Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's in a name? Everything!
I'd recommend this book. What makes it stand out is the advice on the psychology of names. There is a lot in it that is really interesting, even if you aren't having a baby, in that I did not realise how much a name can affect you in life.
Published on 16 Feb 2009 by Ms. J. A. Rawlinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit too American
Thought if would be mostly traditional names but it was a bit too American in places. I' welsh and it referred to a few welsh names such as Bryn as 'olde England' in origin and wasn't accurate on their meanings which made me doubt the origin and meanings of other names in the book!

An ok book for getting some initial inspiration though.
Published 9 months ago by Shellbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's in a name? Everything!, 16 Feb 2009
By 
I'd recommend this book. What makes it stand out is the advice on the psychology of names. There is a lot in it that is really interesting, even if you aren't having a baby, in that I did not realise how much a name can affect you in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Baby Names: How to Choose a Name That You and Your Child Will Love For Life, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. T. R. Johnstone (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brilliant Baby Names: How to Choose a Name That You and Your Child Will Love for Life (Paperback)
I'd really recommend this book. What makes it different is that as well as listing the names, their meanings, origins etc, it also have some fascinating information on the social effects of names. It summarises a lot of academic research on the subject that is really interesting even if you're not trying for a baby! An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and novel approach, 25 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Brilliant Baby Names: How to Choose a Name That You and Your Child Will Love for Life (Paperback)
A really interesting and novel variant on the idea of a book of names. A thorough selection of names and their meanings, but it is more than that. I particularly like the first section on the pyschology of naming. If you are struggling for ideas - or just interested in names - this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant baby names, 11 May 2011
This review is from: Brilliant Baby Names: How to Choose a Name That You and Your Child Will Love for Life (Paperback)
I thought this book was very informative. If you're looking for a book with a huge choice of more common and also unusual names, including in particular a wealth of English, Scottish, Welsh and Irish, then this is a good choice. In addition, the introductory section on social, psychological issues relating to names, as well as choosing harmonious-sounding names, was really helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Robert Ashton (www.robertashton.co.uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brilliant Baby Names: How to Choose a Name That You and Your Child Will Love for Life (Paperback)
My kids have long since grown up and left home but I continue to marvel at the choices other parents make. (I know a guy in Yorkshire named Karl by his left wing dad after Marx - how cool is that!)

So then I found this book - had a quick glance and had to buy it. 'What have you got in mind?' was my wife's comment. The book is a compulsive read. We both keep looking up people we know and more so when we want to figure out why they gave their kids such strange names.

Did the book deliver? Well my wife was not inspired to have another baby, and thank goodness for that. But we have both had hours of fun though - ahem - reading the book!

Grab yourself a copy; it's a gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent book to get you started on choosing a baby name, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Baby Names: How to Choose a Name That You and Your Child Will Love for Life (Paperback)
Good starting point when you are trying to agree with your other half on a shortlist of names. Is lacking some 'obvious' names but has a good range and is organised in an alphabetical order. Best bit is the beginning of the book looking at what names mean and what you should consider when picking a name, a lot if which is obvious but does make you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit too American, 8 Dec 2013
This review is from: Brilliant Baby Names: How to Choose a Name That You and Your Child Will Love for Life (Paperback)
Thought if would be mostly traditional names but it was a bit too American in places. I' welsh and it referred to a few welsh names such as Bryn as 'olde England' in origin and wasn't accurate on their meanings which made me doubt the origin and meanings of other names in the book!

An ok book for getting some initial inspiration though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sure all books like this are petty similar but, as this is the only one I bought, all I can say is that it was useful and did the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!, 29 Aug 2013
This review is from: Brilliant Baby Names: How to Choose a Name That You and Your Child Will Love for Life (Paperback)
This 'book', for want of a better word, is truly, truly awful. I never thought that the depths of the English language could plummet so low. Please do not waste your money on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough book, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Baby Names: How to Choose a Name That You and Your Child Will Love for Life (Paperback)
Decent enough baby name book. Not much you can say about a book of names, but this is perfectly standard and worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brilliant Baby Names: How to Choose a Name That You and Your Child Will Love for Life
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews