Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sensible and user friendly guide to statistical analysis
I am currently using this book as I am studying psychological research methods at MSc level. I am relieved to have found this particular text as I am in the position of returning to postgraduate study, with virtually no memory of, and even less understanding regarding statistical tests, left over from my undergraduate psychology degree. The authors of this book appear to...
Published on 29 Oct 2001 by marieholmes2001@cs.com

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Got the basics, but some inaccuracies
A good introductory book to statistics, which enables the reader to understand the basic statistical analyses covering most tests taught on an undergraduate statistics course in psychology. However, some tests are not covered to the depth needed to understand the results. For example, the interpretation of the two-way chi-square is very difficult following the...
Published on 25 Jan 2011 by H. Hogh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Psychology, 20 Jan 2014
By 
J. Barrell "Probeast" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Statistics without Maths for Psychology (Paperback)
Well used for my girlfriends statistics module in her psychology degree, would recommend to other students doing a similar subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars University Reading, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Statistics without Maths for Psychology (Paperback)
Arrived in excellent condition and in good time for my daughter to return to university to continue her Psychology degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wordy and Confusing, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Statistics without Maths for Psychology (Paperback)
People rate this book highly but I found it overly wordy and confusing. The step by instructions for SPSS were handy though if you are using this software for the first time.

Would I recommend this book? Not if you are looking for a straightforward explanation of the concepts. What should take 10 minutes to explain takes the authors 20 pages and 4 hours of reading and figuring out what they mean. The examples are poorly conceived and the text is verbose.

If you are trying to scrape through a stats module for some humanities course and have no concept of maths at all then this might help you feel you are not alone in your confusion. I don't know if it would help you become confident in stats and feel excited about designing and analysing your own investigations.

They make a big thing of presenting "statistics without the maths". The good thing about maths is that it is concise. This book isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Statistics without Maths for Psychology, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Statistics without Maths for Psychology (Paperback)
I bought this book because I am studying psychology. It is absolutely fantastic for research methods in psychology...even a little humorous in places! I would definitely recommend it to others who are interested in studying psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Statistics without Maths for Psychology (Paperback)
This is very useful but i did find a lot of unnecessary information in it, it provides a few examples of how to do the statistics but i feel it may need a few more. Very easy reading though so would recommend this product, however it is very pricey for what it is so would recommend getting a second hand one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Statistics without maths for psychology - and in my case survey in education, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Statistics without Maths for Psychology (Paperback)
Excellent reference and support for statistical analysis around surveys methods in education. In particular the step by step processes, screenshots and inter-linkages between chapters are most helpful for students in SPSS who are not mathematically inclined - but who need to understand & use statistical analysis and interpretation to better understand & illustrate the issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Text book, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Statistics without Maths for Psychology (Paperback)
Considering how much a full set of required text books costs for a degree course, it's brilliant to be able to purchase at least some of them more cheaply. Book in perfect condition. Arrived in good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for building a first understanding of stats, 3 Jun 2012
This review is from: Statistics without Maths for Psychology (Paperback)
I love this book because I actually understand it! I didn't get on with the Andy Field book at all (apart from to look up particular bit of info about a test) but this book helped to build a proper conceptual understanding rather than lurching from one stats test to another with little explanation. Thank you to the authors of this excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great buy, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Statistics without Maths for Psychology (Paperback)
This book came recommended by my lecturer in Statistics on the Master's module I am doing for my PhD in education. He said not to be put off by the fact that it purports to be for Psychology; it will do just as well for Education and a range of other subjects, too, I imagine. It explains the key terms clearly and takes you through the appropriate statistical tests in SPSS in a way which is easy to understand. It won't do everything; I can't find a section which explains imputing missing data, for example, though perhaps it is tucked away somewhere. To be fair, it doesn't claim to cover it all; it is an excellent introduction both to Statistics and SPSS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Common Sense Approach, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: Statistics without Maths for Psychology (Paperback)
I found an earlier edition of this book during my first year undergraduate degree at UCL, and it totally changed the way I looked at statistics. I owe a lot to the authors who have explained statistics in such a way that I am able to actually use the tools of statistics as opposed to worrying too much about the formulas.

I was able to built up a knowledge of working examples which then helped me interpret the formulas later on. A must have for those who want to "feel" statistics, who want to develop their data "intuition".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Statistics without Maths for Psychology
Statistics without Maths for Psychology by John Reidy (Paperback - 28 April 2011)
Used & New from: £50.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews