Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After e-Business comes...f-Business
Or Funky Business, to be more precise
It is full of hyperbole, is at times intensely irritating, and includes nothing I did not know before...but it is packed with great stories, examples, jokes and for a pair of assistant professors from Stockholm its a very entertaining read. They get it completely... Its a pre-bust book which still makes sense post bust. The...
Published on 25 April 2001 by Colin Harper

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to the Information Age
This is definitely an interesting book to read. The authors convincingly outline the dynamics of today's economy as it edges closer to a market driven, knowledge hungry space shaped by the combined forces of cooperation and smart competition, where you and I are freelance agents, autonomous companies, brands. Me Inc. as the authors like Tom Peters claim. And Me Inc...
Published on 25 Nov 2005 by Papanastassiou Alexandre


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After e-Business comes...f-Business, 25 April 2001
This review is from: Funky Business (Paperback)
Or Funky Business, to be more precise
It is full of hyperbole, is at times intensely irritating, and includes nothing I did not know before...but it is packed with great stories, examples, jokes and for a pair of assistant professors from Stockholm its a very entertaining read. They get it completely... Its a pre-bust book which still makes sense post bust. The points they make about knowing who you are and what you do (at the individual and organisational level) are also spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book is fantastic for its energy alone!, 8 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Funky Business (Paperback)
The books is great just for the cover alone. Its a pop music business book where you are relieved to find in depth knowledge rather than mere consultant superficiality. I enjoyed it (even if they do attempt everything just to try and shock) even if Thriving on Chaos by Tom Peters did it first. If you want ANSWERS to some of these problems you couldn't do better than E-CUSTOMER by Max Mckeown. I bought it and found a similar level of POW! but the ideas brought to focus on becoming much more successful as a business. Funky E-Customerize yourself to profits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a manifesto for the human economy, 13 Nov 2000
This review is from: Funky Business (Paperback)
A really stimulating book this, and I think that some of my fellow reviewers may be missing the point here. This book is all about immersing yourself in the underlying spirit of the human economy - think of it as the new manifesto for companies and individuals who can compete on being different and compete on economies of soul. What it is not is a bandwagon book about the dot com "new economy". That may or may not have come off the rails, but if you actually read this book (and it's not hard - this is engaging stuff) you'll find out that it doesn't talk about hyped dot coms at all. This is about diversity, creativity and competing on personality. Like the Cluetrain Manifesto and No Logo, this won't deliver a big checklist, but it will make you think afresh about business. Funky Business might even just make you feel excited about business life again. When's the last time a business book made you feel that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to the Information Age, 25 Nov 2005
By 
Papanastassiou Alexandre "alex_papa" (Bruxelles, Belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is definitely an interesting book to read. The authors convincingly outline the dynamics of today's economy as it edges closer to a market driven, knowledge hungry space shaped by the combined forces of cooperation and smart competition, where you and I are freelance agents, autonomous companies, brands. Me Inc. as the authors like Tom Peters claim. And Me Inc. has to be a brand that generates powerful positive emotions. Me Inc. must be an experience customers love.
On the negative side of the book: the extremism of the authors in making their case of a society of individuals who are fully in charge of their fate and who "are what they do", who "are their projects", who "are their contracts". It does make sense to question the ways in which labour relations, contracts, business deals, employer-employee dynamics were organized for the industrial age. However, that does not necessarily mean that welfare systems should disappear or that as a society we should stop caring for those of us who are impaired temporarily or permanently to take care of their interests alone. In addition to that, as an NLP practitioner I have hard time accepting that people can ever be what they do. A projet, a professional activity, human behaviour are not tantamount to identity. And while I agree that our jobs will be more and more project based, temporary, uncertain, changing and defined by the benefits they bring to the customer, I think there is a way to be passionate, committed, valuable to a project, loved by the customer and to have tons of fun without necessarily reducing the extreme and unique beauty of the individual to that individual's activity.
There are a few other things in the book I feel skeptical about, like for example the assertion that the role of Government is more or less irrelevant, that the nation state's ability to influence events is more or less negligible and the creation of an elusive factor called "the forces of funk" to justify phenomena that would be worth studying.
Overall though it is an excellent read and good food for thought that should be a good introduction to the Information Age and the knowledge economy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very provocative picture of "New World Order", 6 Jan 2000
This review is from: Funky Business (Paperback)
The authors spare no efforts to provoke the reader. On every page they throw in a bunch of provocative statements and semi-hypotheses that I sometimes lost track of the argumentations. The list of notes is very comprehensive, they've done their fundamental research: "chapeau"!. There's more than enough food-for-thought for me to grab other books about the subject: which factors are influencing the (information)-society right now, how to cope with it and what will the consequences be, for me & you and cooperations. The basic message is optimistic as it puts the human being at the centre-stage and shakes some old-fashioned, "given" power-structures. A good point-of-entry to "crystal-ball" litterature - admittedly: this book is more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars So funky it already seems laughably dated., 22 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Funky Business (Paperback)
This book was published in January 2000 -- it may as well have been January 1987 for all its relevance now the "new economy" hype bandwagon is coming off the rails.
The ridiculously glib statements about how the economy is changing may have a grain of truth in them but anyone seriously wanting to investigate the effects of network economics should read more credible authors, such as Evans and Wurster or Varian and Shapiro.
However, if you want a source of catchy and gimmicky phrases and quotations to liven up your snake-oil sales pitch then maybe this book is for you! It's not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very clever, refreshing approach to business thinking., 15 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Funky Business (Paperback)
It looks like the days of dull business books aimed at CEO's may finally be over, it's great to see people are finally writing business books that are fun and aimed at everyone with a job. If you like Funky Business, try reading 'Brand Storm' by Will Murray. The Swedish guys tend to be big on language and the changes to expect but they don't have much to say about how to actually handle it. 'Brand Storm' goes one step further and includes actionable models to empower us to challenge the Human Economy head on. It's all very good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this really a business book?, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Funky Business (Paperback)
I thought business books were supposed to be dull - all the others I'd read were. I love this book. It was fun, enjoyable and most of all totally spot on. You find yourself drawing upon the book all the time, not just at work this book offers much more than that. A classic! 10 out of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last! A business book you CAN'T put down!, 1 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Funky Business (Paperback)
Forget any preconceived notions you may have about business books being dull and dry. Funky Business is provocative and insightful and just as important - written in a lively, unconventional style. A "must" for all "non-business" types and a definite thought-provoker for those who are business types. It leaves you energized and ready to pursue more knowledge and to take some action toward achieving Funky Inc.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You don't need to wear cardigans to read business books!, 24 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Funky Business (Paperback)
I wasn't convinced at first. What could 2 unknowns from Sweden tell me that I would find really practical and useful? In fact I learnt a lot from this book, some of it glaringly simple some of it very different, and it all works. This was not only a great business book but also a terrific read. I challenge anyone to find anything as original and thought provoking - if you do please let me know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Funky Business Forever: How to Enjoy Capitalism (Financial Times Series)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews