Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Well written and concise, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Key Business Solutions: Essential Problem-Solving Tools and Techniques That Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
I have read quite a few 'business solutions' style books over the years and found this one a very welcome addition to the genre. It is an extremely well written text and the examples are clear and well thought out. The author does not try to over complicate his subject and this makes the book very readable. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book with helpful case-study examples, 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: Key Business Solutions: Essential Problem-Solving Tools and Techniques That Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
This book takes the reader on a step-by-step journey through key business problems, providing realistic and manageable solutions. I found the case-study on page 16 particularly useful in approaching my own problems and the case-study examples throughout the book make what is is often thought of as dull-reading material, come to life and seem relevant. A. Weiss's writing style is clear and concise, ensuring that only relevant information is included. This excellent book provides clear guidance but also allows for individualised applications and creative approaches to business problems. An easy-read for those starting a career in business and also those who are at an established point in their career. A great investment and requiired addition to any business library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uniquely comprehensive and readable guide to solving business problems, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Key Business Solutions: Essential Problem-Solving Tools and Techniques That Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
"I found this book incredibly helpful, and remarkably readable. Firstly, it acts as guide for how to solve business problems. As a management consultant, this is the bread and butter of my job, but many of the tools and techniques covered here are new and really useful and I've already begun using them on a daily basis. Secondly, the book is a reference guide for some common, others not so common, business tools. They're really clearly explained with great case studies and examples. I don't know of any other books quite like this, and so I think Key Business Solutions fills an important gap in the business book market for a clear guide on problem-solving.

I strongly recommend this as reading for anyone working in or interested in management."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, powerful tools for solving business problems, 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: Key Business Solutions: Essential Problem-Solving Tools and Techniques That Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
If you've ever been called into your boss's office - or are ever likely to be so summoned - and given a knotty business problem to solve (increase profitability in the North-East, reduce the number of breakdowns on the production line, improve the conversion rate of the sales-team, offset the impact of raw material price rises on contribution, improve customer satisfaction levels ) then this book is for you. It's particularly for you if your reaction has been to smile reassuringly to your boss whilst inside you're screaming "OMG! Where do I start?"

"Key Business Solutions" will give you excellent ideas not only on exactly where to start but on how to manage the whole operation and solve the most intractable problem. With ineluctable logic, it proposes a range of simple yet powerful analytical tools for interrogating the data until it begs for mercy, processes for coming up with creative and relevant solutions for fixing the problem and ideas for selling those solutions to all of the key stakeholders.

The peerless logic of the tools is matched by the peerless logic of the writing. The book takes you step by step through the whole problem-solving process. Your boss will wonder why last year he paid a top strategy consultancy 20 times your annual salary to solve a similar problem. He'll tell his boss what a great job you both did. You may even get a job offer yourself from a top consultancy at 3 times your current salary. That's not a bad return for an initial outlay of around 15.00! Do the maths and buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and informative read., 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Business Solutions: Essential Problem-Solving Tools and Techniques That Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
After years of avoiding reading business solutions style books, I finally decided to give this to try and I am glad that I did. I found it both concise and informative and easy to apply to the challenges that I face each day in my career. I would recommend this book to all people, from those who run their own business to those who work for bigger organisations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for business problem solving, 15 April 2012
This review is from: Key Business Solutions: Essential Problem-Solving Tools and Techniques That Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
A great book to have at your disposal when approaching a problem and wanting a framework in which to solve it. The author has produced a well written book that is worthy of recognition - a future classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and applicable management tools, 12 April 2012
This review is from: Key Business Solutions: Essential Problem-Solving Tools and Techniques That Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
Working as an NHS manager I have found this book extremely useful in providing insight into business tools that can be used to solve some of the really complex challenges faced in healthcare. The tools and advice apply equally to healthcare as to profit driven business. I have found it useful both as a guide to be read through in full to inform the approach to solving management problems, but also, perhaps more valuably as a resource to dip into periodically for the day to day operational challenges of management. It's a book I keep in my bag at all times! It is set out in such a way that you can jump to a particular section to revisit a tool that may be useful in unpicking a problem or as a quick refresher before running a workshop or meeting.

The book has really complemented the training and development I have undertaken as part of the NHS graduate management training scheme.

I would highly recommend it as a book that you will genuinely use to inform your management practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Key Business solutions - good back up guide, 1 Dec 2011
This review is from: Key Business Solutions: Essential Problem-Solving Tools and Techniques That Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
what i really like is the effort thats gone in to showing you how to apply things in a practical way, often an area missing in most books.
If your buying this to back up existing business knowledge then its a good book, it gives some good tips on applying basic business models but you do still need some wider business background to use them successfully - worthy of putting in your personal library.Key Business Solutions: Essential Problem-solving Tools and Techniques That Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent structured approach to problem solving, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: Key Business Solutions: Essential Problem-Solving Tools and Techniques That Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
This book provides well structured approaches to solve a variety of problems. It makes clear where each model is best applied and breaks the methodologies down in such as a way as to ensure there ease of application. Rather than a paint by numbers approach to problem solving, relying on rigid right and wrong approaches, Mr. Weiss's excellent book allows you to make the most out of your own analytical and creative skills. By providing a clear methodolgy, and importantly by rigorously explaining the logic behind his techniques, Mr. Weiss provides the businessman or consultant a way to use their own talents whilst ensuring they approach their own particular business challenges comprehensively. This is the art of a great business book that Mr. Weiss has delivered in spades. Furthermore, he does not rely on a single approach. Different problems obviouslt require different solutions, but they also require different ways of structuring an approach to reach the right answer. Mr. Weiss's book recognises this and provides a number of insightful models. These provide the right building blocks for those new to this type of work and approach, but are nuanced enough to provide value to even the most seasoned businessman.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive handbook to problem solving and business challenges, 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: Key Business Solutions: Essential Problem-Solving Tools and Techniques That Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
The book introduces the author's own problem-solving methodology, but also includes an extensive reference section explaining a variety of commonly-used business concepts and frameworks. Chapters are set out clearly and cogently with helpful examples applicable to real-life situations; as someone who runs a busy office and has to work with a wide range of organisations, I found the sections on managing teams and engaging with stakeholders particularly insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6500e70)

This product

Only search this product's reviews