Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A straightforward, even humorous intorduction to being aware of now.
If you want to get an introduction to mindfulness this is the book for you.
Most readers will come to this book because they are stressed, have chronic pain or just want to see life a bit more clearly. It simply and quickly introduces some exercises to help you become aware of what is going on at the moment not what you are worrying about happening tomorrow.
And...
Published 14 months ago by AlgyF

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Condescending
I'm sorry to say that this book has such a condescending tone, it really put me off reading.

It assumes the reader finds science boring ('nerdy geek stuff alert, yawn') and is the owner of a top range smartphone (see section on being mindful of your smartphone), which is not necessarily the case. The flippant way it introduces each practice and endlessly...
Published 7 months ago by Rosemary Gamsa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought to try and answer some questions, 22 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness for Busy People: Turning from Frantic and Frazzled into Calm and Composed (Paperback)
Mindfulness had been introduced on a CBT training course I did last year and there was a "taster" session which I found quite intriguing. This book is well written - in my view - and the suggested exercises well paced. The focus is mainly on folk who are extremely busy and there was not - in my opinion - as much attention paid to the pressures that can be felt by retired or non employed folk. On balance I found it helpful and will have no problems suggesting to friends that they have a look if thought appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking book., 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An inspiring book which gave me lots of tips on how to enjoy life and to be constantly more aware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Prop For Life, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness for Busy People: Turning from Frantic and Frazzled into Calm and Composed (Paperback)
Today we all need some calm in our lives and in this book it shows us the way to find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any serious person who wishes to slow down and smell the roses!, 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a religious and can, without reservations, highly recommend this book. I have read many books on this subject but have not read such an easy and excellent modern approach. This has to be a valuable resource for all to enjoy. Well done! I loved the intrusion of the spoken word. It helped me to lean back a while and close my eyes. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good advice,ideas and exercises, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of good advice and some good new ideas [new to me anyway].

plenty of exercises to do

a bit repetitious at times but an enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, 10 Dec. 2013
This book was really easy to read as it was not full of jargon and the conversational stance made it easy to follow. Key points are highlighted and bullet pointed which really help to reinforce these ideas. Enjoyed reading this and definitely recommend it if you want a simple and straightforward self help book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness for Busy People: Turning from Frantic and Frazzled into Calm and Composed (Paperback)
Excellent book- everyone should read it and practice Mindfullness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Unbearable writing style takes away from the content, 26 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Mindfulness for Busy People: Turning from Frantic and Frazzled into Calm and Composed (Paperback)
The content isn't bad but the condescending, patronising style of writing is really off-putting. For a book that is "aimed at busy people", it has an awful lot of b***s*** to cut through to find the valuable content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy the book; don't download on Kindle, 11 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Mindfulness for Busy People: Turning from Frantic and Frazzled into Calm and Composed (Paperback)
The authors spend way too long (a couple of chapters) rambling on about what mindfulness is and they do love their bullet points but but once they actually get to the point this book is excellent so stick with it!

I also made the mistake of ordering it on Kindle, which means it is practically impossible to refer back to things. I had to write down stuff I found particularly useful. Not exactly a hardship, but I would recommend buying the book rather than downloading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and insightful, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
This review is from: Mindfulness for Busy People: Turning from Frantic and Frazzled into Calm and Composed (Paperback)
Yet another great offering from the author of 'Fear and Self-loathing in the City - A Guide to keeping Sane in the Square Mile'. As someone who is constantly frazzled, I felt this book might be the way forward to take some of the stress out of my life - I was right. Engaging from the start, this book provides practical, insightful techniques to address the causes of stress and shift the focus onto what's really important. I would highly recommend 'Mindfulness for Busy People' to anyone who wants to inject a bit of calmness to their lives. Everyone should set aside some time for this book, no matter how busy and frazzled they are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mindfulness for Busy People: Turning from Frantic and Frazzled into Calm and Composed
£8.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews