Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2010
In business it is particularly useful to have updated editions of books, as however solid the core thinking it is always enlightening and constructive to have more contemporary case studies. With books written by academics, also, one likes to benefit from their new research and thinking. This third edition of The New Business Road Test provides just that.

The seven domains model which is at the heart of TNBRT is also slightly updated, as is the particularly useful Industry Analysis Checklist. These two elements translate exactly into something that anyone thinking of writing a business plan can - and should -immediately do, which makes this book an immensely practical toolkit as well as illuminating. One concern when buying books about business start-ups is whether they will be relevant to the business, industry, market or model that you have in mind. TNBRT is relevant to any business, from the home sideline to the next Google.

I also recommended NBRT to my brother, who is currently writing a business plan for a start up in Japan. His thoughts - "The Business Road Test is a superstar of a book. I went out and bought 3 copies of the book in Japanese and gave them to my main advisors. They are big fans of the book now and have been buying it for other businesses that they are backing/ starting! Thank you!"
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2010
Very interesting and helpful book to make sure all main aspects of new business opportunity are covered. Before jumping into business creation I believe this book definitely provides a very good reality check, for example, if the business idea you plan to pursue is really for you, matches your aims and whether you have thought of all main aspects, such as future market and industry prospects, etc. The book also is very easy and pleasant to read and provides many interesting, inspiring, practical examples. Therefore a definite must have to anyone who plans to pursue any business opportunity.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
Solid advice from someone who has actually been an entrepreneur and is also a Business School academic.
It is geared towards bigger start-ups but is extremely useful for anyone thinking of starting a business.
There is a little bit of repetition and some of the case studies might be mainly based on the power of hindsight.
Unlike the vast majority of books in this area it doesn't just consist of simplistic common sense advice that you already know
The check lists and templates in the book are incredibly useful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
Excellent worksheets - A must read for anyone about to approach potential clients and formulate a business plan.
Great Text Boxes with clear outline, and "to do" list
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2012
Youve all seen a Dragons Den episode where one well placed question from the Dragons completely destroys the entrepreneurs business and presentation. All that pain could have been avoided if they had just read this book. Its highly readable (though slight academic in tone which might put some people off) and packed with examples and case studies to illustrate points made. What I take from this book is that when people get a business idea into their heads their vision narrows and they forget to consider or simply ignore the wider context into which their business will develop. This book lays out that wider context and uses examples from both SMEs (small to medium sized businesses) and corporate business to highlight certain issues that need to be kept in mind. Apart from the slightly "business school" tone I have aleady mentioned my only other negative comment is the fact that I believe too many of the examples are from larger more corporate type companies and that more SME examples would have been better for the subjct matter discussed. On the whole though an excellent book - the checklists near the end are excellent and if nothing else these should be gone through if you have an idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
As a novice I found the book easy to understand and quite humourous in places. I have not yet finished the book but the points seem to make sense. Cant wait to put it into practice !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Finally, after reading most of the dross (including all the 'Dragons' two-bit rubbish) that is being sold in this category, do I have a book that is without doubt the best anyone could read when contemplating a business venture. Will save you a lot of time and money before going down the conventional, business-plan route.

Cannot recommend highly enough!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
This book is very interesting and is an easy read, would suggest this to all budding entrepreneurs that need some basic information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Sharp insight into the needs of creating the best chance to succeed. Time well spent. A must read,real value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)