Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to Derivatives
As I will be working with derivatives soon, I wanted to read a book that gives an overview of the relevant books. This book is exactly what I was looking for. It discusses the instruments with just the right amount of mathematical detail and provides many examples so readers can make sure that they have understood the topic. I also like the fact that each chapter provides...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by Daniel

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy Kindle Edition - Forbidden From Reading On Most Devices
Bought the Kindle edition, but have been unable to read it yet because for some bizarre reason the author chose to limit the type of devices this book could be read on. So no IPhone, No Android, and no Kindle Cloud reader (the only 3 devices Im allowed to use at work).
This makes this purchase an extraordinary failure, despite my desperate need to read this book...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. D. C. Chalk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to Derivatives, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
As I will be working with derivatives soon, I wanted to read a book that gives an overview of the relevant books. This book is exactly what I was looking for. It discusses the instruments with just the right amount of mathematical detail and provides many examples so readers can make sure that they have understood the topic. I also like the fact that each chapter provides a list for further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good condition, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
Thank you for the expedient service. Book was as advertised. Good condition. Used for a course I am taking and fulfilled my expectations. Some of the methods in the book are a bit different than those normally used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misprint of pages and old software, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
It was a dissappointing experience to find out that the section for Variance Swaps and VIX was misprinted.

If the 8th edition should complete the recent updates as J. Hull is referring to, I think it is in the interest of the audience to see that upgrading also applies to the software to go with the book. Particularly, for Mac users who happen to have the Office applications updated on their machine will not be able to make use of the Excel GeoDeriv CD-Rom. Software does not run the macros!

Otherwise, the content of the book is a great guidance to what the cover stands for; even for readers who do not have pre-learning experience in financial maths. All stars for the content and the author. Remaining is to the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing a used copy, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
Well, its in an acceptable condition. It was an Indian peninsula edition, the cd was unused. I am happy with it except the paper quality which is due its original printing I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good... for everybody, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
I'm a finance post-degree student and have found this book very, very helpful. It's easy to understand all the concepts, it's very well written and accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful books for beginners about derivatives, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
It is a very helpful book for a beginner who wants to study financial markets and financial derivatives, especially for preparing CFA examination
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
The contents are excellent and this book is suitable for graduate and postgraduate students study independently. Highly recommend! Good quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most celebrated text book of derivative, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
This book is the most widely used of introductory book on derivative, but sometimes I found the language is very consice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy Kindle Edition - Forbidden From Reading On Most Devices, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the Kindle edition, but have been unable to read it yet because for some bizarre reason the author chose to limit the type of devices this book could be read on. So no IPhone, No Android, and no Kindle Cloud reader (the only 3 devices Im allowed to use at work).
This makes this purchase an extraordinary failure, despite my desperate need to read this book (necessary reading in my new contract)
Bad, silly inconsiderate author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The book is very useful for people starting their career in financial derivatives and ..., 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Options, Futures and Other Derivatives (Paperback)
Mostly everything is explained well, there are many examples and exercises. Unfortunately, there is not enough information for the DerivaGem software. The book is very useful for people starting their career in financial derivatives and financial instruments. I recieved the book in perfect condition, including the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Options, Futures and Other Derivatives
Options, Futures and Other Derivatives by John Hull (Paperback - 21 April 2011)
£66.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews