and comprehensive, 5 July 2008
By 
dprs (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest) (Paperback)
If, like me, you love water and find yourself in an area wondering what there might be to do to fill in a an evening's walk, this gazetteer is invaluable. Time and again it identifies the local gems, from sea caves to tea shops, ruined churches to secret bays.

If you want to plan a trip then the most spectacular places are highlighted with full page picture spreads. I love it.

Great photos, production, layout and maps (loads of them) too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much information!, 2 July 2008
By 
Cheerio (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest) (Paperback)
This book has a sister publication 'The most amazing places to visit in Britain' Now that book is a gem. You can plan a great trip around the suggestions in that book and few are as predictable as you might imagine.

I bought this book with the same expectation, yet sad to say it has failed to come up to the same high standard. It is too comprehensive, covering by its own admission over 1000 different locations. In consequence it attempts to cover most places with a very brief paragraph. Certainly not enough information to make a decision to plan a place into an itinerary without your own prior knowledge of it. And that rather defeats the object. This book would have been much better with a tenth of that number and more selective, with the anectdotes and tips that make its sister publication so useful. The title is misleading, and playing on the sucessful franchise of its far better predecessor.
This is a catch-all gazetter of the coast, and nothing like 'The most amazing'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A picture paints a thousand words!, 21 May 2010
By 
RT (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest) (Paperback)
This book is severely lacking photos, pages upon pages of brief one paragraph descriptions for each location but without any photos to accompany them it really is worthless information. This guide appears to have been thrown together and Readers Digest obviously wanted to save a few quid on buying some photos to put in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazin Places on Britains Coast, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest) (Paperback)
This is a wonderful informative book finding many places we never new existed. We admired it in a local large book area at a theme park/garden centre but did not purchase. On returning home we tried several outlets and amazon. Amazon had NEW copies at about half the retail price. RESULT. Well worth the money. Keep it in the glove box when on holiday for reference, you will find some new places to explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for fans of the coast, 19 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest) (Paperback)
Beautiful book with lots of interesting facts on many nooks and crannies around the coastline. The sections are split into lengths around the coast, starting from Bristol area and moving round the coast in an anti clockwise direction. Just enough info on each area and lovely photographs too.... Definitely makes me feel like going for a road trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and uninspiring, 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest) (Paperback)
Basically just a catalogue of locations, each with a very basic description. More photos would have helped too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing places on Britain's coast, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest) (Paperback)
Arrived quickly & in great condition apart from the cover being completing upside down on the book. Never mind, for 1p, I don't mind!
Great descriptions of places & easily located on area maps. Will be handy for holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book will prove very useful to our friend in his retirement, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest) (Paperback)
We are very pleased with this book it was well packed and came on time. We think it will prove very useful
to our friend as he enjoys his retirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the most amazing places on britains coast, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. N. C. Beard (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest) (Paperback)
This book looks to be good value , as it is for a resent I have not read it in depth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast(Readers Digest), 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest) (Paperback)
Well, I must love these these books as I have purchased the whole series ! Lots of beautiful photographs and filled with enough information to inspire the traveller. One could always wish for more information about each place but it would probably not be feasible. It's sad that less of these sorts of books are being published these days and one is constantly being forced onto the internet. For me there is nothing like the pleasure of having a book that tells you about all the wonderful places to visit in this country. The internet should only be used to access further information, not to replace the books that initially make us aware of the existence of these places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest)
The Most Amazing Places on Britain's Coast (Readers Digest) by Reader's Digest (Paperback - 25 April 2008)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews