Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars59
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2009
There will be many 1000's of people out there who have completed projects little more complicated than wiring a plug or replacing a light fitting. I was one of those people. Others will not have done as much as that. This book provides a good mix of text, photographs and colourful illustrations. It has provided me with what I need to know to progress to something more challenging. Since reading this book I have taken on a couple of jobs (succesfully) that will require buildings regulations approval. I didn't have the confidence to do that before.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2008
This book might be suitable if you are working in a fairly new house and are not yet confident to tackle basic wiring jobs without some guidance. But if you are already comfortable replacing an electrical socket and fitting new lights then you might find this too basic. I found that in too many places it suggests you call in a qualified electrician - it stops just when the enthusiast DIYer starts to get interested in the job!

Unfortunately I cannot seem to find a book that covers what I want (everything up to and including fitting a new consumer unit) that is not at least 15 years old. I do want a book that covers modern regulations and practices, not one that is frightened to get too close to them.
55 comments|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
A truly superb book. Extremly clear photos. diagrams & instructions. Makes an ideal book for anyone setting up home for the first time or anyone who has a lot of DIY ahead of them.
Highly recomend this book
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
This is an excellent book that tells you all you need to know about domestic wiring & lighting - fantastic!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
Good quality and very useful for the DIY Handyman who can follow instructions.Like the way items are clearly marked as to which projects you can undertake yourself, and which must be undertaken by qualified and certificated electricians.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
I am very impressed with the price and the delivery time of the book,my wife and I find it very easy to read and understand,it has made understanding how to wire up lighting in the house a lot easier and safer.would recommend.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2009
FOUND THI BOOK VERY HELPIFUL AND VERY UNDERSTANDABLE. GOT ME OUT OF A FEW HOLES.VERY WELL SET OUT WITH GOOD PICTURES.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
Very pleased with the book, if you are not sure about installing some basic electrics this is a ideal book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
im a student studying level one (NVQ) in electrics and this book looked good from the outside, i was looking for something that would help my course as the is nothing on the market at this level. book had one or two photos but was very poor. my advice is dont buy. you will be left with a feeling of being ripped off.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2009
Not too bad. Very clear pictures. Note this seemed to be more geared to DIY projects after the first two or three chapters so it might be worth perusing the book before buying.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)