Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIY virgin to bathroom almost done in 3 days
I had never done any DIY until 3 days ago. 2 hours reading this book told me all the tools and materials I would need, so I bought them all in one go (expensive, but necessary). Now, 3 days later I have almost finished redecorating the bathroom, including a bit of tiling. Lots of neat tips. Covers everything I have wanted so far. If you haven't done any DIY before, this...
Published on 30 Sept. 2001

versus
31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay if your house was built before the war!!
Although at the beginning of this book the ideas of decoration are quite modern, the actual DIY content could of come straight from an Eagle manual of the fifties. Okay one could say that some of the techniques of DIY have not changed but house building techniques and materials have developed a lot quicker than this book has. A rather diasppointing and out-dated book.
Published on 18 Sept. 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay if your house was built before the war!!, 18 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete DIY Manual (Hardcover)
Although at the beginning of this book the ideas of decoration are quite modern, the actual DIY content could of come straight from an Eagle manual of the fifties. Okay one could say that some of the techniques of DIY have not changed but house building techniques and materials have developed a lot quicker than this book has. A rather diasppointing and out-dated book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gives more than you think., 13 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Complete DIY Manual (Hardcover)
Traditionally people pass things down, well a few years ago i had a flat and wanted some d.i.y tips so i got this book, now times have changed and i live back home with my parents my mum wanted the kitchen re designed and my dad said i have no idea about it, so i loaned him my book, he said dont be silly it wont be in there that wont have the info i want, my mum said look in it first so he did, now he wants to steal the book from me, so i am getting him this book for fathers day so when i move out i can safely take my book. and the kitchen, well thanks to the book, my dad did the kitchen and the garden and put up a brand new ceilling light in the front room. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect DIY Bible, 3 Dec. 2009
By 
P. Finch "Finchster" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete DIY Manual (Hardcover)
For those wanting to take on a large DIY project, this is ideal. Clear and technically good. It may look complicated, but just conquering fear of starting a project is 90% of the battle, this book will nurse you through that barrier and beyond. An ideal reference point for all projects big and small!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, really helpful!, 25 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete DIY Manual (Hardcover)
We bought a house that was a complete mess, without really knowing how to sort the mess out! This book is great, lots of step by step instructions and simple guidelines on absolutely everything you would ever need to know. I would thoroughly reccommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DIY Book, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
Martyn (Newport, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete DIY Manual (Hardcover)
What a great book,Every thing you need to know to do repairs around the house your self,Bought this one for my step son as he just bought his own house,wonder if he gets the hint !(hope my wife doesnt read this)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Readers Digest DIY Manual, 15 Sept. 2009
By 
A. N. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete DIY Manual (Hardcover)
Although the issue I purchased is not totally up to date, the fundamental information is dateless and a worthy source of guides to do most jobs. Very pleased with condition of book and delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide, 6 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete DIY Manual (Hardcover)
Excellent guide, easy to follow steps big bright pictures and wrote in a very down to earth style.

Excellent as was the price would strongly recommend to anybody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... god knows what happened to it but it's a great book to have in the home for all the ..., 10 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete DIY Manual (Hardcover)
I had one of these about 35 years ago and god knows what happened to it but it's a great book to have in the home for all the tricky repair jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars They should take more care storing these second hand books, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete DIY Manual (Hardcover)
Ok it was second hand, but I was covered in dust and smelled musty. Edges a bit worn, but generally ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good information for anyone, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete DIY Manual (Hardcover)
got this version as well as the others and very good information for any body
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete DIY Manual
Complete DIY Manual by Reader's Digest (Hardcover - Feb. 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews