Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book and DVD are highly recommended
Installing Windows 8 for the first time, I found this book very useful as the new interface takes some getting used to, especially as often there are several ways of executing the same task. The book is very informative and makes a good reference, with plenty of colour screen shots and a comprehensive index. The book is the same 556 page Windows 8 one that is sold...
Published 19 months ago by dave e

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Still learning
I am a complete beginner so still a long way to go I can not really comment at this stage it would not be fair to the authers
Published 12 months ago by janet dale


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book and DVD are highly recommended, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD) (Brilliant Book & CD) (Paperback)
Installing Windows 8 for the first time, I found this book very useful as the new interface takes some getting used to, especially as often there are several ways of executing the same task. The book is very informative and makes a good reference, with plenty of colour screen shots and a comprehensive index. The book is the same 556 page Windows 8 one that is sold separately.Brilliant Windows 8
The accompanying DVD is really worthwhile and I learnt a lot from watching it, incidentally it will only play on a PC. It is a large series of short 3 minute segments. I had to run the included LiveLessons program to watch it which brought up a warning message from my anti-virus program (Kaspersky) which required me to trust the program! The sound on the DVD is faulty with some clips at different volume to the rest, fortunately there is a volume slider bottom right hand corner of the screen to compensate.
At the moment Amazon are selling the book and the book/DVD combo at exactly the same price, so it is a no-brainer to get the combo. The inclusion of a DVD makes this an excellent package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Directed at the less experienced user; printed in colour throughout, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD) (Brilliant Book & CD) (Paperback)
There are several book titles currently available that cover Windows 8. Many are intended either for the first-time user of Windows or those who have little prior exposure to using Windows and this is clearly one of those. This book is a variant of the title originally published in the USA as 'Windows 8 On Demand' which I had seen as a limited chapter preview and did not realise that they were essentially one. This book is for sale in the UK, Europe and a limited number of locations

Its contents are mostly arranged as task-led tutorials with an attempt to each deal with some aspect of Windows over a maximum of a two-page spread although many are single-page articles. Windows 8 Simplified is a rather similar alternative although with rather fewer pages but aimed at the same audience. As most pages are illustrated, text is kept to a moderate quantity and should be at a level for anyone to be able to use to good effect. Within its 500-plus pages, there are 18 main chapters, plus an Appendix which, within about a dozen pages, tries to talk about installing and re-installing Windows, transferring files from an earlier system and other topics that are likely to be one-off rather than day-to-day requirements. It also includes a list and brief explanation for its many new features. The Index is about as good as you would need but a Glossary is notable by its absence.

The Contents section is large and detailed for individual topics, many of which have been tagged with the suffix 'NEW'. These will indicate either something completely new or substantially changed from older systems. A confusing omission is to not always clearly refer to system programs with their current naming standards; for example Windows Explorer is now renamed to File Explorer but the usual choice of the book is simply 'Explorer'. There are sections that deal with creating and using a System Restore Disk and creating and using backups but, as with all other sections, restricting itself to using Windows' component software. Any advantage that may be gained by using third-party software is an opportunity missed as if Microsoft's solutions were those solely available or were always the ultimate and most effective options.

Within its chapters, topics such as opening and viewing the computer, downloading files from the Web, and deleting and restoring files are a few of the situations it offers and provide an initial view of its approach and lack of complexity. Missing from its topics, among others, are resolving software compatibility issues as, although many programs written for Windows 7 or earlier will run quite happily with Windows 8, there are known exceptions and some are commonly encountered. Some major problems can be caused and not all are easily solvable.

Although the book is available alone and for an identical price, it also comes with bonus DVD with around 4 hours of video tutorials. This may better suit those with limited or no prior experience of using Windows although a few parts may be of wider value to a broader user base with higher levels of prior experience. As the DVD is effectively a free extra, I would suggest buying the bundle as it offers better value.

Although it has some inherent value, its limitations may in part be attributed to a possible need to preserve the 500-page limit, which it slightly exceeds if you include its extras. If you hold the view that colour will be of advantage in making better sense of its illustrations, then this will better serve than many others. It is not a bad book but not especially outstanding, either. One thing in its favour is that it has been edited and published for a primarily UK audience and avoids too many uses of Americanisms and US references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand step by step or dive in, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD) (Brilliant Book & CD) (Paperback)
Very impressed so far learnt tips within minutes of opening book. considering laptop was £500 bookly. money worth spent. Enjoying it enormous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good guiide, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD) (Brilliant Book & CD) (Paperback)
Does the trick in assisting to help you through the initial basics then increases in difficult to instgruct in it sfull use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD) (Brilliant Book & CD) (Paperback)
One of the best instruction manuals I have ever bought. With the DVD it offers an amazingly easy course for old and young alike.
Exceptionally good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8 book and DVD., 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD) (Brilliant Book & CD) (Paperback)
Excellent package. Much needed for newcomers to the Windows 8 operating system. Especially those who have been used to previous versions of Windows. Had a very good saving from the seller. Would certainly purchase from seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Windows 8 Book & DVD, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD) (Brilliant Book & CD) (Paperback)
Bought this product as thought it was described well for someone like me who takes a while to pick up on new technology. It was ideal and explained things very well, especially the bonus of DVD, which really showed how Windows 8 is used.
Would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is new to Windows 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still learning, 14 May 2014
By 
astan (Lancs England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD) (Brilliant Book & CD) (Paperback)
good insight on how windows 8 works.Still reading the book and watching DVD,so learning as I go along.Good price and book arrived in good time.Well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very usefull book, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD) (Brilliant Book & CD) (Paperback)
I found this book a very useful tool as I learnt how to use my new Windows 8 computer. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8 made clear!!!, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD) (Brilliant Book & CD) (Paperback)
This book and cd helped me enormously. I am especially glad I bought the book which included the cd as this made it much easier for me to understand and learn the different techniques for using this new system. All in all a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD)  (Brilliant Book & CD)
Brilliant Windows 8 (Book & DVD) (Brilliant Book & CD) by J. Peter Bruzzese (Paperback - 17 Jan 2013)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews