Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best structured book on interviews
The most comprehensive guide on interviews I have come across. Written with plenty of practical examples, and not missing out the occasional humourous anecdote which I find helps to remember what not to do. Some books merely give you a list of questions , tough questions, illegal questions etc. but The Interview Book convinces by providing a complete strategy and also...
Published on 21 Feb 2011 by IndrasNet

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Money making scheme to prey upon the fears of the jobless
I am writing this review 6 months after I purchased it and read/leafed through its pages. It was a culmination of all the advice given for free in columns of job websites and newspapers. Really. There was not a single thing of value or new in this book. I learnt nothing. Mind you, I like self help books and do not expect to learn more than 1 or 2 things from each book...
Published 24 months ago by Quratulain Habib


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best structured book on interviews, 21 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Interview Book: Your Definitive Guide to the Perfect Interview Technique (Paperback)
The most comprehensive guide on interviews I have come across. Written with plenty of practical examples, and not missing out the occasional humourous anecdote which I find helps to remember what not to do. Some books merely give you a list of questions , tough questions, illegal questions etc. but The Interview Book convinces by providing a complete strategy and also doesn't miss out on those obvious things that one can forget when faced with interview nerves. It also covers related topics such as resignation, references etc. For a number of areas that are not extensively dealt with in the book, links are provided where the reader can download useful tools and tests for their perusal. This book is recommended for full reading, but could also be used as a reference if you need specific advice and/or don't have the time to read everything before the interview.

(For those who wonder "why a separate book on inteviews?" Do you feel it is possible to squeeze everything related to job hunting into one single book, and how beneficial is this for the reader - how good would superficial advice be ?? Ask yourselves if you would want to buy a book that tells you everything on as few pages as possible at the lowest cost possible etc... you can be sure that if such book existed it would be no better than the advice from your job office...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for jobseekers, 12 April 2011
This review is from: The Interview Book: Your Definitive Guide to the Perfect Interview Technique (Paperback)
This book helped me to answer lots of questions in the right way during my interview. I will therefore recommend it for job seekers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Interview Book: Your Definitive Guide to the Perfect Interview Technique (Paperback)
This book covers all the aspects of an interview,is easy to read and follow,helps you get organized and focus on your goal: the job.Packed with tips and advices motivates and makes you more confident in yourself.It's a must have for any job seeker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALL BECOMES CLEAR, 13 April 2011
This review is from: The Interview Book: Your Definitive Guide to the Perfect Interview Technique (Paperback)
Bought this book on Amazon after getting throught to interview stage but no job offers.Very few companies provide useful feedback so I did n't know what I was doing wrong.
Suddenly all became clear after reading this book - Interviewers speak a secret code!
This book gives lots of examples of competency questions and the type and content of answers the interviewer is looking for.Practical
advise on how to tailor it to yourself.Clearly and well written.
Well worth the money and I feel a lot more confident in my approach.Have recommended it to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with top tips for getting through interviews, 26 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. K. L. Wilson (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Interview Book: Your Definitive Guide to the Perfect Interview Technique (Paperback)
This excellent book covers absolutely everything you need to know about getting through an interview process and, of particular use, are the comprehensive examples given for how to answer some of those really difficult questions that crop up in interviews. I now feel more confident than ever before that I can succeed at interview having a much better idea about how to create the right first impression both through how I look and what I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Interview Book, 4 Feb 2010
By 
Michael D. Fellows (Gosport, Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Interview Book: Your Definitive Guide to the Perfect Interview Technique (Paperback)
This book is an excellent and thoroughly thoughtful guide to prospective interviewees for their preparation before interview and offering considerable help at the actual interview. The process of demystifying what to expect is admirable as is the choice of a wide and extensive range of questions to be expected and how to deal with them, including the unexpected (and maybe illegal) ones as well. It also explains the meaning behind a variety of alternate questions and stresses the need to be truthful in the answers given but always using strategies to emphasise the positive good that the applicant can bring to the employer.
It covers all the practical points that interviewees should be aware of and illustrates some of the most common and often disastrous errors that can be made by candidates, highlighting some of these as "Bloopers". A book of undoubted merit that I can recommend to all aspiring successful interviewees.
Like its companion "brilliant Cover Letters" it is hard to fault for its comprehensive presentation.
I would only remind readers that applicants should always show the utmost trust and respect for the judgement of their prospective employer, in both their letter of application and at interview; anything else is a clear "No No".
M. D. Fellows. Retired Headmaster, B. G. S. South Gloucestershire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very handy book!, 31 Oct 2009
By 
S. Hogg (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Interview Book: Your Definitive Guide to the Perfect Interview Technique (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me with my interview technique as I was unsure of what to expect nowadays. It had been a few years since my last interview and i needed to find a book which provided realistic answers to difficult interview questions. I liked this book as it included some of the weird and wonderful questions which now seem to be part of the recruitment process for many employers. I also liked the fact that the book has a section on how to handle the offer process which I didn't feel confident with. All in all, a good entertaining book with helpful information. I thoroughly recommend it and hopefully you too can shine in interview just as I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIRST IMPRESSIONS really DO count!, 3 Sep 2009
By 
S. Ingemansen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Interview Book: Your Definitive Guide to the Perfect Interview Technique (Paperback)
Nowadays, as redundancies/layoffs run rampant, a person has to make an outstanding impression the first time. There are no second chances for the job you want. As an Employment Coach, I have seen all too many times throughout my career people committing horrible interview no-no's and talking themselves right out of a job! I bought this book for my own use (one can always learn new tricks) but find it exceptionally useful when advising my customers as well.

The section in the book that talks about `The top 25 tough questions: taking the heat' proves quite helpful in answering some pretty daunting questions. Let's face it, nobody likes to interview - it's an anxiety ridden process from start to finish. So, if you already know how you are going to answer some of these anticipated `toughies' thrown at you, then it takes off at least some of the pressure in an already nerve-wracking situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book you can buy !!!, 5 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Interview Book: Your Definitive Guide to the Perfect Interview Technique (Paperback)
I loved every bit of this book much needed n very helpful , don't waste your time looking for more books in same category , this book has all pre-formatted questions and important information ! Must buy !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interview book, 20 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Interview Book: Your Definitive Guide to the Perfect Interview Technique (Paperback)
This book is amazing, full of useful and up to date tips, the best book I have ever read in this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Interview Book: Your Definitive Guide to the Perfect Interview Technique
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews