Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to domestic electrical
There will be many 1000's of people out there who have completed projects little more complicated than wiring a plug or replacing a light fitting. I was one of those people. Others will not have done as much as that. This book provides a good mix of text, photographs and colourful illustrations. It has provided me with what I need to know to progress to something more...
Published on 7 May 2009 by N. Harris

versus
69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For absolute beginners in a new house
This book might be suitable if you are working in a fairly new house and are not yet confident to tackle basic wiring jobs without some guidance. But if you are already comfortable replacing an electrical socket and fitting new lights then you might find this too basic. I found that in too many places it suggests you call in a qualified electrician - it stops just when...
Published on 4 Feb 2008 by Neil Venn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to domestic electrical, 7 May 2009
By 
N. Harris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest) (Hardcover)
There will be many 1000's of people out there who have completed projects little more complicated than wiring a plug or replacing a light fitting. I was one of those people. Others will not have done as much as that. This book provides a good mix of text, photographs and colourful illustrations. It has provided me with what I need to know to progress to something more challenging. Since reading this book I have taken on a couple of jobs (succesfully) that will require buildings regulations approval. I didn't have the confidence to do that before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For absolute beginners in a new house, 4 Feb 2008
By 
Neil Venn "IT Trainer and Consultant" (Hemel Hempstead, Herts., UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest) (Hardcover)
This book might be suitable if you are working in a fairly new house and are not yet confident to tackle basic wiring jobs without some guidance. But if you are already comfortable replacing an electrical socket and fitting new lights then you might find this too basic. I found that in too many places it suggests you call in a qualified electrician - it stops just when the enthusiast DIYer starts to get interested in the job!

Unfortunately I cannot seem to find a book that covers what I want (everything up to and including fitting a new consumer unit) that is not at least 15 years old. I do want a book that covers modern regulations and practices, not one that is frightened to get too close to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wiring & lighting, 11 Dec 2009
By 
L. Pointer (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest) (Hardcover)
A truly superb book. Extremly clear photos. diagrams & instructions. Makes an ideal book for anyone setting up home for the first time or anyone who has a lot of DIY ahead of them.
Highly recomend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple book for a simple person, 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest) (Hardcover)
I am very impressed with the price and the delivery time of the book,my wife and I find it very easy to read and understand,it has made understanding how to wire up lighting in the house a lot easier and safer.would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wiring and lighting manual, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest) (Hardcover)
Very pleased with the book, if you are not sure about installing some basic electrics this is a ideal book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Readers Digest Wiring & Lighting Manual, 10 Dec 2010
By 
B. Hester - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest) (Hardcover)
Good quality and very useful for the DIY Handyman who can follow instructions.Like the way items are clearly marked as to which projects you can undertake yourself, and which must be undertaken by qualified and certificated electricians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book !!!, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Philip Liddle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book that tells you all you need to know about domestic wiring & lighting - fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D.I.Y, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. S. Kerr "CATDOG" (IRELAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest) (Hardcover)
FOUND THI BOOK VERY HELPIFUL AND VERY UNDERSTANDABLE. GOT ME OUT OF A FEW HOLES.VERY WELL SET OUT WITH GOOD PICTURES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wiring and lighting book, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest) (Hardcover)
im a student studying level one (NVQ) in electrics and this book looked good from the outside, i was looking for something that would help my course as the is nothing on the market at this level. book had one or two photos but was very poor. my advice is dont buy. you will be left with a feeling of being ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 31 July 2009
This review is from: Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest) (Hardcover)
Not too bad. Very clear pictures. Note this seemed to be more geared to DIY projects after the first two or three chapters so it might be worth perusing the book before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest)
Wiring and Lighting Manual (Readers Digest) by Reader's Digest (Hardcover - 30 Sep 2005)
Used & New from: £6.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews