Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Excellent for trainee Headteachers or aspirants for NPQH. Very readable and not too weighty. Top tips are great. Set out in chapters, which refer to different roles of Headteacher.
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by Sarah

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A book full of rubbish
I also must admit that I have worked for this 'brilliant head' once before and must agree with the other review 100%.

The author has pretty much told his story of how he turned a school in special measures into a satisfactory school with good elements. He fails to mention however that he lets go of the outstanding teachers who have had a positive effect on the...
Published on 5 Jun 2011 by knowthetruth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Brilliant Head Teacher: What You Need to Know to be a Truly Outstanding Head Teacher (Brilliant Teacher) (Paperback)
Excellent for trainee Headteachers or aspirants for NPQH. Very readable and not too weighty. Top tips are great. Set out in chapters, which refer to different roles of Headteacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously...., 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Brilliant Head Teacher: What You Need to Know to be a Truly Outstanding Head Teacher (Brilliant Teacher) (Paperback)
In response to anon (Seriously... 16 July 2011) Although admittedly I have never worked for Iain Erskine, I have read this book, heard a lot about him, and seen him talk. The book is very well written, covers a lot of topics and draws upon years of experience to create a valuable guide to teachers and prospective heads. At no point in the book does he claim to be a brilliant head teacher, does one exist? From what I can gather he has led a school previously in special measures to be a successful school. He has been a forerunner in the concept of a creative curriculum and has almost universal respect from other Peterborough based heads and people in the local authority.
If, as I expect, you are bitterly and immaturely reflecting upon a bad experience working for him to leave the aforementioned comment then I feel that this is a spiteful and embarrassing attempt at sabotaging the success of a well written, valuable resource. I encourage all to ignore the other review, Brilliant Head Teacher follows in the manner of the other 'Brilliant' books I have read in providing an easy to read enjoyable synopsis of the topic covered. A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: Brilliant Head Teacher: What You Need to Know to be a Truly Outstanding Head Teacher (Brilliant Teacher) (Paperback)
Looking at moving into more senior roles within school? Not just becoming a head teacher, but deputy, head of year, subject co-ordinator - this book has excellent ideas, tips and very practical, real and first hand stories. This is written in a way that is very easy to read and broken down into the areas of leadership. It pulls in ideas from other authors and leading educators along the way. A fantastic book, whatever role you have in school (Primary or secondary.) Would definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING!, 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: Brilliant Head Teacher: What You Need to Know to be a Truly Outstanding Head Teacher (Brilliant Teacher) (Paperback)
On the 1st and 2nd of March 2012, under the new tougher Ofsted framework, Fulbridge School received the following judgements:
Achievement of pupils - Outstanding!
Quality of teaching - Outstanding!
Behaviour and safety of pupils - Outstanding!
Leadership and management - Outstanding!
Overall effectiveness - Outstanding!
Quote from Ofsted report 'The Headteacher demonstrates highly skilled, committed professional leadership. His drive, vision and proactive approach have promoted a clear, common sense of purpose across the school and built a strong staff who work together extremely well.'
Therefore I strongly believe, the author Iain Erskine, is an entirely appropriate person to have written this book. Brilliant Headteacher, is of value to all aspiring and current headteachers, in pursuit of increasing their knowledge about headship. It is written in a very readable style and does not over complicate the issues it addresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my kind of book, 1 Dec 2012
By 
J. Tattershall "jackie" (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Head Teacher: What You Need to Know to be a Truly Outstanding Head Teacher (Brilliant Teacher) (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me prepare for my first interview for headship. It is brilliant, not a book to dip into, rather to read from cover to cover. I like how it relates the content to the actual experience of the author. Helped me to prepare and I am sure it will help me when I take up the post.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A book full of rubbish, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: Brilliant Head Teacher: What You Need to Know to be a Truly Outstanding Head Teacher (Brilliant Teacher) (Paperback)
I also must admit that I have worked for this 'brilliant head' once before and must agree with the other review 100%.

The author has pretty much told his story of how he turned a school in special measures into a satisfactory school with good elements. He fails to mention however that he lets go of the outstanding teachers who have had a positive effect on the children's learning, because one way or another, these teachers fight for what is right, and that puts you in the heads 'black list' as quoted from the previous review.

I would recommend the book to anyone doing a university assignment as some of the quotes used in the book are valuable (as they are from official sources). I wouldn't take anything else literaly from this book.
I can think of better heads who could have written a more truthful book. The school in itself would be a truly wonderful place to work should the staff not feel intimidated all the time.

Mr.Staples... I wouldn't recommend you applying for a job at this school. A head with so much power can destroy you and everything you ever believed in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seriously...., 16 July 2011
This review is from: Brilliant Head Teacher: What You Need to Know to be a Truly Outstanding Head Teacher (Brilliant Teacher) (Paperback)
If you believe what is written in this book then you need to rethink your career. Having experienced the author first hand it is a shame that he has chosen such an ironic title for his first book. Not a brilliant head, certainly not 'truly outstanding' by any stretch of the imagination...with a school full of staff who are scared to voice their opinions of fear of being black listed, and a marginal satisfactory ofsted, surely this book has to be discarded by any serious contender for headship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews