Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plumbing & Heating by Readers Digest series
Highly recommend this book to any capable DIYer who wishes to simply stop a dripping tap, through to installing a complete bathroom suite. The book has a comprehensive format, step by step instructions, many diagrams and all in a hardcover with good quality glossy paper pages, means it will also stay clean and withstand the work enviroment easily. I have also purchased...
Published on 6 Oct 2009 by Mr. Gary Campbell

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, however....
It's a nicely packaged item. Clearly meant for use when water is around and built to last. Unfortunately, there's little new information here. It's pulled pretty much verbatim from the more comprehensive manual. So, the pros are that it's a more portable version of the weighty Readers Digest DIY book...the cons are that it's essentially the same. Those looking for...
Published on 17 April 2009 by Mr. J. Young


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Very clear, good for a DIYer, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual (Hardcover)
Well I got this to better understand what all the house systems do, I've gotta say I felt a lot more confident after reading this that I could tackle a lot of problems.

I used it as a starting point, then bulked up my learning online via various sites.

Great illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Readers Digest Plumbing and Heating Manual, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual (Hardcover)
Extremely useful book for people like me who try and do plumbing
themselves to save some money . It also shows pictures to make
it easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but there are better, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual (Hardcover)
This would be a good first manual for perhaps a new home owner looking to do some basic work. If you wanted to do anything more complex, I suspect you would want something a bit meatier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars READERS DIGEST PLUMBING & HEATING, 25 May 2011
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual (Hardcover)
I FOUND THIS BOOK VERY USEFUL THE PROBLEM I HAD I SORTED WITH THE HELP OF THIS BOOK' SO I RECOMMEND THIS .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars plumbing and heating/readers digest, 9 May 2011
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual (Hardcover)
this book was bought to help with a small barn conversion, upon reading it it is obviously a reprint from at least 10 years ago. It is completely useless if you are plumbing in a modern house. With no references to underfloor heating and any of the newer ideas and modern material changes in todays house plumbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the Readers Digest DIY handbook instead- it's the same content, 15 Feb 2011
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual (Hardcover)
I bought this thinking it would be an expanded version of the DIY Handbook. In fact it's pretty much the same content so you don't get much for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leaky taps, 17 Nov 2010
By 
J. A. Pickersgill (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual (Hardcover)
I'm getting into plumbing and I thought I would get a specific book to help me with my DIY plumbing needs. It's a good book and amazing value for money. It's full of tips and ideas and it even goes into minor detail on specific parts, such as joints, traps and types of piping.
The only problem is, it's mostly the same section taken from the readers digest DIY manual which I already have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 1 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual (Hardcover)
Excellent book. It is aimed at householders with no prior experience of plumbing, but covers an astonishing range of tasks, from routine maintenance, simple repairs through to installation of a new bathroom. An experienced professional might argue that the book is far from being a comprehensive text on plumbing, but that's OK, you don't want to be taking a weighty tome under the sink.

So what's good about it?

1) Spiral binding, so opens up and stays flat, which is what you need in a practical situation.

2) Logical layout, focuses on what is important. For example, it puts instructions on how to deal with plumbing EMERGENCIES up front, so that it is easy to find.

3) Very clear - lots and lots of photos and diagrams.

a) It shows you exactly what a part looks like, what it's called. Next time you toddle off to B&Q, you confidently know what you are looking for :-)

b) Well-drawn exploded diagrams of taps etc (showing individual component parts) indicate clearly how the parts fit together again, much clearer IMHO than certain NVQ Level 2 textbooks aimed at trainee plumbers!

c) Clear system diagrams, so that you can get an intelligent understanding of the water and heating systems in your house.

d) Tells you, and shows you, exactly what you need in your toolbox and gives clear step-by-step instructions for all kinds of jobs, be it a simple repair through to installation of a bathroom.

e) Where you DO need to call in an experienced professional, it will say so.

My only quibble would be use of PTFE tape - possibly over-used, according to opinion on best practice as found on the web.

I imagine that the book would also be really useful to newly-qualified plumbers who are not supervised, as it deals in detail with the usual jobs that plumbers do, focusses on the practicalities, and is obviously written by a highly-experienced expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLUMMING, 2 April 2009
By 
Mr. S. Kerr "CATDOG" (IRELAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual (Hardcover)
EXCELLENT BOOK ON PLUMMING & UNDERSTANDING HOW CENTRAL HEATING SYSTEMS WORK,LEARNT ALOT FROM THIS BOOK, WITH GOOD PICTURES. ALSO REPAIRS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual (Hardcover)
Told me what I want to know. After reading the book I got a trades man to put in my new central heating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual
"Reader's Digest" Plumbing and Heating Manual by Reader's Digest (Hardcover - 30 Sep 2005)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews