Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for the practising manager, 6 Jan 2010
Few if any writers get close to what managing is really about as Mintzberg does in this book. If you are looking for an insight into the "real world" of the manager, this book is worth reading.

The thoughtful and considered way that the author gets his points across is a contrast to the analytical style/MBA orientation of Business schools. For example he devotes space to dealing with the performance management culture, so dominant over the past 10-12 years, and its drawbacks.

Mintzberg sets out a comprehensive model of management practices. His model describes three planes that represent where managing takes place, these are:

* The information plane.

* The people plane.

* The action plane.

The last chapter - "managing effectively" brings together a lot of good quality material, from the book into a framework for management effectiveness. (Page 200) This provides a guide that you can apply in your existing or future contexts.

This framework is the basis for the " International Masters in Practising Management." If I was able to have my time again, I would certainly attend this programme.

I have personally - extensively used Mintzbergs work/ideas, for example in designing and running a wide range of management short courses and management development/qualification programmes, for large numbers of managers. I found that delegates, gave the application of his ideas/approach to their own situations a very positive reception.

This book revisits his original work - "The nature of managerial work" - 1973 - which a lot of people, believe has withstood the passage of time and is still very relevant today. This update of his earliar material, is based on a sample of 29 managers. Mintzberg has used this to produce some excellent insights, of great value to the reader. My only criticism is that the study/sampling exercise took place some years ago. The author could have done a further, more recent piece of work to update this. However this does not really detract from a very good approach which has some really profound insights.

Think about it, current and recent experience, so loved by recruiters, is not always the best eg RBS/Merchant Bank failures. This guys work is going to stand the test of time, as it has done for 3-4 decades. Next time you buy a "quick fix" management book, why not read this at the same time. You might shift your views of what actually works!

The content of the book has many points that provide reasons for buying it eg:

* The Inescapable Conumdrums of Managing - chapter five. Table 5.1 sets them out. Most people know that managing is full of tensions and competing pressures. This chapter really gets into this difficult area and is fascinating stuff. It is worth buying the book for this chapter alone.

* The questions for "self study" (page 211) are a very powerful tool to enhance your performance as a manager.

* The layout of the book itself is useful for the reader, in that key points are highlighted in bold text. This helps those under time pressure, to quickly focus on what is important to them. It also provides for speedy review of key points, after you have finished the book.

I would highlight that from Mintzbergs study of 29 practising managers the one factor that stands out as being the most influential is the the Organizational context (eg effective Organizational design.) See page 100. This covers things such as the form of organization and age, stage of development, size in terms of of its impact on managers. For more on this subject, which is key to organizational success, but neglected by academics/consultants, see my reviews of:

- Designing dynamic organizations.

- Designing your organization.

In summary - effective management is more complex than many writers put forward in their work. Mintzberg breaks down the subject in a way that I think you will find helpful. If you are looking for a more straight forward/ simple style of getting things done at the expense of more depth/insight try:

* Simply Effective - how to cut through complexity in your organization and get things done. By Ron Ashkenas. Harvard Business Press 2010.

This book would appeal to those who find Mintzbergs book a little "vague" to quote the only more negative review I found on the US Amazon website.

Stan Felstead - Interchange Resources - UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scholarly report on managing, 8 Feb 2010
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Managing (Hardcover)
Managing, believes scholar Henry Mintzberg, is different from leading. To study which skills are essential to good management, Mintzberg spent an entire day one-on-one with 29 managers from different kinds of organizations and from different sectors - including banking, retail, filmmaking, government, nonprofits and healthcare. Mintzberg looked at managers who worked in the executive suites as well as on the front lines. He learned that although managers differ considerably in their activities, the skills they need are surprisingly similar. Although quite general and not entirely new, getAbstract recommends this comprehensive guide to managers, executive placement experts, consultants, students and others who wish to get back to basics and to develop the traits essential to becoming an effective, able manager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i bought several copies, 30 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
you're in management - at any level - you need to read this book. You want to have something new to say to your staff, to your colleagues, to your partner - read this book. you like to have an arguement late at night with your mates about work and the hell your boss puts you through - read this book. you wake up not knowing what it is you do when you go to work, you think no one understands you, no one loves you, that your job is pointless and you can't articulate what it is that you don't do, why no one understands you and just how pointless your job is? read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Managing by Henry Mintzberg, 21 Feb 2011
By 
D. B. Lloyd "Bruce Lloyd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mintzberg is one the leading global authorities on management. (If not the global authority.) Originally he undertook a doctoral thesis (in 1973) on The Nature of Managerial Work; and he has continued his original and pro-active research into managing and strategy over the past decades, with a prolific list of readable and relevant publications to his name. This book brings together that vast experience.

This book is structured around a study of the context and approaches of 29 managers undertaken at their places of work, building on his previous work in the area. He has a remarkable way of combining practical observation with theoretical underpinning and the result is a remarkably insightful survey of the realities of managing in the world of today. (Although, at times, perhaps not critical enough about what is happening in practice and why?)

The final chapters consider the challenging of managing, outlining his preferred route to the development of management skills being through exchanging, and reflecting on, sharing experiences rather than by traditional `chalk and talk' and case-study teaching. (A combination of the two can be useful too?) Again this is a combination of practice and theory, which he has implemented as well as written about.

This is a very well presented book, by a generally accepted world authority, that allows readers to focus on the key points through high-lighted sections. His approach is rigorous (in many ways academic but very readable) and well supported by notes, bibliography and a useful index. (Two reservations would be that we increasingly need an even greater emphasis on a global perspective and even greater attention to the role and importance of values.)

Overall this is a classic for practicing managers almost all of whom would benefit enormously from reading it. I believe it was a well deserved overall winner of the Chartered Management Institute's Management 'Book of the Year'; in addition it won the Practising Manager category.

Dr Bruce Lloyd
Emeritus Professor of Strategic Management
London South Bank University
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can't help but like this book!, 29 Oct 2010
By 
I can't help but like this book. Mintzberg has original and helpful views on all sorts of aspects of management. He has an easy and engaging style of making sometimes quite profound points. But there is always a light hearted touch lurking below serious points. I have no doubt that this is an important book for anyone interested in management.

The main drawback is that this is written from the viewpoint of an academic studying management, rather than a practising manager. I have no problem with that in principle - but the sample size used to base his opinions is very small (a few days with a few managers). Any practising manager who has worked for several companies will have a significantly larger sample of experience to draw on. Nevertheless, he does draw many original insights which are counter to much of prevailing wisdom on management - and they are, in my opinion, right. Another advantage is the lack of US bias which so many management books suffer from. (I have no problem with using US examples, but not only US examples).

The book starts very well, although I do not think it holds attention all the way to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for a broad view of managing, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
Well written and illustrated, each chapter faces different issues related to the job of management, that is basically a practice and not something you can learn in class rooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Allan Kelly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
I read this 2 or 3 years ago and I keep referring to it. About time I reread it.

There is a lot of discussion around what manager do, or what people think they do, and what they don't do, and what people think they shouldn't do. This book shows that what people think managers do can be very different from what they actually do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
Brilliant book ! Everything what good manager should know and what should use in their work. Fantastic compendium of management subject!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
Mintzberg master piece. I absolutely enjoyed reading this book. It is a very insightful piece of work. I recommend it for all managers and non-managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
thanks it met my expectations. I will look out for other purchases later in the future. hoping for more great reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b42960)

This product

Managing (Financial Times Series)
Managing (Financial Times Series) by Henry Mintzberg (Paperback - 17 Feb 2011)
15.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews