Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent practical guide book
An easy, straight talking and well grounded book - breaking complex subject matters into simple and sizeable chunks to make sense of retirement planning and what you need to do to retire early. Written in a practical way which not only gives all the options and steps to be taken in planning for retiring 10 years early, but also leaves you motivated to go and do it.
A...
Published on 8 Jan 2008 by Derek Bishop

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great read for the novice
The book is well written and simple to follow and provides a high-level guideline of creating a plan for retiring ten years early. I'd reccomend this for someone who hasn't got the first idea about how to control their finances and plan for the future, but for those that know at least some of the main requirements (eliminate bad debt, minimise expenses, buy assests,...
Published on 2 July 2012 by Adam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent practical guide book, 8 Jan 2008
By 
Derek Bishop (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Retire 10 Years Early: Your Plan for Less Work and More Life (Paperback)
An easy, straight talking and well grounded book - breaking complex subject matters into simple and sizeable chunks to make sense of retirement planning and what you need to do to retire early. Written in a practical way which not only gives all the options and steps to be taken in planning for retiring 10 years early, but also leaves you motivated to go and do it.
A well written practical guide which you can use on an ongoing basis to make it happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Retire 10 Years Early, 10 Jan 2008
This review is from: How to Retire 10 Years Early: Your Plan for Less Work and More Life (Paperback)
The thought of retirement is either very scary or very attractive to many people. But Martin Bamford cleverly puts it all into perspective and prepares the reader for a gradual shifting of the balance between your work and leisure life.

Bamford has already proved that he can translate his financial expertise into a compelling read with his first book The Money Tree, and How to Retire 10 Years Early now sets the pace for anyone who wants to ensure a financially comfortable retirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Shocking!, 10 Jan 2008
This review is from: How to Retire 10 Years Early: Your Plan for Less Work and More Life (Paperback)
Martin states that over 50% of pensioners live on 15,000 or less. That's certainly made me sit up and think about how I'm going to fund my retirement.

And this book is definitely give the knowledge and guidance needed to achieve a great life style during retirement. The budgeting and debt busting tips alone are worth their weight in gold.

Do yourself a favour - get the book and read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible, Understandable and Frank Common Sense, 9 Jan 2008
By 
Andy Lopata (Broxbourne, Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Retire 10 Years Early: Your Plan for Less Work and More Life (Paperback)
As someone who switches off as soon as finances are mentioned, this is the book I always needed to read but would struggle to pick up.

I'm glad I did though. It's highly accessible for the layman, with a clear writing style and layout and thoughtful approach.

The author does an excellent job of understanding how most people approach this subject and getting across a clear message about the importance of changing your thinking.

A book on finance you don't want to put down. Now, I never thought I'd say that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for everyone - thoroughly recommended, 10 Jan 2008
By 
B. Saul (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Retire 10 Years Early: Your Plan for Less Work and More Life (Paperback)
Accessibly written, thorough and packed with good, sensible advice that we all should read, not just those that want to retire early.

The author has covered everything that we all need to be aware of in order to improve and be certain of our financial situation. Plus, of course, we then get to stop working early - if we want to - we will have the choice.

Having such a book that makes it clear for anyone to understand what to do ans what it all means is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No nosense advice., 14 Jan 2008
By 
I. Taylor (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Retire 10 Years Early: Your Plan for Less Work and More Life (Paperback)
This book has helped me take control over my own plans - not just for retirement but for managing my finances in general. Unusually for a personal finance book it is easy to read and actually quite interesting as well. The author clearly isn't one of those stuffy old men in suits that like to preach about how we should plan our finances. I would recommend `How to Retire 10 Years Early' to anyone who wants to understand their retirement planning and avoid a retirement living off Baked Beans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever title, well written book, great ideas, 8 Jan 2008
By 
Mark Lee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Retire 10 Years Early: Your Plan for Less Work and More Life (Paperback)
Contains everything you might expect across a wide range of relevant topics - and there is no padding here. Just good solid advice from an IFA who is also an author. The content is all tailored to a reader thinking about retirement and wondering if they can do it earlier than everyone else.

The author stresses that retirement planning isn't just about the cash and that retirement means different things to different people. I was pleased to note that he also recognises that early retirement will also mean different things depending upon one's perspective.

The author has a delightful straightforward style and has peppered the text with real life examples that will resonate with many people. I loved the way he demolishes 6 typical myths about retirement and later sets out 5 common roadblocks that can prevent early retirement. He also has a refreshing approach for an IFA in that he clearly explains exactly what it means to balance risk and reward. He also demolishes the 'property is better than pensions' myth by explaining that one is an investment and the other is a product or wrapper. He explains many other related concepts in a practical, commercial and easy to understand way.

This book has clarified a number of issues for me and I'm very pleased to have found it before it's too late for me to consider planning to retire early!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book should be in everyone's bookcase, 14 Jan 2008
This review is from: How to Retire 10 Years Early: Your Plan for Less Work and More Life (Paperback)
Martin changes the paradigm of what work and retirement means to us all. I have already changed my plans for 2008 and beyond based on his words of wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great read for the novice, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Retire 10 Years Early: Your Plan for Less Work and More Life (Paperback)
The book is well written and simple to follow and provides a high-level guideline of creating a plan for retiring ten years early. I'd reccomend this for someone who hasn't got the first idea about how to control their finances and plan for the future, but for those that know at least some of the main requirements (eliminate bad debt, minimise expenses, buy assests, invest etc) and have a handle on their financial position, then this book won't offer much more, other than to clarify the golden rules - in fact Bamford says that every pound you save today will benefit you in retirement, so save the few pounds on the book and use the huge resource of info on the web instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really a complete guide to early retirement, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Retire 10 Years Early: Your Plan for Less Work and More Life (Paperback)
I bought this when I was thinking of an early retirement package at work and thought I ought to check whether I had considered everything involved sufficiently. One aspect which struck me is that finance is only one part of retiring early, its also necessary to have some kind of plan to re-structure your life socially and domestically so you aren't bored out of your brain after taking early retirement!

I am afraid this book won't help except (possibly) in the financial way. The author sets out ways to make savings and investments etc but there's nothing here about re-structuring your life except facetious throwaway comments about travelling around the world or taking up new hobbies. There isn't even a model here for working out your finances. It would be handy to have a template you could fill in, perhaps, for setting out your financial position.

Its not badly written but in my opinion, save your dosh ... you might need it for that early retirement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Retire 10 Years Early: Your Plan for Less Work and More Life
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews