Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful,clear and valuable, should be on every manager's and leader's reading list., 19 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Leader's Guide to Managing People: How to Use Soft Skills to Get Hard Results (Paperback)
This is a clear,accessible and well written guide. I am quite impressed by the way that the authors have condensed and crystallized current theory. This is the sort of book that would be useful to every Leader and Manager, it should be referred to frequently and would aid the busy manager dealing with change, derailment and conflict.
This book is set out in accessible chapters that deal with key topics such as: Influencing,Motivation,Team Building and Performance Management.
I wish that I had had this guide when I started out, as this book is immensely useful. I highly recommend 'The Leader's Guide to Managing People' by Fiona Dent and Michael Brent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring guide to mananging and leading people, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leader's Guide to Managing People: How to Use Soft Skills to Get Hard Results (Paperback)
As a business leader , I am very familiar with most of the topics in this book and practice them every day. However, I still learned a lot of new ideas from this book, and this encouraged me to look at things differently and really energised and inspired me.
I like the fact that there are lots of models and the book is clear, easy to follow, and kept me thinking and reflecting on what I normally do as a leader, rather than just continuing to do the same things in the same way. The authors know know their subject very well and have obvious experience of managing people and dealing with managers and leaders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Exceptionally Useful & Enlightening Guide, 12 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Leader's Guide to Managing People: How to Use Soft Skills to Get Hard Results (Paperback)
As a practising leader I have found this book exceptionally useful and I believe it was pitched at the most appropriate level. Since my initial reading of the The Leader's Guide To Managing People I have since revisited and consulted various chapters; all of which have been incredibly informative and illuminating, and the notions expressed in the guide have undoubtedly made a positive contribution to my daily work life. The author's concise and enlightening method makes the guide's practical elements easy to envision, whilst enhancing the relevance of leading a sizeable management team in today's competitive climate. I would strongly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 26 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Leader's Guide to Managing People: How to Use Soft Skills to Get Hard Results (Paperback)
As a program director for leadership development I can recommend this book to all the participants of my leadership courses! In one volume Fiona and Mike manage to cover all the essentials - sage advice on how to lead from the perspective of yourself, your people and your business. Reading this is like having a personal coach take you through your development: ideal for those looking to not only develop as leaders but develop as effective leaders! If there is one book you are going to buy on leadership, make it this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does even more than the title suggests, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
M. A. Halliwell "Maxster" (Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Leader's Guide to Managing People: How to Use Soft Skills to Get Hard Results (Paperback)
great in depth practical advice with lots of case studies and exercises to work through. I'm a middle manager and have found the book useful in not only managing people below but also influencing those more senior in organisation. A really good guide that can be dipped into in bite size chunks. Also have the first book in series a leaders guide to influence which lays the foundations to influencing skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, 27 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Leader's Guide to Managing People: How to Use Soft Skills to Get Hard Results (Paperback)
Thanks to Dent and Brent for this highly practical book, which, as the sub-title says it about using soft skills to get hard results. Managing (well) people has probably never been this hard (more demands, less resources, stretched out staff), and the authors are proposing a very credible and practical guide to thinking soft when it gets hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Leaders Guide, 22 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Leader's Guide to Managing People: How to Use Soft Skills to Get Hard Results (Paperback)
At last, a book which recognises that leadership is, in reality, a balance between leading people and managing them. The book is a great balance between the two and ranges from essential management tools to advanced people leadership skills, which I recommend you should be using with your people. A great book to dip into frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good practical guide, 27 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Leader's Guide to Managing People: How to Use Soft Skills to Get Hard Results (Paperback)
Another well structured, easy to read and practical guide from the Brent, Dent partnership. Definitely worth buying if you are looking for a good general guide to the practicalities of managing people. Provides you with an excellent toolkit of strategies and techniques for day to day people management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A guide that everyone can learn from, 20 Mar. 2014
This may be a guide geared, as the title states, for managers, but it is really a guide that every can benefit from. How you influence, coach, handle change, cope with resilience or relations with others. These are all issues that affect most working people.
It poses questions and tips that enable you to examine how you handle each of the various aspects detailed in the book, it keep the mind thinking. While there is a chapter on motivation, the book is a wonderful motivational tool.

As the book cover says, it is a book you can pick up and dip into whenever the mood takes you. However, it is the kind of book that is worth reading at some point on a regular basis because it can help you to get more out of your work - and your personal life, for that matter.

A really uplifting and beneficial read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, practical and applicable, 21 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Leader's Guide to Managing People: How to Use Soft Skills to Get Hard Results (Paperback)
This is a clear and concise guide to one of the most important jobs the leader has- managing his or her people. Well laid out, full of tips, ideas, models and examples of how to get the best out of your people, in a practical and applicable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Leader's Guide to Managing People: How to Use Soft Skills to Get Hard Results
£13.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews