Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand and comprehensive
I am very happy with this book. It was recommended for my class, and it is very well written, extremely easy to understand, but at the same time goes into a lot of detail. This book helped me get through my exams and have been able to use it on a number of different courses.

The book is well presented and has a number of topics that are well covered...
Published on 4 Nov 2010 by MRAWORTH

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not overly engaging.
There is a lot of information in this text book - but sometimes it seems to be skimming over a lot of details which might be important. I think it weighs in more on the side of breadth than depth.

The format can sometimes feel a little confusing - there are biography sections distributed throughout the text, but often I missed them because I was reading the...
Published on 19 Jan 2012 by Student from London


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand and comprehensive, 4 Nov 2010
This review is from: Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence (Paperback)
I am very happy with this book. It was recommended for my class, and it is very well written, extremely easy to understand, but at the same time goes into a lot of detail. This book helped me get through my exams and have been able to use it on a number of different courses.

The book is well presented and has a number of topics that are well covered. Paricularly, theories of personality, intelligence and applied aspects of individual differences. What strikes me about this book is that it builds up your knowledge. It never assumes you've read all the different chapters beforehand (being told to read a chapter before you've read the one you need never helps) and therefore its helpful in terms of not assuming prior knowledge. The authors also take great care in breaking down complicated issues and terms and again not assuming prior knowledge.

Also the book present recent and useful research. This helped with my coursework and my exams and also was very clear to identify the main issues. Overall it is very very readable and splits up each topic into managable chunks. I would strongly recommend this book to other students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and intelligent book!, 24 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence (Paperback)
This textbook is really easy to read and understandable. Theoretical areas are explained well with each area building up logically to its conclusion.

Chapters include:
Personality chapters:
1) Personality Theory in Context; 2) The Basis of Psychoanalytic Approach to personality; 3) Developments of Freudian Theories; 4) Learning Theory Perspectives; 5) Cognitive Personality Theories; 6) Humanistic Personality Theories; 7) The Trait Approach to Personality; 8) Biological Basis of Personlity 1: Genetic Heritability of Personality and Biological and Physiological Models of Personality; 9) Biological Basis of Personality 2: Evolutionary Psychology and Animal Studies of Personality; 10) Further Ideas and Debates in Personality: Personality and Culture

Intelligence chapters:
11) An introduction to Intelligence; 12) Theories and Measurement of Intelligence; 13) The Use of Intelligence Tests: What Questions Emerge from the Measure of Intelligence?; 14) Heritability and Socially Defined Race Differences in Intelligence; 15) Further Discussions and Debates in Intelligence: Sex Differences in Intelligence and Emotional Intelligence; 16) The Application of Personality and Intelligence in Education and the WorkPlace: The Introduction of Other Intelligences

Additional Chapters:
17) Further Debates and Applications in Individual Differences: An Introduction; 18) Optimism; 19) Irrational Beliefs; 20) Embarrassment, Shyness and Social Anxiety; 21) Interpersonal Relationships; 22) Social Attitudes; 23) Well-being and Personality Disorders; 24) Individual Differences in Health and Illness; 25) An introduction to Psychometric Testing.

At the end of each chapter you are encouraged to consider discussion questions, and to review areas critically. There are also recommended books and DVDs to further your understanding within interested areas.
A very informative text for anyone interested in intelligence, personality, and individual differences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful!, 21 Oct 2010
By 
Laura (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence (Paperback)
As a psychology undergraduate I found this book to be the perfect supplement to my lecture notes on our 'Indiviual differences, personality and intelligence' module. Also very easy to read/understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for undergraduate psychology, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence (Paperback)
I was recommended this by a tutor int first year of undergraduate psychology.

I have just graduated, but used this book for almost every module. This book was easy to follow, and was written in an easy but informative style.

This book is well worth the money, and was often my first point of research.

I would definitely recommend this to other undergraduate psychology students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book good information, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Kath (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence (Paperback)
Well written book, great detail and easy to understand. Great examples and relevant research are interesting. Great textbook for any student. Worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence (Paperback)
The book was in good condition, minimal wear and tear, It was very insightful & useful for the subject I am studying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence (Paperback)
This book was recommended during my 3rd year studying BSc Psychology and turned out to be pretty useful. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just as described, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence (Paperback)
Simply bought the book as John is my lecturer, haven't actually read it yet but it was as described and arrived promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not overly engaging., 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence (Paperback)
There is a lot of information in this text book - but sometimes it seems to be skimming over a lot of details which might be important. I think it weighs in more on the side of breadth than depth.

The format can sometimes feel a little confusing - there are biography sections distributed throughout the text, but often I missed them because I was reading the main text and didn't want to distract myself. I think it would have been better to have the biographies integrated into the text, or put in a glossary, as I felt that putting them on the same page as a lot of other information did not encourage me to read them any more, and sometimes interrupted my reading.

Overall I felt it could have been written in a more engaging tone, and the format was a bit clunky at times - but I was able to learn the basics for my course, so it did its job to an extent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad even for a textbook, 17 Oct 2010
This review is from: Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence (Paperback)
Yes, this textbook has useful facts, but it is SO repetitive it could easily be half as long.
There will be an entire chapter devoted to a topic and then in the next chapter a three page section will begin "As you read in the previous chapter, " and continue to restate, taking three pages, the chapter you've just finished reading.
If you have to read this book for class, I am very sorry for you. Depending on how much detail you need, you may be better off just skipping to the summary at the end of each section and taking notes in class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence
Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence by Ann Macaskill (Paperback - 4 Dec 2009)
Used & New from: £47.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews