Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone studying applied psychology, 28 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
I have personally found this to be a really helpful book for my third year applied psychology course. It's very easy to read without all the jargon which can be found in other textbooks. I totally recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really strong core text, 4 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work Psychology (Paperback)
Core text for my up & coming MSc in Psychology so I decided to get in early and order a copy to read ahead of time.

The book describes things in a sensible and clear way- even using humour and quoting lyrics to illustrate points which I found refreshing an illustrative in what can become a dry academic subject.

Excellent lay out with points to consider and questions to assess your learning - the book also provides indicators to sideline issues that merit further consideration depending on interest as well as introducing aspects that are likely to become more significant in the future.

One consideration- some chapters read easier that others - however the book is the work of many contributors so this is hardly surprising.

Great book- enjoyed reading it and looking forward to using it as a foundation to study - TC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, conscise and covers all needed at degree level, 6 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. Matthew Sheen "MattSheen" (Chester, Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work Psychology (Paperback)
Having been told to buy another book for my Work Psychology module, I was mildly annoyed that the lecturer decided to use this book to base the lecture slides on. However, since buying the book it is obvious why. Greenberg's (2010) Behavior in organizations, the book we were supposed to buy, was useful but only to a degree. There was much missing from the textbook that was included in the lecture slides and seemed very important.

It was for this reason that i purchased Work psychology: Understanding behaviour in the Work place. At first i used the text book to "fill in the gaps" left by the Greenberg textbook but more recently i have found myself using Greenberg to fill in the gaps left by J. Arnold's wonderful textbook. Of which there are very few.

If you have bought Greenberg or it is you "recommended reading" for your module or course, it is very worthwhile to go to J. Arnold to expand on certain points. I guarantee you will find important points not even mentioned in the Greenberg textbook. It may not seem worthwhile for writing up lecture notes but when you need references for essays or need to expand your knowledge base for an exam it is of the greatest imprtance you have the broad and deep knowledge J. Arnorld offers in his wonderful book Work Psychology: Understanding Human Behaviour in the Workplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great HR / Coaching tool, 19 July 2010
By 
Louise Wightman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really pleased I purchased this book, as you should expect from Prentice Hall it is a necessary read for anyone interested in the psychology of behaviour within the workplace. The book is well grounded and provides benchmarks that you can then implement in the workplace confidently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Comprehensive, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work Psychology (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, covering a wide range of occupational psychology topics in an understandable and interesting way. It covers aspects that other Occupational psychology books do not, so it is worth looking at the contents lists of this book and others in the genre.

I would have given it 5 stars, but the quality of the paper it has been printed on is not great - paper is far too thin, meaning that diagrams etc printed on the underside of the paper are visible through the topside of the paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strong introduction to work psychology, 5 Oct. 2012
By 
Michael Lloyd (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work Psychology (Paperback)
I studied what was then called industrial psychology back in the 1970s, so this book is something of a catch-up for me. The writing style is very approachable, with some nice touches of humour to point up the many insights. The coverage is comprehensive and authoritative, so I have no hesitation in recommending it for first-year psychology and business studies students. It is also extremely useful for students of other related disciplines who need quick access to work psychology concepts and theories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work Psychology: Understanding Human Behaviour in the Workplace, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work Psychology (Paperback)
Well written. Excellent physical quality. Excellent theoretical quality and a must read for anyone interested in the field. Perfect buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work Psychology (Paperback)
This is the best text (5th Edition) for studying organizational and work psychology, but I would suggest it be used in co-ordination with P. Warr's (ed) 5th edition, Psychology of Work. These make an excellent set texts combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Work Psychology, 23 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work Psychology (Paperback)
This book is brilliant offering a great insight into this field - highly recommended.
Although an expensive book this is an essential purchase for general knowledge or for studying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I needed, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Work Psychology (Paperback)
This book was exactly what I needed to clarify some theories which I needed to get straight in my head....... very easy to read & to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Work Psychology
Work Psychology by Prof Deanne Den Hartog (Paperback - 20 May 2010)
£52.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews