Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' book for anyone involved in strategy
This book, initially only by Gerry Johnson and Kevan Scholes, is like the Bible of corporate strategy. From a readability point of view it's not the book for a good holiday read, but as a reference book for anyone involved in developing or implementing strategy then it's a `must have' book. The addition of Richard Whittington to the author team adds a humanistic dimension...
Published on 2 Mar 2010 by Alan Wingrove

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but terrible online content
I ordered this book as part of my Masters in Business Administration course. The book is neatly structured, mainly separating subjects in three main parts: Strategic Positioning, Strategic Choices and Strategy in Action.

I also found the case studies presented in this book to be of great help when studying for the Business Environment module of my MBA. A matrix...
Published on 10 Sep 2008 by pmdci


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Corporate Stratergy, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text and Cases (Paperback)
This is easy to read and has really good examples however wish i had purchased the exploring strategy book only for my own area of study this has no reflection on this book it is worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 8 May 2014
This review is from: Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text and Cases (Paperback)
This is a good book to help you understand corporate strategy. I have used it for my studies on strategy management as part of my MBA. It's easy to read and it's been of great help. It provides some explanation of the various techniques that can be used by managers to develop their strategies, however it lacks more detail on how to use these techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Exploring corporate strategy, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text and Cases (Paperback)
The book was a second hand and it said like a new which was true but it smelt horrible. Apart from that the book was in a good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential text, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text and Cases (Paperback)
Tis was a much better option than buying new as I needed it for background reading and to assist in lesson preparation. Arrived in very good condition, as described by the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helped me get 1st class Hons degree, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased this to help with my business degree, I got BSc1st class Hons so it worked. A warning though, you actually have to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's fine!, 15 Nov 2011
It's fine, just some pages dirty. the book is newer than my guest. Thank you! I think you should clean advance selling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXPLORING CORPORATE STRATEGY: Text and Cases, 23 Feb 2011
This review is from: Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text and Cases (Paperback)
This was a book for my daughter to help her with her university studies. It was as described and arrived earlier than expected and in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than just strategy, 22 Feb 2011
By 
K. Peacock (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Exploring Corporate Strategy is a well known classic. Now on its 8th Edition it remains a best seller (this edition also has an additional online resource). Having seen Gerry Johnson speak at Lancaster University I was impressed how he related his experience and research on `big business' to that of the SME and this book is a useful resource to understand, learn and translate into your own organisation whatever the size.

The book covers three areas, those of strategic position, strategic choices and strategy in action. The terminology and explanation is broken down in such a way as to enable the reader to gain clear understanding and guidance. Each section details the learning outcomes of the chapter through `illustrations' of specific businesses and the real life scenarios they faced.

`Exhibits' are then introduced which give the supporting model or theory connected with the insights to the `illustration'. For example the `cultural web' is a model used for looking at the desired culture of an organisation, the `illustration' used in the book for `The Forestry Commission of the Future' allowed the organisation to challenge the existing beliefs, paradigms and to face up to what the likely problems were in managing the change indicated by the future web.

At the back of the book are numerous case-studies of businesses across various sectors detailing the reason for strategy in their context, the information gathering they undertook and the subsequent decisions and strategic direction they arrived at.

This book is designed to get you to think at a higher level and enter into the key debates and critical commentaries throughout the text. Key concepts and ideas are raised around a organisational capability, purpose, culture, innovation, entrepreneurship, methods and evaluation, plus organising the implementation of a strategy in terms of resources, business and people management throughout the change process.

There is a great deal of importance placed on processes and systems, and the authors of this book suggest that leaders are often categorised in two ways, charismatic and instrumental or transactional leaders.. We are now experiencing a period of unprecedented change and organisations are required to address the behaviours and style of their leader's and set expectations to encourage new ways of working. This means that strategy transcends purely setting direction into establishing and maintaining the ethics and values of how we do business in the current climate,

A great book which captures your interest and provides a source that can be constantly revisited wherever you are on your strategic journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strategy Studies, 18 July 2010
By 
David Agg (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I like the text format, sometimes a little tricky but the enclosed CD was excellent and helped to explain more pragmatically what was presented in some areas of the text book. I have not yet tried the resources on line.

It's good value.

Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text and Cases [with resource DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good overall view on strategy, 27 Feb 2009
By 
Ioannis Kontopulos (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A detailed text on corporate strategy (although a bit too detailed in some chapters), and particularly good in strategic positioning and purpose. For implementation of strategy in a practical level, better look also in other sources.
I really liked the audio summaries on the companion website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text and Cases
Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text and Cases by Richard Whittington (Paperback - 7 Dec 2007)
Used & New from: £19.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews