Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2002
Whether a practicing professional, an academic or a student, this book provides an excellent overall insight into the world of E-Business. Whilst one or two areas do assume some prior knowledge, none the less, the author has provided a succinct and comprehensive coverage of all the major topics and elements that make up E-Business.
There are excellent examples provided to illustrate points made and topics discussed.
The B2B case study that runs throughout the text with self assessment exercises in every chapter for the reader to apply the learning from each chapter is a superb idea and provides the reader with the opportunity to synthesize their knowledge as they progress through the book.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2011
This is a great book. Been reading it for a year and even though I bought it for a specific module while studying Business Information Systems at master lever, I remember myself going back to it for almost every essay I had to write. It is very useful as it covers a wide range of topics and gives you a good understanding of the modern e-businesses and networked organizations. Although it doesn't go in much detail for each topic (besides, each topic could be a book itself), here you can find explanation about many many terms that you will probaply hear or learn about at work (CRM, ERP, VOIP, ...). So it gives you an understanding of how things work in an e-business environment and when you get the actual job you will go back and say...'Hey..I've heard that before'. Really good book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
This is not a bad book. There is valuable information in there for anybody interested in doing e-commerce.

The problem with this book is that you have to go through so much agony to actually find the information. It is 764 pages long and could have been really great if a good editor had cut it down to half - or a quarter.

As it is, you have to sift through so much irrelevant content that you will struggle to turn each page and this actually hinders the level of understanding of all the good stuff.

As another reviewer writes, there is just way too much of "this was covered in section X" and "this will be covered in section Y". Too many trying-to-be-pedagogical exercises. Way too many unnecessary words. This book just needs to get to the point.

Add to this that the language is very poor. The book has the feel of an over-ambitious MA thesis with so many references and cross references and so much dreary language that it will make you consider whether you want to get into the world of e-commerce at all.

Finally, it is in dire need of an update. You will find heaps of case studies from the nineties! Yes, nineties. This is more than a decade ago, and a decade in internet-time is the same as a century. Here and there you will find an extremely brief (a few lines) "update" to what has happened between 1999-2010. Say you are looking for something as basic in 2011 as using Facebook in an e-business context. Forget about it.

As for now, it's two stars from me. But with some hefty editing, updating and spicing up of the language, this could actually be a really valuable book. Maybe the 2011 edition will offer some of that.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
But an excellent book. If you are using this for research into e-business and commerce it provides a useful insight and a starting point to research. I used it extensively for an MBA course, but alone it is not enough.

A little heavy on examples perhaps but they provide the reader with ideas where to investigate further for research based projects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
I needed this book for a University course that I am studying and the content has been extremely useful. Anyone who has an interest in E-Commerce and E-Business should give it a read, its a great introduction into the area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I needed this book for a University course that I am studying and the content has been extremely useful. Anyone who has an interest in E-Commerce and E-Business should give it a read, its a great introduction into the area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
Top product for a good price and quality, excellent read for university and work which i made the purchase for. I can't complain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
Found out later that there is 5th edn! However, pretty much most of what I need is presented here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
great condition, great price and great service. I couldn't be happier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Very good book. Perfect condition. Arrived well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)