Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of management models
This nice overview gives 60 management models that can be classified under strategic, tactical or operational models.

The authors cover each model in 4-6 pages, and this is systematically done under headers like:
- The big picture
- When to use it
- How to use it
- Final analysis
- References
- Notes

Each model often...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by Caufrier Frederic

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too brief an overview to be useful- use wikipedia
I bought this book as at first glance it looked comprehensive and useful...its neither. Use wikipedia and buy yourself a drink or two with the money you've saved!
Published 9 months ago by S A Green


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of management models, 5 Jan 2012
By 
Caufrier Frederic (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Management Models: The 60+ Models Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
This nice overview gives 60 management models that can be classified under strategic, tactical or operational models.

The authors cover each model in 4-6 pages, and this is systematically done under headers like:
- The big picture
- When to use it
- How to use it
- Final analysis
- References
- Notes

Each model often includes figures, some tips, checklists, and steps to take in using the model. The final analysis is reasonably good in giving a fair judgment of the model covered with advantages, disadvantages and suggestions in using the discussed model in combinations with other models if needed.

I would say that the strategic orientated models are really well worked out. The background of the authors and their link with the Dutch consulting firm Berenschot makes that very clear. There is some promotion of the company Berenschot but this is done at a low level.

The operational models section are slightly lesser worked out, or perhaps a poorer selection was made to include certain operational models in this book. Still it is understandable that the authors had to select somewhere in models covered.

Overall this book gives a very nice overview of management models out there. This book is especially strong in covering the strategic models (especially keeping the 4-6 pages coverage for each model in mind).

The following model-classification structure was used in this book:

"- Part One: Strategic models (positioning/aim): These models help to analyse and plan a company's strategy position and provide answers to strategic questions.
- Part Two: Tactical models (design/organization): These models help to organize a company's processes, resources and people. They address important `how to' questions when analyzing and designing excellent organizations.
- Part Three: Operational models (implementation/execution): These models help to change organizations and implement best practices. In addition, this category covers models that help to optimize operational processed and activities. They address the `who, what, when' questions when analyzing and implementing excellent organizations."

Contents:

About the authors
Publisher's acknowledgements
Preface
Using the book

Part One: Strategic models
1. Ansoff's product / market grid
2. The BCG matrix
3. Blue ocean strategy
4. Competitive analysis: Porter's five forces
5. Core competencies
6. Greiner's growth model
7. Kay's distinctive capabilities
8. Market-driven organization
9. Off-shoring / outsourcing
10. Road-mapping
11. Scenario-planning
12. Strategic dialogue
13. Strategic HRM model
14. Strategic human capital planning
15. SWOT analysis
16. The value chain
17. Value-based management
18. The value disciplines of Treacy and Wiersema

Part Two: Tactical models
19. The 7-S framework
20. Activity-based costing
21. Beer and Nohria - E and O theories
22. Benchmarking
23. Business process redesign
24. Competing values of organizational effectiveness
25. Core quadrants
26. Covey's seven habits of highly effective people
27. Curry's pyramid: customer marketing and relationship management
28. The Dupont analysis
29. Factory gate pricing
30. Henderson and Venkatraman's strategic alignment model
31. Hofstede's cultural dimensions
32. House of purchasing and supply
33. The innovation circle
34. Kotler's 4Ps of marketing
35. Kotter's eight phases of change
36. Kraljic's purchasing model
37. Lean thinking / just-in-time
38. MABA analysis
39. Milkovich's compensation model
40. Mintzberg's configurations
41. Monczka's purchasing model
42. Overhead value analysis
43. Quick response manufacturing
44. Senge - The fifth discipline
45. Six sigma
46. The EFQM excellence model
47. The theory of constraints
48. Vendor managed inventory

Part Three: Operational models
49. The balanced scorecard (BSC)
50. Belbin's team roles
51. The branding pentagram
52. Change quadrants
53. Discounted cashflow
54. Kaizen / Gemba
55. Mintzberg's management roles
56. Risk reward analysis
57. Root cause analysis / Pareto analysis
58. The six thinking hats of de Bono
59. The Deming cycle: plan-do-check-act
60. Value stream mapping

Appendix: Model matrix / Categorization of models / Index
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference guide, 12 Nov 2009
By 
Robin Hilton (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Management Models: The 60+ Models Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
I completed an MBA about 5 years ago, and found the most useful part of the learning was having a suite of models to use as a framework for thought, analysis and discussions. The models don't give you the answers. They are tools to help you find the right answers.

I was looking for a book where I could refresh my memory about key models and their application, and came across this. It is a gem. It has three compelling features. Firstly, the models are logically sorted into groups eg Strategic, Tactical, Operational. Secondly, each model is described very clearly and concisely, structured as a summary, when to use it, how to use it, and a final constructive review of any limitations it may have. Finally, it is written so that it is accessible to anyone, so avoids jargon or unnecessary sophistication. One of the signs of greatness in my opinion is being able to describe complicated ideas simply, and it acheives this.

It is a book that is worth flicking through regularly to trigger thoughts about current strategy and direction within an organisation. I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone involved in management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save your time to compile management models yourself, 31 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Key Management Models: The 60+ Models Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
The book includes 59 different Western management models and one Japanese management model (please be aware of this severe imbalance). It is particularly good for people who are interested to understand the characteristics of management styles and practices in Western world. No doubt a lot of these models could be applied in Oriental contexts but modifications should be done in advance.

I bought this book because I have been using some of the models for quite awhile and it is good to see them being compiled as one book. Therefore, it is good for busy people who intend to learn something about management but feel relectant to learn and compile what they have learnt manually.
Personally, I think it is a handy tool-book not only meant for "every manager", but also for non-manager personnel--to know why their managers behave or do things in certain ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Key management models, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Key Management Models: The 60+ Models Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
Very useful book to have in your desk. Not something that I would use every day however I have found a number of uses where it has saved me considerable time and effort. I would genuinely recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute must have - especially for (wanna-be) consultants, 13 April 2009
This review is from: Key Management Models: The 60+ Models Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
This book is miracle in filed of management know-how. In very easy to read way you can acquire basic understanding of management know-how.

I have took the harder way by reading for most of the described "Models" the full-pledged versions of their explanations (some of them took more than 1-2 books each).

One can certainly come with proposals of other models that did not make it into final list of this book, however, drawing from past experience of being Head of Strategy dept. in Banking & Insurance I can certify the selection is more than enough not to let you down in real business situations.

If you are early in your career path and heading towards managerial position or just-married with consultancy business, go for it !

If you are student of business major at college/university, the sooner you read through the sooner you see the big picture of what and how can shift your (future) organization(s) into higher gear.

I would like to extend my thank you to authros who made an excellent job in summarizing the thoughts. I use quite a few of the mentioned models in my business life and had little objections to how they were explained in this book. Great job, Gentlemen !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Management Models: The 60+ Models Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
Working in Product Management I found this book very useful. It gives quick explanations for models that can help you frame your thinking in many different ways.

Kept me a step ahead of my competition :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and useful, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Management Models: The 60+ Models Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
Well researched, punchy and very useful. The way each idea is reduced to a few pages is very helpful and all ideas are supported by plenty of sources on can later explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too brief an overview to be useful- use wikipedia, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Management Models: The 60+ Models Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
I bought this book as at first glance it looked comprehensive and useful...its neither. Use wikipedia and buy yourself a drink or two with the money you've saved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have for every MBA student, 25 Feb 2013
By 
P. Apostolopoulos "papo2000" (Athens,Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Key Management Models: The 60+ Models Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
It is a very helpful book , if you are about to undertake an MBA course. Will prove to be very handy during essays or exams!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Key management models, 16 Dec 2011
By 
Simon (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Key Management Models: The 60+ Models Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series) (Paperback)
Having just completed a Masters degree I think if I had this book at the beginning it would have definitely helped and also saved me some time. The explanations of the models and how they can be utilised are, in my opinion, brilliant. If you are serious about you role in management and can't commit to additional studies then this is a must for you. My advice is ... BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Key Management Models: The 60+ Models Every Manager Needs to Know (Financial Times Series)
21.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews