Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars50
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Spiral-bound|Change
Price:£6.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2011
This handy little book sits in my pocket while on placement for easy reference when there is something i am unsure about. There are many of these handy books for all different use. This one is ideal, for the ward, gives info on abbreviations, blood counts, urine analysis, CPR, how to do a handover, how to write notes, and many more...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
I wasn't sure what to make of this wee notebook when I first opened it.

At first glance it almost seems too basic i.e. The first page you turn to has the 24 hour clock on it, the advice given when applying safe practice methods and good documentation are so obvious I think it would have been better to miss them out and save you the bother of having to flick past them.

The assessment and "what signs to look for" section is very useful and well covered. However the resuscitation section is approx right in the middle of the book so would be no use if you were in the actual "busy ward situation" that they claim the book is for.

It's a useful reference guide maybe more for first year nursing students and for brief reference further on in your career but in my opinion would be not much use on the ward for "quick reference". I would only use it for study so may as well buy a big textbook with more detail and information in it.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
Very good quality and cheaper book compared to the one you buy in the book shop.Quick delivery and reliable seller.,I highly recommend the product to any one out there who is interested.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
A handy pocket sized book, which provides nursing students with essential information. Contains quick reference information on common terminology and basic drug calculations. It also has laminated pages making it ideal for use on a ward placement. I would say more suitable for 1st year nursing students as a starting guide, or for anyone considering starting a degree in nursing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2009
This book is not only a great guide for student nurses but a great reference for the qualified nurse. Pops inside your uniform pocket too. Very handy to have when you need it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
The `Clinical Skills' 2nd Edition Nursing & Health Survival Guide is a neat, tidy and very handy book for nursing students and newly qualified staff to have whilst out in the clinical environment. It opens contains common lab test result ranges for quick reference and access to useful, up to date information. Following that, there are a number of pages covering medicine management and drug calculations.

What is great about this little pocket guide is that it uses the terminology regularly used in the clinical environment but provides examples of where it may be used such as `analgesic - taken for pain relief (e.g. paracetamol).' This helps to link theory to practice and aid easy identification of drug classes and what they are. There is a list of abbreviations and the meanings as it can be difficult to understand when unfamiliar with the terms. Though the user should however be mindful of which terms are accepted within their care setting before using them in their documentation.

Importantly, the Nursing Process is included in this guide, beneficial because it is a recognised process that should be used throughout the day to structure the care given, followed by detailed documentation of what has or has not happened. Eventually, this way of practice becomes natural and the student will find themselves using the Nursing Process more often than not.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
This book is a top book for placements! :-) It is a simple reference guide that can be carried wherever you go, a proper pocket guide.

The seller go this to me in prompt time, so I would recommend this seller to all.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Very handy little book which will come in really handy for me on placement (as a student nurse). Pocket size with plenty of important information to keep my skills refreshed. Delivery was very quick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Love this little book
as a student nurse this book is quick and easy to use
fits neatly into uniform pocket and is easily wiped clean
would and have recommend to fellow students
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
this is a great little book, will fit into your pocket & it is wipe clean so won't mark or rip, it also give you good clear instructionson what to look for whilst on placements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)