Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to Derivatives
As I will be working with derivatives soon, I wanted to read a book that gives an overview of the relevant books. This book is exactly what I was looking for. It discusses the instruments with just the right amount of mathematical detail and provides many examples so readers can make sure that they have understood the topic. I also like the fact that each chapter provides...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by Daniel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars different hardcover
The hardcover was different from the image provided. Probably is a different edition. Book is in good condition as it's an Indian edition.
Published 4 months ago by Federico Messina


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to Derivatives, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
As I will be working with derivatives soon, I wanted to read a book that gives an overview of the relevant books. This book is exactly what I was looking for. It discusses the instruments with just the right amount of mathematical detail and provides many examples so readers can make sure that they have understood the topic. I also like the fact that each chapter provides a list for further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misprint of pages and old software, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
It was a dissappointing experience to find out that the section for Variance Swaps and VIX was misprinted.

If the 8th edition should complete the recent updates as J. Hull is referring to, I think it is in the interest of the audience to see that upgrading also applies to the software to go with the book. Particularly, for Mac users who happen to have the Office applications updated on their machine will not be able to make use of the Excel GeoDeriv CD-Rom. Software does not run the macros!

Otherwise, the content of the book is a great guidance to what the cover stands for; even for readers who do not have pre-learning experience in financial maths. All stars for the content and the author. Remaining is to the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
The context in this book is in detailed. It is very useful for my final exam and the quantity of book is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's an indian edition, lots of indian examples. Though it wont affect reading. Valuable anyway., 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
It's an indian edition, lots of indian examples. Though it wont affect reading. Other aspects are perfect . Valuable anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars different hardcover, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
The hardcover was different from the image provided. Probably is a different edition. Book is in good condition as it's an Indian edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars that's what I want, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
This book is almost brand new and it has such a good price
I am very satisfied with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very new, great value., 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
The book is very new. It is very useful for me to learn by myeselves after class. Really great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing a used copy, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
Well, its in an acceptable condition. It was an Indian peninsula edition, the cd was unused. I am happy with it except the paper quality which is due its original printing I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
The contents are excellent and this book is suitable for graduate and postgraduate students study independently. Highly recommend! Good quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books in the market, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
Book: Excellent, 5 stars
Packing and Cover: 2 stars

I have worked through the book previously. I therefore knew the content and quality. It is an excellent book. The treatment of derivatives are appropriate. Personally, I thought there isn't a great deal of mathematical treatment, which may help the readers, who are not mathematically extensively inclined.

Packing and covers: I should have opened the packing, in time, to check for any damages. It was too late to return and seek a replacement as the back cover and binding sides of the book are damaged and torn. It is not a big deal, though I would have still loved a replacement. I would expect the seller/amazon to exercise care while packing and sending paperback books. Perhaps, amazon/sellers may want to consider entertaining replacement requests for an extended period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Options, Futures and Other Derivatives
Options, Futures and Other Derivatives by John Hull (Paperback - 21 April 2011)
70.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews