Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Quantitiative Techniques for Business and Econmocis module
It explains all the concepts needed to pass the exam and develop knowledge on this module. With the help of the lecturer you will excel in the exam.
Published 1 month ago by Stef

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good explanations but lots of typos.
The book has lots of example exercises with very good step-by-step explanations but this edition (unlike the previous ones) is marred with typos and the register of solutions at the end seems to have just been copied and pasted from the previous edition even though some of the questions were changed. This can be a real problem if you are insecure about maths anyway. You...
Published 20 months ago by S.Reissl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good explanations but lots of typos., 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
The book has lots of example exercises with very good step-by-step explanations but this edition (unlike the previous ones) is marred with typos and the register of solutions at the end seems to have just been copied and pasted from the previous edition even though some of the questions were changed. This can be a real problem if you are insecure about maths anyway. You will end up trying and trying to solve an exercise and in the end it will turn out that not your solution, but the one provided at the end of the book is wrong. I would recommend one of the older editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of mistakes, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
The answers for the practice questions in this book do not match up to the questions asked. When back tracking I have worked out that minus signs have been randomly added or dropped very often. This makes it very unhelpful when revising as when checking an answer you have to consider the strong possibility that the answer in the book is wrong. This is unacceptable for a book of this price and would recommend buying another option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Typos Galore, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
Whilst there is good explanation and clear presentation, a LOT of typos.. Something VERY unhelpful in a maths textbook with applications you're unfamilar with. I thought I was going crazy and misreading economic notation but glad to see that others are having the same problem. Simply unacceptable for a textbook this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Quantitiative Techniques for Business and Econmocis module, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
It explains all the concepts needed to pass the exam and develop knowledge on this module. With the help of the lecturer you will excel in the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Maths Review, 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
I have been using this book for my degree course (first year) and have found some very important errors within the book. such as formulas are written the wrong way round, so the right answer can be is impossible to find if you are learning these methods for the first time. Also some of the practice questions have the wrong answers.
By version 7 of the book you would have thought most errors had been eliminated by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Book is magnificent, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
The book covers everything that was needed to be cover in our module. The book is easy to understand with a lot of examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
Well, it was my textbook, I had no option. But it is good, comprehensive. "Written for an idiot" quote my friend. Which is a good thing, meaning that it gives you full explanations every step of the way. And it integrates economics into mathematics, which is important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
Great Mathematics book! I am using it for economics and I have to say it's very simply and straight forwardly explained! If anyone has troubles or is not confident in mathematics, this book is the answer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mathematics for Economics and Business
Mathematics for Economics and Business by Mr Ian Jacques (Paperback - 22 Aug 2012)
45.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews