Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retail common sense
Have just bought the new edition of this book and I wish I had read the previous editions sooner. It is full of those things that are common sense but are often not present in the retail trade (for example 'praise people if they do well')I would think that If you are thinking of setting up on your own this book would give you confidence to do that, as well as giving...
Published on 7 Jun 2011 by Mrs. J. E. Bowden

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Americanised
Don't be fooled in to believing that this is usefull to small business owners it is Americanised and aimed at big business which probably dont buy these books. Most of the good reviews are from fellow authors, they review each others books.
Published on 24 July 2012 by Steveb99


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retail common sense, 7 Jun 2011
By 
Mrs. J. E. Bowden (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smart Retail: Practical Winning Ideas and Strategies from the Most Successful Retailers in the World (Paperback)
Have just bought the new edition of this book and I wish I had read the previous editions sooner. It is full of those things that are common sense but are often not present in the retail trade (for example 'praise people if they do well')I would think that If you are thinking of setting up on your own this book would give you confidence to do that, as well as giving confidence to employees to try new things. The retail world would be a better place if everyone-including customers-read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retail Must Have, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Retail: Practical Winning Ideas and Strategies from the Most Successful Retailers in the World (Paperback)
I came across this book while trying as I might to come to retail as a new-comer. piles of books on the subject but this one I couldn't put down, Richard's candid style and enthusiasm shines through and it's infectious. What Richard so clearly demonstrates is that retail really is about simple things executed well, so much is written on the complexities of retail that fundamentally makes the subject feel like rocket science and intimidates many of those who could potentially be the next big IKEA or ASOS. There's no big secret, or highly complex formula, just simple concepts that result in big improvements. Above all, Richard's book is fun to read, mines heavily annotated, dog-eared and generally to-hand for inspiration. A must have for everyone at all levels in retail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read for any Retailer, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Retail: Practical Winning Ideas and Strategies from the Most Successful Retailers in the World (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book for any retailer or anyone who is interested in retailing.
Full of Case Studies, information and practical advice for all levels, this inspiring book will reignite your passion for retail.
Max
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No-nonsense approach, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was recommended reading for a course - and the only one from the list I actually read. I'm very glad I did as I found it very useful. The author obviously knows the subject well - from experience as well as in theory - and gives the information in a no-nonsense and entertaining way. And I got good feedback on the assignment too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest or progression in retail, I made pages of notes from all the tips and ideas given and will defiantly be putting these into practice in my new role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart Retail - Smart Buy, Smart Read, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Retail: Practical Winning Ideas and Strategies from the Most Successful Retailers in the World (Paperback)
Thank you for writing "Smart Retail", it's a great read and confirms many of the ways I think and run our retail department, my copy of the book is full of pencil marks, underlining and comments, "fantastic".
This book will help everyone new or old working within the retail industry regardless of your sector or position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST READ for Retailers!!!, 12 Jan 2013
This review is from: Smart Retail: Practical Winning Ideas and Strategies from the Most Successful Retailers in the World (Paperback)
Smart Retail is a MUST READ for Retailers!!! Particularly in the current retail climate, Richard Hammond explains how to tweak the fundamental components that make up a success retail outlet. I would stress to all Retailers that if you want to turn your business into a profitable success, you certainly need to listen to the articulate words in this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Chris Beards (isle of man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smart Retail: Practical Winning Ideas and Strategies from the Most Successful Retailers in the World (Paperback)
Enjoyable and practical this is an excellent book that should be required reading for anyone serious about improving in retail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring stuff, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Retail: Practical Winning Ideas and Strategies from the Most Successful Retailers in the World (Paperback)
Really enjoyed reading this. Very clearly written, very engaging but above all found it inspiring. Included lots of great examples of success from around the world that made me think differently about retail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Americanised, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Retail: Practical Winning Ideas and Strategies from the Most Successful Retailers in the World (Paperback)
Don't be fooled in to believing that this is usefull to small business owners it is Americanised and aimed at big business which probably dont buy these books. Most of the good reviews are from fellow authors, they review each others books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews