Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and easy to use
This book is great if you're stuck with how to write a good cover letter for a job application. All the common pitfalls are covered, and there's also some really useful info on other kinds of letters you might need, such as letters to follow up an application or interview, negotiating a job offer, declining a job offer, and loads more. Comprehensive, easy to use, and...
Published on 23 Sep 2009 by S. Williamson

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough
I wanted a covering letter book full of examples for real people, not a book designed for executives, I didnt like the book because it didnt have enough example "covering letters", especially speculative letters, or changing career type letters. The book is full of very short irrelevant covering letters, it constantly gives tips on how to write covering letters, my...
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another helpful book!, 14 Sep 2009
By 
S. A. Staley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brilliant Cover Letters: What You Need to Know to Write a Truly Brilliant Cover Letter (Brilliant Business) (Paperback)
Saw that this book had been written by James Innes who has written The Interview Book and The CV Book. As I had bought the others and found them to be so helpful, thought I could not go wrong if I got this one too. I was not disappointed! I have spent the weekend reading it and honing the letters that I send out, I feel that the investment I made will really pay off. The chapter on mistakes is great, I realised that one letter will not fit all jobs you really need to make sure you are getting it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 13 Jan 2013
This review is from: Brilliant Cover Letters: What You Need to Know to Write a Truly Brilliant Cover Letter (Brilliant Business) (Paperback)
I've got the Cover Letter Book which is the latest edition of the Brilliant Cover Letter book. And it is really brilliant! It gives excellent tips and ideas on how to create and modify your cover letter. It is also easy and enjoyable to read as it is written in the typical for James Innes style (I've also read his Interview book) and includes "Blooper" sections which really make me laugh, thus making cover letter writing a bit more bearable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: Brilliant Cover Letters: What You Need to Know to Write a Truly Brilliant Cover Letter (Brilliant Business) (Paperback)
This is really good. Within 1 week of buying this book i was offered an interview and got the job. I really believe it was down to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough, 29 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Cover Letters: What You Need to Know to Write a Truly Brilliant Cover Letter (Brilliant Business) (Paperback)
I wanted a covering letter book full of examples for real people, not a book designed for executives, I didnt like the book because it didnt have enough example "covering letters", especially speculative letters, or changing career type letters. The book is full of very short irrelevant covering letters, it constantly gives tips on how to write covering letters, my question is whats the point of giving tips when you dont see any examples on how to write one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 April 2014
This review is from: Brilliant Cover Letters: What You Need to Know to Write a Truly Brilliant Cover Letter (Brilliant Business) (Paperback)
Another fantastic title from this extremely knowledgeable author. Similar to 'The CV Book' in its comprehensive content, simple breakdown of a complex subject and straightforward style of writing, this book explains everything you need to know about creating a fantastic cover letter from scratch - including layout, relevant content and how to sell yourself without sounding pushy! As with The CV Book, there are examples of ideal cover letters contained throughout; including advert-response letters, speculative enquiries and application follow-up letters - in addition to a case study to guide you through! Absolutely excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Got me the job but dont copy and paste!, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Cover Letters: What You Need to Know to Write a Truly Brilliant Cover Letter (Brilliant Business) (Paperback)
Well this is self explanatory it does have brilliant cover letters for all jobs. Problem is that it is too generic I feel that it may be overused and people should add their own responses as well to differeniate themselves in the job market. But it is a good reference book and can help you to apply for different job prospects and roles. Good book to have when you want a new career change or just plain job hunting. Brilliant book if you adapt a bit to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than most books, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Cover Letters: What You Need to Know to Write a Truly Brilliant Cover Letter (Brilliant Business) (Paperback)
I purchased this to get tips on applying for jobs along with others in the series. It has some really useful tips and I have since produced a more professional application letter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good product, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Cover Letters: What You Need to Know to Write a Truly Brilliant Cover Letter (Brilliant Business) (Paperback)
good product I will recomend to my friends and family for purchase of this item for another time in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 22 Nov 2012
This review is from: Brilliant Cover Letters: What You Need to Know to Write a Truly Brilliant Cover Letter (Brilliant Business) (Paperback)
This book is required reading if you are looking for a job. Most people forget how important application letters are - a lot of people simply don't bother with them and think their CV will do the trick on their own - WRONG! The book contains different types of letters to suit most professions together with helpful tips and a simple strategy to follow. It worked for me ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!! A Must Buy!!!, 23 Oct 2012
This review is from: Brilliant Cover Letters: What You Need to Know to Write a Truly Brilliant Cover Letter (Brilliant Business) (Paperback)
An excellent book with top tips - really clear to read and understand with examples that can be adapted to suit your experience and the role you are applying for.

A brilliant CV needs a brilliant covering letter also!!!

Another great book from James Innes - thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews