Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and concise for those needing help with maths for ...
Excellent and concise for those needing help with maths for economics I use it as part of my economics degree and it's been superb so far. It gives examples explaining them step by step and has end of chapter questions to test your understanding with the questions marked * for those willing to challenge themselves. Recommended.
Published 5 months ago by shahzaib

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good explanations but lots of typos.
The book has lots of example exercises with very good step-by-step explanations but this edition (unlike the previous ones) is marred with typos and the register of solutions at the end seems to have just been copied and pasted from the previous edition even though some of the questions were changed. This can be a real problem if you are insecure about maths anyway. You...
Published on 13 Nov. 2012 by S.Reissl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good explanations but lots of typos., 13 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
The book has lots of example exercises with very good step-by-step explanations but this edition (unlike the previous ones) is marred with typos and the register of solutions at the end seems to have just been copied and pasted from the previous edition even though some of the questions were changed. This can be a real problem if you are insecure about maths anyway. You will end up trying and trying to solve an exercise and in the end it will turn out that not your solution, but the one provided at the end of the book is wrong. I would recommend one of the older editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of mistakes, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
The answers for the practice questions in this book do not match up to the questions asked. When back tracking I have worked out that minus signs have been randomly added or dropped very often. This makes it very unhelpful when revising as when checking an answer you have to consider the strong possibility that the answer in the book is wrong. This is unacceptable for a book of this price and would recommend buying another option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Typos Galore, 4 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
Whilst there is good explanation and clear presentation, a LOT of typos.. Something VERY unhelpful in a maths textbook with applications you're unfamilar with. I thought I was going crazy and misreading economic notation but glad to see that others are having the same problem. Simply unacceptable for a textbook this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maths Review, 15 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
I have been using this book for my degree course (first year) and have found some very important errors within the book. such as formulas are written the wrong way round, so the right answer can be is impossible to find if you are learning these methods for the first time. Also some of the practice questions have the wrong answers.
By version 7 of the book you would have thought most errors had been eliminated by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So close but yet so far, 11 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
Concepts are explained well and are useful for all ability levels.
While it may be deemed 'over simplistic' the simplified explanation of techniques leaves no potential for not understanding.

Why 3 stars?
Far too many of the answers in the back of the book are missing a minus sign etc. seemingly through carelessness.
This throws you off a little until you realise you can calculated the problems better than the person writing the answers and decide not to bother looking at them defeating the point of an answers section.

5/5 for explanation 1/5 for answers

Conclusion:
Get the book for explanations and another for questions or just don't bother getting it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and concise for those needing help with maths for ..., 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
Excellent and concise for those needing help with maths for economics I use it as part of my economics degree and it's been superb so far. It gives examples explaining them step by step and has end of chapter questions to test your understanding with the questions marked * for those willing to challenge themselves. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
Well, it was my textbook, I had no option. But it is good, comprehensive. "Written for an idiot" quote my friend. Which is a good thing, meaning that it gives you full explanations every step of the way. And it integrates economics into mathematics, which is important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
Great Mathematics book! I am using it for economics and I have to say it's very simply and straight forwardly explained! If anyone has troubles or is not confident in mathematics, this book is the answer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's also easy to read and understand, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
I'm so happpy for this book, the topics are very well explained with lots of examples, it's also easy to read and understand. I recomend this book to to anyone who is studying economics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Book is magnificent, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for Economics and Business (Paperback)
The book covers everything that was needed to be cover in our module. The book is easy to understand with a lot of examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mathematics for Economics and Business
Mathematics for Economics and Business by Mr Ian Jacques (Paperback - 22 Aug. 2012)
£42.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews